We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exactly as promised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exactly as promised”
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I surprised my husband with a weeks stay at Om for our anniversary. We had never been to the carribean side of Mexico . It is gorgeous! Om is as lovely as the pictures. It is true that the restaurant takes the prime spot on the beach and the beautiful guest rooms are located behind this. The rooms are spotless and well mantained. We had extra towels and blankets when we asked. The shower (they have their own well) was slow one day and when I told the desk, it was fixed within the hour. All of the hotels along this stretch of beach generate their own water and power. So be prepared. It is not like the large resorts. No coffe in the room. Get over it. But sometimes in the morning or evening, my husband and I were the only ones on the endless stretch of powder white sand. The staff was excellent and friendly. Each request was fulfilled quickly. The pizza and drinks were terrific. Prices seemed to be pretty consistent with regard to food. As far as the rooms go, I found this hotel to be almost $700.00 cheaper for the week. I am assuming it is because of almost only garden views. But with the very comfortable beach lounges and chairs steps away and always plenty of them, stay here and save the extra $$$ for great food. The hotel was exactly as promised and I did tons of research. I knew what to expect. We really love Om and the caring people who worked there.

  • Liked — Location, value
  • Disliked — I wish there was a pot of coffee started in the lobby for the early risers.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    117
    46
    38
    30
See reviews for
67
162
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

While my husband and I have visited Tulum many times and have loved every minute we have never experienced anything as terrible as Om cabanas. The whole atmosphere of Tulum is one of eco-resorts and environmental awareness on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. People come to this area to relax and enjoy nature with respect not only to the land but it's natural inhabitants. While the physical atmosphere at Om was bad enough, (cramped, dark and oppressive cabanas), terrible food, (blood rare meat, vegetables swimming in oil, soggy crusted pizzas etc.) by far the worst part was the unexpected "disco night". Again, this is not Cancun or Playa Del Carmen where one might expect loud blaring music past 3:00 am in the morning. The music was so loud we could not sleep at all or get away from the pounding beat of "music" that was nothing but base turned up full volume. This is just so anti-tulum we don't understand how this could be allowed to happen on the beach that is normally such a peaceful paradise. Instead of returning home rested and happy we were miserable. Hopefully enough other people were as unhappy as we were and this kind of thing will be prevented in the futute.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank landmSanFrancisco_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omplaya, manager at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this review, 18 February 2009
IWe do apologise if our aniversary party kept you up.We also understand that not everyone wants to be up late.Even if it is a special occasion.
It is really unfortunate that you felt this way about your stay with us.After speaking to you and your husband you never told us about your issues.
We do use low watt light bulbs because of the electrical challenges at the beach.
We also take pride in our food and try to serve the best that is possible for where we are.Meat is sometimes under cooked as in your case ,returned and finished(which you finished).Soggy pizza should have been returned.We serve thin crust pizza in a wood burning oven.It should not be the way it comes out ,to thin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed the week between Christmas and New Years. The eco resort was exactly what we expected. It was low key yet inviting, nestled on a small property awash with coconut palms and fragrant flowers. No TV's No boom boxes, just quiet evenings and a gentle breeze. This was truly an eco experience, and as expected the power went off at 11 pm or so and returned in the morning as the staff arrived, The room were simple but comfortable and supplied us with all we required. The other guests were friendly and often met in the wonderful on site restaurant in the evening for dinner and drinks. We got to know the staff well and found them helpful and charming. "Everyone must try the woodfired pizza's at lunch and the delicious "mexicana for breakfast. The beach is mere feet from the Cabanas and restaurant. Comfortable seating and grass umbrellas were always available and a cold beer or snack could easily be delivered by Carlos of Beatrice. Manuel the manager was a font of knowledge and helpful in every way. We loved our entire experience and plan to return this spring. I have never been so relaxed in my life and felt the cares of the world melt away so swiftly. Thanks to all of you there who made this a most "om" like experience.

  • Liked — The laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank risen_pheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

This people are not to trust they give you one rate on the phone and then when you arrive they change the rate to a higher one!
They are real crooks! the restaurant is OK but highly over priced for Mexico.
The end up respecting the quoted price but not the days we booked and we had to move for the rest of the days to another hotel which ended up expending what we didn't plan to.
Its so unfortunate they are misusing the OM concept as this is a far from OM as it gets!

  • Liked — the location is great
  • Disliked — the owner and staff are crooks and liars!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cvpsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omplaya, manager at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this review, 30 January 2009
Unfortunately we do not remember your stay with us.It is kind of unusual because we do not quote rates over the phone because they almost never work at the beach.We only accept reservation via internet and that remaining balance is always respected.We are happy you enjoyed our food though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Booked the Om Tulum to end a cultural holiday to Mexico City and the Yucatan peninsula. Wanted a secluded beach away from the crowds and Cancun style hotels.
The beach is a beautiful silver sand but not very secluded as the little hotels and cabanas are built very close together along this length of beach from Tulum to the Bio Reserve.
The little thatched Mayan style 2-storey blocks are rather basic for the price one has to pay. A little more hanging and drying hooks/cupboards would be useful and some toiletries and better quality towels are essential. Unfortunately the water heater was playing up and you needed to request hot water and allow 10 minutes before having a shower - BUT no-one told us!
The staff are very helpful and pleasant but check your bill as they add on 10% tip even if you have been tipping as you go along - this is actually fairly typical in most of Mexico we found.
The restaurants from the other little hotels along the beach offer a nice range of alternative venues for all the meals as nothing is included at Om. An interesting experience for all the family!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Quality of the sleeping accomodation
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Conyersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We stayed here with a group of old friends for a week. The OM is on a very beautiful piece of beach pretty far down the beach road almost to the biosphere reserve.
First, the positive. Location was awesome! The food in the restaurant was tasty, although I found it a little overpriced. The style and decor of the Om is really cool, the rooms are regular old Mexican cement rooms, but they put a dark varnished wood over it and it looks really beautiful. There are buddha statues all over the place, adding a relaxing vibe. The restaurant and bar "main cabana" were absolutely beautiful. The housekeeping was immaculate. The owners (managers? I never really figured it out) were young and fun.
The not-so-good:
I too had a porta-potty smelling experience. The electricity does go off at midnight, which is kind of fun in a way (bring a flashlight if you like to read in bed!), however when you wake up in a hot smelly room it isn't so nice. I think what really happens is the septic tank gets pumped once a week or so and that is when it really stinks to high heaven. Also I like to sleep with a fan on me so I was pretty disappointed. People have to understand, however, that these little hotels are run on generators and septic tanks. Smells and lack of electricity are part of staying in a non-resort type place in the Yucatan. I did, however, think that the Om overcharged for their rooms. If you don't offer things like ocean views or electricity 24/7 you shouldn't charge $140 a night.
Another thing that was kind of strange at the Om was the key situation. My friend and I were given one key, they said it was the only one. Our one key only worked about half the time. We kept having to get a worker to come let us in our room! Another friend locked her key in the room and had no way to get in as late at night the staff goes home and there is only a security guard!
The beach "club" consists of about 6 loungers (cushioned, comfy) with umbrellas and a waiter. Buy a bottle of rum in town to doctor up the drinks, they're pretty weak. The website claimed that there is cable, which is impossible being that there are no TV's (fine with me!) There is WiFi, but there are no safes at the Om so I would not bring my laptop, I wouldn't call it the most secure hotel in the world. It seems that they are making improvements to the Om. Perhaps in a couple of years it will be nicer.
I had a love-hate relationship with the Om. I might stay there again, but probably just for a day or two. There are so many little hotels in the Tulum area there is no reason to tie yourself to one for the whole time you are there. Stay one or two nights to get into the groove of the area, then explore!

  • Liked — The beach, the restaurant, the decor
  • Disliked — Misleading website (made it seem less rustic), lack of keys, overpriced
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelloverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2009

Tulum is a wonderful place, low key atmosphere, great beach. The Om Tulum has a fantastic restaurant wich I would recommend throughly, esepcially the pizzas. Do not stay there though! Where else would you pay US$140 plus tax per night an have no electricity between midnight and 8am? Its a joke, presumably under the guise of being eco-friendly, although their savings on electricity are not refelcted in the price, a nice little earner for the hotel. We couldnt sleep all night it was so hot. Nobody even told us about this on check-in. Also on checking in (3pm) we were told to wait an hour for our room as there was still someone staying in the room......well get them out on time then!!! The place is a joke, eat there but stay elsewhere....

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leicspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omplaya, manager at Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club, responded to this review, 22 April 2009
We understand that The Tulum eperience is not for everyone.This is one of the reasons why we make it very clear on our website and confirmation emails,what a guest should expect.We do everything we can to inform our guests of what to expect and that we are sorry if you did not take the time to read the booking terms and property description.
$140 per night in christmas high season,in comparison to other locations is very reasonable.We are on one of the nicest beaches in the caribbean.No light or noise pollution.We are around 7km from the town of tulum and self sufficient .We generate our own electricity,water is trucked in,sewage has to be trucked out.Unfortunately these things are expensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#40 of 95 in Tulum
247 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 95 in Tulum
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#37 of 95 in Tulum
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#12 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#70 of 95 in Tulum
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club

Property: Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Address: Carretera Tulum-Punta Alen, KM. 9.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club in Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico is born from this eternal philosophy. It takes light, water, stone, and wood to create a verdant oasis where you can find harmony. Stroll along the stone pathways or landscaped gardens in the warm sunlight. Lounge in a hammock under coconut trees. Embrace the vastness of the Caribbean Sea as you curl up your toes in the fine sand. Bask in the romantic aura of a nature-inspired cabana. Please Note:* This property is on Tulum beach, about 5 km from Tulum downtown.* Parking is available free of charge in our private lot across the street.* The receptionist is on duty from 8 am until 11 pm* If checking-in after 11:00 PM you will need to make arrangements ahead of time.* Electricity runs from 8 am until 12 midnight, with intermittent breaks for generator maintenance. * There are no electrical outlets in guest rooms.Check-in: 3:00 PM Check-out: 11:00 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing