We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure about the Om”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Ranked #65 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Booked the Om Tulum to end a cultural holiday to Mexico City and the Yucatan peninsula. Wanted a secluded beach away from the crowds and Cancun style hotels.
The beach is a beautiful silver sand but not very secluded as the little hotels and cabanas are built very close together along this length of beach from Tulum to the Bio Reserve.
The little thatched Mayan style 2-storey blocks are rather basic for the price one has to pay. A little more hanging and drying hooks/cupboards would be useful and some toiletries and better quality towels are essential. Unfortunately the water heater was playing up and you needed to request hot water and allow 10 minutes before having a shower - BUT no-one told us!
The staff are very helpful and pleasant but check your bill as they add on 10% tip even if you have been tipping as you go along - this is actually fairly typical in most of Mexico we found.
The restaurants from the other little hotels along the beach offer a nice range of alternative venues for all the meals as nothing is included at Om. An interesting experience for all the family!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Conyersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2009

We stayed here with a group of old friends for a week. The OM is on a very beautiful piece of beach pretty far down the beach road almost to the biosphere reserve.
First, the positive. Location was awesome! The food in the restaurant was tasty, although I found it a little overpriced. The style and decor of the Om is really cool, the rooms are regular old Mexican cement rooms, but they put a dark varnished wood over it and it looks really beautiful. There are buddha statues all over the place, adding a relaxing vibe. The restaurant and bar "main cabana" were absolutely beautiful. The housekeeping was immaculate. The owners (managers? I never really figured it out) were young and fun.
The not-so-good:
I too had a porta-potty smelling experience. The electricity does go off at midnight, which is kind of fun in a way (bring a flashlight if you like to read in bed!), however when you wake up in a hot smelly room it isn't so nice. I think what really happens is the septic tank gets pumped once a week or so and that is when it really stinks to high heaven. Also I like to sleep with a fan on me so I was pretty disappointed. People have to understand, however, that these little hotels are run on generators and septic tanks. Smells and lack of electricity are part of staying in a non-resort type place in the Yucatan. I did, however, think that the Om overcharged for their rooms. If you don't offer things like ocean views or electricity 24/7 you shouldn't charge $140 a night.
Another thing that was kind of strange at the Om was the key situation. My friend and I were given one key, they said it was the only one. Our one key only worked about half the time. We kept having to get a worker to come let us in our room! Another friend locked her key in the room and had no way to get in as late at night the staff goes home and there is only a security guard!
The beach "club" consists of about 6 loungers (cushioned, comfy) with umbrellas and a waiter. Buy a bottle of rum in town to doctor up the drinks, they're pretty weak. The website claimed that there is cable, which is impossible being that there are no TV's (fine with me!) There is WiFi, but there are no safes at the Om so I would not bring my laptop, I wouldn't call it the most secure hotel in the world. It seems that they are making improvements to the Om. Perhaps in a couple of years it will be nicer.
I had a love-hate relationship with the Om. I might stay there again, but probably just for a day or two. There are so many little hotels in the Tulum area there is no reason to tie yourself to one for the whole time you are there. Stay one or two nights to get into the groove of the area, then explore!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hotelloverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

Tulum is a wonderful place, low key atmosphere, great beach. The Om Tulum has a fantastic restaurant wich I would recommend throughly, esepcially the pizzas. Do not stay there though! Where else would you pay US$140 plus tax per night an have no electricity between midnight and 8am? Its a joke, presumably under the guise of being eco-friendly, although their savings on electricity are not refelcted in the price, a nice little earner for the hotel. We couldnt sleep all night it was so hot. Nobody even told us about this on check-in. Also on checking in (3pm) we were told to wait an hour for our room as there was still someone staying in the room......well get them out on time then!!! The place is a joke, eat there but stay elsewhere....

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leicspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omplaya, manager at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2009

We understand that The Tulum eperience is not for everyone.This is one of the reasons why we make it very clear on our website and confirmation emails,what a guest should expect.We do everything we can to inform our guests of what to expect and that we are sorry if you did not take the time to read the booking terms and property description.
$140 per night in christmas high season,in comparison to other locations is very reasonable.We are on one of the nicest beaches in the caribbean.No light or noise pollution.We are around 7km from the town of tulum and self sufficient .We generate our own electricity,water is trucked in,sewage has to be trucked out.Unfortunately these things are expensive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

I wanted to write a review for Om Tulum and before doing I started to read some of the other reviews and was surprised at the experiences. I guess people weren't properly informed as to where they were going ... if you are looking for luxury you should definitely book at one of the numerous resorts in the Riviera Maya. However if you are looking for a down to earth, magical, peaceful place away from the hustle and bustle, this is the place to be. Bring your bathing suit , shorts and a sweater because that is all you will need. Bring lots of books to read and be prepared to walk for miles and miles and see only nature and the beauty of the ocean. The rooms are basic cabanas and are kept very clean. The electricity is shut down from midnight to about 8:00 am. But all of the rooms have candles so you can have a candle lit all night if you want. The beauty is that you can wake up with the sunrise and definately find a kindred spirit watching the sunrise with you. The staff is amazing and always helpful, the restaurant serves great food. We never got sick once. We never even wanted to eat anywhere else. Again, the ambiance is peaceful, relaxed and very magical. Coming from the hustle and bustle of the city, it took a while to slow down. So not having our coffee right away at 7:00am was frustrating. But that was not the establishment's fault but ours. We hadn't yet calmed down and adjusted to the caribean time. There is free internet access so you can bring your laptop.

There was one glitch the first day we got there. The room smelled of sulfur during the night. We spoke with Emanuel the manager who informed us that they were in the process of fixing their plumbing. The problem was fixed by the next day and we never smelled anything again.

The experience was one that we won't forget for a while and will definitely look forward to going back in a couple of months.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank voulaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Tulum is a very quiet place in which the ocean and the beautiful beach is the main attraction (apart from the Maya ruins, of course). The main problem in Om hotel is that none of the rooms offer a good ocean view or any privacy.

The first night we spent in a ground floor room facing the restaurant kitchen. The second night we spent in the room above it, which is the only room in Om that has a front ocean view. Still, the restaurant was just in front of us blocking the view (see pictures) and sitting in the porch we could not get much privacy because of the proximity to the restaurant.
Walking on the beach we saw many neighboring hotels that had REAL ocean front cabanas with balconies that actually allow privacy. We felt kind of jealous...

Om has a good restaurant that offers great pizzas and pastas. However, 3 different times they were just out of what we ordered (and we only stayed there 2 nights!).

The desk staff and the waiters were perfect, very nice and service oriented. Especially Deborah and Carlos!
However, there was a guy - I don't know if he was the owner or the manager- who created an uptight atmosphere. For example, the bar tab is paid once a day in the evening, and we asked to wait till next morning so we can go to the bank downtown and change money. He insisted that we pay on the spot according to the hotel's bad exchange rate, and didn't give up a peso - even if it meant changing another 100$ bill :(
He was also walking around during the day and watching over the stuff, which became stressed around him.

The rooms are ok; I guess that most rooms in tulums in the same price are just as basic. The good thing about them is that they are quite spacious. The shower water had a strong smell of sulfur that hanged in the room all day long. We planned 3 nights but after the second night we decided to move on...

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ronig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omplaya, manager at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2009

Hello,
Unfortunately the exchange is out of our hands we go according to what the exchange is when not paying in pesos.


We are sorry if you were looking for privacy on your balcony.It is something we do not offer.
Some of our neighbours you might have been refering to are not in our price range.We do our best to offer the best of conditions.
The fact that we dont have cabanas with a ocean view and that our balconies are not away from everything does not warrat dont stay at OM.It is just who we are.There are other things that we offer witch is a relaxing time on our deck over looking the ocean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

I could never have imagined a hotel experience this bad!!! My boyfriend and I both woke up at 4am sweating profusely (probably because electricity is turned off from midnight to 9am everyday so can't even run a fan) and even worse, miserably sick...the room with all windows wide open, reeked of raw sewage - imagine sleeping in an outhouse or porta-potty that had been used all day in the middle of the summer and multiply the imagined stench tenfold. We had no choice but to leave the room and spend the rest of night sleeping on the beach. To add insult to injury - we only got half our deposit back for the following night (in other words, we paid full price to sleep half the night on the beach after their room made us sick and then paid for half a night we weren't even there!) For a miserable experience - check out OM!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank msjb_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omplaya, Manager at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2009

As when you were here we apologise for what happened.At the time we were unable to find out what the problem was.Everytime we enterd the room during the day there was no smell.We have since solved this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I did extensive research on small, intimate and cozy cabanas near Tulum and decided on the Om. I could have had a free week at a luxury spa/resort in Cabo, but liked the vibe of the place on their website and decided to pay for a stay at the Om. Boy am I glad I didn't go to Cabo, the Om is worth every (inexpensive) penny to stay there and is one of the best experiences I've ever had in my life as a vacation and a place to stay. First night we arrive, the owner Angelo greets us and offers us a delicious melon cocktail. I have to say if you think the pictures on their web site are enticing and exciting, they pale to the beauty and just cool hip downtempo vibe of the place. The personnel at the hotel are first class and treat you like family, thank you Sylvestre, Charlie, Adriana, Lalo and everyone, you made my wife and I feel like family. We had one of the rooms with a partial beach view, and they are fab. Get room #8 if you can, that's where we stayed and I think it's the pick of the bunch but all of them are very nice, including the garden view rooms. We had a private deck off our room with a hammock and chairs, and the beach was literally 20 meters from our front door. The rooms were very clean, the bed comfortable and had mosquito netting for the night, the vibe was totally upscale hip Swiss Family Robinson... all modern conveniences with ceiling fan (no AC but wouldn't want it, room was plenty cool enough even at high heat season it is so near the beach). Palapa thatched roof very high off a beautiful stone floor, gives you a very roomy feel for two, large standing hot water shower, ceramic tile sink, the works. They even put candles out for us when we arrived, and they make the nice "kissing swans" with the towels on your bed everyday. Angelo is a true hotelier and restauranteur, and it shows in the place. It is a totally intimate place to go and get away from the world, with Tulum 10 min away by car and if you want to party hard you can go to Playa del Carmen, about 45 minutes away for the day/evening and then retreat to the peace of the Tulum beach back at the Om Tulum. BTW, Angelo also owns the Om Bar/Hotel in Playa which is completely different in terms of action, it is for people who want to be at party central. The Om Tulum is the most incredible getaway, the beach off the Om restaurant/bar is immaculate power soft white sand beach, crystal clear water the temperature of bath water. We were there in Sept. and we could look in either direction for 2 km and see maybe 10 people max. High season in December may be more lively, but there are no big hotels on the stretch of beaches that go on for kilometers so I'm sure it's great any time of year. If you want the perfect beach holiday that rivals and beats anything in the rest of the world...Bora Bora, Caribbean, Thailand etc., I strongly recommend the Om Hotel for anyone looking for a small, quaint but super groovy set of cabanas with a killer restaurant with delicious cuisine, friendly and professional hotel service much like a great B&B, and comfortable rustic beach surroundings. I have travelled all over the world and this was one of my best beach vacations and it was mostly due to the fabulous stay at the Om. Sitting on the bench cushions on the elevated terrace restaurant looking out to the Caribbean with moonlight or early in the morning for breakfast was heaven. They play cool mixes of great downtempo music (thanks Lalo for your Latin jazz mix one night), you can recline with the incoming breeze on the bench seats and have your drinks/dinner with your feet up if you like. Massively cool. Can't recommend it enough, just go and tell Angelo, Lalo or Adriana that Michael from San Francisco says hi Really, just go, you don't know what your are missing.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank mdahearnSFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#47 of 98 in Tulum
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#39 of 98 in Tulum
451 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#74 of 98 in Tulum
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club

Address: Carretera Tulum-Punta Alen, KM. 9.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £90 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club in Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico is born from this eternal philosophy. It takes light, water, stone, and wood to create a verdant oasis where you can find harmony. Stroll along the stone pathways or landscaped gardens in the warm sunlight. Lounge in a hammock under coconut trees. Embrace the vastness of the Caribbean Sea as you curl up your toes in the fine sand. Bask in the romantic aura of a nature-inspired cabana. Please Note:* This property is on Tulum beach, about 5 km from Tulum downtown.* Parking is available free of charge in our private lot across the street.* The receptionist is on duty from 8 am until 11 pm* If checking-in after 11:00 PM you will need to make arrangements ahead of time.* Electricity runs from 8 am until 12 midnight, with intermittent breaks for generator maintenance. * There are no electrical outlets in guest rooms.Check-in: 3:00 PM Check-out: 11:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing