We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Amarkantak and stay at Holiday Homes”
Review of Holiday Homes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amarkantak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holiday Homes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amarkantak
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Visit to Amarkantak and stay at Holiday Homes”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Visiting Amarkantak was indeed a profound experience. Stay in Holiday Homes added to the beauty.

Amarkantak is a place with pristine glory. The serenity and spirituality of the place can be felt as soon as one reaches the place. The beauty is that unlike many other religious places in India, the serenity of Amarkantak remains undiminished.

Holiday Homes is ideally located at about 1.5 km from the Narmada Udgam. The front desk is courteous and efficient. We were in our rooms within 5 minutes of our showing up at the desk. Room at the upper floor was spacious with a drawing room and a balcony offering great view of the lake and the mountain range beyond. Rooms and bathroom were clean. Linens and towels were clean and fresh. Vegetarian food was tasty though simple. Restaurant staff were courteous and efficient..

Amarkantak has many great places to see. While lot has been written about the other places, I found Mai Ki Bagiya particularly fascinating especially when dusk was approaching. Sitting there, I was once more reminded of the great spiritual history that our country possesses.

View of Narmada Mai from any place in Amarkantak was exhilarating. On one occasion, we saw a group of pilgrims commencing their parikrama. It left a sense of longing in me. I visited a couple of Ashrams there. The experience, as I said, right in the beginning, was profound.

We stayed at Amarkantak for three nights. The combined experience of place and hotel will have an indelible imprint on my mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BongTravellerMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    35
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Going to amarkantaq from jabalpur was a good expereince..the roads are excellent and are pleasant to drive with many blind curves and angles..on the way are some excellent natural scenes and one can really enjoy the greenery and long trees without pollution...and then one reaches amarkantaq which are starting points for the satpura and vindyachal range of mountains . it has all the points to be a good hill station but it has not attracted much tourists so far except the religious..
To find a hotel like holiday homes promoted by MP tourism is a pleasant surprise...thanks to MP tourism the hotel route boards are placed suitably so that one can reach the hotel easily. the hotel is typical goverment with big campus and unlike govt . is quite neat and clean..the staff is not very courteous but not rude either...rooms are a big expensive for their price..try the tents (if u r not afraid of reptiles of all types) or else stay in the rooms ..the tents are very attractive .
rooms are typically sarkari...bathrooms are unclean...the restaurent serves breakfast, lunch and dinner...the food is spicy but can be taken as there are no other options...book your rooms before going throuh MP tourism website else there can be disappointments since most of the travellers and govt. officers stay here..overall there is no other option but to choose holiday homes which will serve the purpose atleast for a day or two...in rain there are so many reptiles and insects that it best to avoid or b prepared for some surprises..

Room Tip: upstairs AC room or tent out in the open
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asheesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

AMARKANTAK, is the holy place for Hidus, as great river Narmada it origin from this place, if u need to have real spiritual & peaceful experience then you must visit this place which is situated in madhya pradesh india, nearest rail way station is Pendra Road(45 km) or Bilaspur(130 KM), Holiday Homes by MP tourism is good option which u can book the accomodation from web site, please remember this place is 100% veg & non alcoholic, u can stay in ashrams also it has air con rooms, place is worth to visit

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pankajsapate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhanbad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Being a government property, meny things they have here is just absolutely right. Spent a night here, and the people managing this place are quaintly efficient. The restaurent requires a lot to be desired though. They didnt even have bread, or, for that matter, most of the things the claimed to serve in the menue. You can have better homestyle food outside in any run down eatery. Stayed in a tent, so my comments are applicable to it, dont know about the rooms

Room Tip: try and grab the tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mayur922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Checking in was smooth and the a/c room was infact a suite with a sit out and a Balcony which was good enough. The rooms need a bit of renovation but i would say it was better than most govt. accomodation. Food is decent though choice is limited and of course only Veg which I advocate for. We had for Lunch some mix veg and soft phulkas and some Dal with rice. For breakfast we had some poha with some cutlets and bread butter.

Next day we went to a eat out called Hill top ( My advise never venture near these places. We had 3 plates each of aloo gobi , dal, rice and phuklas, the bill was about 375/- which was highly inflated. The hygine and taste is a non starter. Later we realised that the best and only decent place to eat is at the hotel.
We had the services of a good guide called amit who is humble and knowledgeable abt all the places and took us on a very pleasant trek to brighu mandal. The bliss cannot be explained but experienced. Overall i will rate this hotel and services decent enough, that your family will relax with you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ravishankarMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My self ,my wife ,my daughter,my son along with my grand daughter with her mummy were visited on 25th & 26th Dec 2012 to Amarkantak . We have stayed at AC tent . It was a nice trip , as we have enjoyed very much. Specially at Kalyan Ashram in night , it was a great Aarti . If possible any one should attend. Stay at Holiday Homes Tent was very comfortable. Rooms were big , with all amenities , working Heater , AC etc. Weather was very good. In night around 7-8 deg C was the temperature.
In Amarkantak this Hotel in the Best in all respect , safety, food, quality etc. There are various arrangement for children . You may stay 2-3 days very comfortably.

Room Tip: You may select AC tent for good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKM_AKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I, my wife, our son and my brother stayed for 1 night at Holiday Homes, Amarkantak. Initially I was reluctant to include Amarkantak in our itinerary. But I did not regret my decision to include it.

We travelled to Amarkantak from Bargi Dam. Jabalpur to Amarkantak is 228 Kms and Bargi to Jabalpur is about 30 - 40 kms (so we travelled a distance of around 260 Kms). The road is very good but has many ghat type sections. After starting at 9 AM from Bargi Dam we reached, Amarkantak around 3 pm. On road from Bargi or Jabalpur to Amarkantak you will not find any good hotels or restaurants.

Our checkin was hassel free and done in 5 mins. The room was neatly done and clean, toilet was clean, the room had sufficient number of blankets, and an extra bed. The room also had a separate sitting area with sofa and 4 chairs. I found this to be a very nice arrangement. The room also had a balcony offering very good views of the Kabir lake. Holiday Homes Amarkantak also offers A/c tents at the same price. The MPTDC Hotel Incharge told us that these tents are usually in great demand. The hotel has ample parking space and a small play area for children. Restaurent area is large but at times gets little crowded.

After check in we immediately rushed to the restaurant. The food is good, we had chapatis. The food is reasonably priced. The menu is basic (you don't have plenty of variety available - like chinese, continental etc.) and only vegetarian (which is very good - since Amarkantak is a very holy place).

After lunch we rushed to Kapildhara water falls. It is said that Sage Kapila did tapasya at this place. The waterfall is about 40 m high. It is surrounded by dense forests. In the evening we also went to the Jwaleshwar temple (Lord Shiva temple).

Amarkantak is the origin of 2 rivers. Narmada (the fifth longest river in India) originates here. It is one of the three rivers which flow from east to west. It flows over a length of 1312 Kms before draining into Arabian sea near Bharuch in Gujrat. The origin place of Narmada is called Narmada kund. Narmada is believed to be the daughter of Lord Shiva and is considered sacred.

The second river is the Sone river. Sone joins the Ganges near Patna in Bihar. The Sone river has a bridge near Dehri on Sone in Bihar. This bridge has a lenght of 3.2 Kms and is the longest bridge crossed by a passenger train. The origin place of Sone is called Sonemuda.

The next day we saw Narmada Kund and Sonemuda, Mai ki Bagiya and a massive Jain temple being built in Amarkantak. When complete the Jain temple will be a major attraction in Amarkantak. This temple will house a murti of Bhagwan Adinatha the 1st Tirthankara of Jains and the founder of Jainism. The murti weighs 24000 Kg (24 Tons). At present the murti has been installed and the construction work of the temple is in full swing under the divine guidance of Acharya Shri 108 Vidyasagarji Maharaj.

Amarkantak is a great place to visit and Hotel Holiday Homes is an excellent option to stay in Amarkantak. It offers host of facilities, clean rooms, good reasonably priced food and has service oriented staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vishal_J1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amarkantak
0.0 mi away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Residency
The Residency
#1 of 3 in Amarkantak
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Homes

Property: Holiday Homes
Address: Holiday homes, | Amarkantak, Amarkantak, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Anuppur District > Amarkantak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amarkantak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing