We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced, unfriendly mgt & poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Way overpriced, unfriendly mgt & poor food”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were disappointed in everything but the location of this hotel. We stayed at four hotels/inns across an 8 day trip and this was the bad apple of the bunch. Had it been cheap, it would have been understandable - but it was not at all cheap.

We paid over $200 US for a very hot room & unimpressive room (room 8) immediately behind the concrete front restaurant-reception - billed as having ocean views but having a slight glimpse out to the side. When they are cooking in the kitchen, smoke ends up coming into your room if it's a little windy (you can't shut the windows unless you want to expire into the heat).

One ceiling fan the only way to keep cool (a previous hotel without A.C also provided a small fan for bedside table - makes all the difference to sleeping).

Ate lunch at the restaurant first day - food was unimpressive (there's lots of great spots to eat nearby that were a LOT better) and the wine served by glass had been open a while and was off -when this was pointed out it wasn't replaced and we were still charge for the undrinkable stuff.

The management were generally unfriendly, unlike other places we stayed in Mexico.

Beach setting is lovely - when you're actually ON the beach - but I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you pay a LOT less.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbGal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    119
    46
    38
    30
See reviews for
68
163
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Manager does nothing but bark orders at the staff. When asked if he could give change for a 40USD to pesos he offered me - flippantly and laughing 400 pesos. Every request is no and he is unprofessional at best. The staff although sweet are incompetent. Walking in circles


No beach service to speak of. Chairs are broken down, unorganized, cushions full of sand never brushed off or cleaned, you have to give a deposit for towels, if you want a clean room that can easily fit 4 people, on the beach great,reasonable by Tulum standards but that should be the expectation a room.



Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RP0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Spent a week here with friends and family to attend my daughter's wedding. It was awesome. We got exactly what we came for (pay attention to the website). Loved the place, the staff, and the experience. Thanks to Diego for taking care of everyone all week, young and old. Thanks to the owners for the great wedding props and reception. Thanks to the lady that took care of our messy cabin every day and left it clean with beautiful towel artwork.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

So many places to stay at Tulum beach - but we think that one's just perfect. Far away to avoid day visitors crowding the beach, but close enough to be lively. The moment we entered the lush garden we started to relax. We're actually not that much into buddha style, but here it just felt right. The cabanas are simple indeed - but hey, it's a jungle beach and we did not expect luxury. Actually being simple made it so cosy. Some of the reviews tell other visitors to avoid room number 8 since it's directly behing the reception. But we stayed there and would definitely recommend it since it feels safe, offers a lot of privacy with its private potio on the first floor (surrounded by treetops) offering an absolute relaxing hammock chair and the perfect ocean soundtrack of crushing waves since it's closest to the beach of all cabanas. The water in the shower tasted a bit salty (but that did not matter to us) and for brushing your teeth they provide several bottles of still mineral water a day, so that was all fine. We had two huge beds with all new mosquito nets and comfy mattresses. There's a fan but no air condition. There's no fridge, but whenever we needed ice cubes for our drinks we brought along they provided them. Like they provided just everything we needed and asked for. One day we saw some People kayaking in the ocean and asked if they knew where to rent one. After just 5 minutes they had organised a kayak they provided for free (even if they don't mention it on their homepage, they have their own kayak for their guests and it appeared to be quite new). The staff was just extremly nice, friendly and helpful 24/7 and really made us feel at home. They have a very cosy restaurant on the 1st floor with wonderful beach views and service on their small but nice beach area. It's a beautiful stretch of beach and you can walk along the beach for hours in each direction. Best of all was the absolutely delicious food. We ate in their restaurant almost every day although we usually like to try as many different places as possible. It was just mouthwatering delicious and freshly cooked - either if you choose Mexican cuisine or their well-known Wood oven Pizza (which you can take away to your room or Patio as well like we did one evening). Good thing is that they also have a divemaster on premise. We easily booked a cenote diving tour (to nearby Grand cenote), he picked us up right on the premise, organised all our diving gear, and took us back again. We had not planned to dive in a cenote, but it was absolutely cool and we loved it. Overall, it's a very relaxing place. Don't expect any kind of luxury, but expect to go back to Basic and just relax.

Room Tip: Before booking a room, get in touch with them via email (they respond quickly) and ask if the room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moni_Kurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

In the high season when a room is $200 this place falls seriously short. Pros, the restaurant staff and employees are friendly and the food was pretty good and a relatively good value for being on the beach. i recommend the restaurant.
The rooms are pitiful, so for $200 we were VERY DISAPPOINTED.
First room 101 smelled of urine and mold. You are paying for AC here and the AC only worked one night, broken the next. We went to ask for help and no one was around. ALSO...THEY DON'T TELL YOU IF YOU DON'T INQUIRE BUT THEY TURN ALL ELECTRICITY OFF FROM 5AM-7AM....(one morning 4:15-7:45am and i know this because i was awake from being so uncomfortable!) So you wake up at about 5:15 sweating your butt off.
Then we had to move rooms (now to 103) that they said the AC worked great..... but all it did was blow warm air around the room. no cold or even cool air. and this room was on the bottom floor not facing the beach so NO AIR WHATSOEVER and also smelled terribly of mold. now i understand why they put incense in the rooms..... so you can smell that instead of the mold. gross.
Beds are hard as rock. did not get a good night sleep while here.
i most certainly would not stay here again nor would i recommend it to anyone i know. i would go eat here again.
oh....also..FYI.....yes beach is gorgeous....but your in Tulum so how could it not be? but small beach area and the chairs are all cramped together. if you dont get out there early especially on the weekend forget getting a lounge chair.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greeniemg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Lissette and crew made our wedding weekend an amazing and memorable time. They helped us plan a Welcome Happy Hour for all of our guests that was extremely affordable. The Wedding Ceremony itself was right on the beach, followed by a sunset plated dinner, which was delicious. Being 100ft from the beautiful ocean also made for an extremely relaxing stay for the rest of our time in Tulum.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank benjaminchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, New York
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spend 7 nights in OM Tulum, it was a pleasant and relaxing stay. The staff was very friendly but seemingly poorly trained and extremely slow, even for Mexican standards. There was no indication of any management, if there was any they were very hands off or incompetent. Food was average to good. The food during a wedding party we attended was excellent. House Keeping was excellent. The term "eco - friendly' seems to be used as an excuse for short comings. There is no indication of use of alternate energy sources. WIFI service is extremely slow, and basically no telephone service either. If there is any need for staying in contact with Home or Business during your vacation this is not the place to stay, other wise the Beach is great a lot of sun and beverage service on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHC_Westbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 96 in Tulum
352 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#40 of 96 in Tulum
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#43 of 96 in Tulum
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
0.0 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#36 of 96 in Tulum
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club

Property: Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Address: Carretera Tulum-Punta Alen, KM. 9.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club in Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico is born from this eternal philosophy. It takes light, water, stone, and wood to create a verdant oasis where you can find harmony. Stroll along the stone pathways or landscaped gardens in the warm sunlight. Lounge in a hammock under coconut trees. Embrace the vastness of the Caribbean Sea as you curl up your toes in the fine sand. Bask in the romantic aura of a nature-inspired cabana. Please Note:* This property is on Tulum beach, about 5 km from Tulum downtown.* Parking is available free of charge in our private lot across the street.* The receptionist is on duty from 8 am until 11 pm* If checking-in after 11:00 PM you will need to make arrangements ahead of time.* Electricity runs from 8 am until 12 midnight, with intermittent breaks for generator maintenance. * There are no electrical outlets in guest rooms.Check-in: 3:00 PM Check-out: 11:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing