We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Norangdal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Norangdal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hellesylt B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Villa Norangdal was the highlight of our trip to the western fjords. This small hotel--really a B&B--is simply delightful. It is located in the most beautiful setting imaginable, nestled into the mountains in the Norangdal Valley. The hotel is beautifully appointed, with absolutely delicious breakfast (included) and dinner (if you want it). The staff were incredibly warm and welcoming, offering tea and coffee, drinks, advice on hikes in the area, and anything else we needed. It was just an incredibly peaceful, quiet, and beautiful place. We stayed for two nights out of our five night trip and wish we had re-arranged things so we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theo0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Villa Norangdal is a privately owned beautifully renovated small hotel hidden in Norangsdalen at the foot of some of the most majestic mountains in Norway. Even though it´s some hours drive from Oslo, it´s well worth the trip. The rooms are stylishly decorated and named 1900, 1920, 1930, 1950, 1960 and 1970. The staff are very welcoming and professional always making sure that their guests experience Norangsdalen at it´s best! During our stay we went skiing at daytime and spent the evenings in the hotel with good company either by the fire place indoors or outdoors in the jacuzzi. Visit www.norangdal.com to see what I´m talking about.

Room Tip: Pick the room that represents your favorite era
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

This is really the place to go if you would like to enjoy the Norwegian mountainlife and quiet peaceful atmosphere of the north. The old traditional hotel with its unique rooms is just the right place for a romantic and different getaway to take your mind off the otherwise hectic urban life. Go and see for yourself:)

Room Tip: Pick your decade and reserve your room early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keyseren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

I have stayed at Villa Norangdal several times and I always have a great time there. It is a wonderful place to stay when I want to relax. The staff is friendly, efficient and forthcoming and the rooms are delightful. My favourite room is 1930 which is deorated with an asian inspiration and has a great bathroom and lots of windows. To wake up to the amazing sight of the mountains is so soothing. There are lots of great hiking trails in the area and even if the town of Stryn isn't that big it is still worth a visit. The staff is also very helpful if you need tips on where to go and what to see in this part of Norway. They don't have a fitness center, but to lounge in the jacuzzi after a day in the mountains is heavenly. They unfortunately don't have a restaurant, but you can pre-order meals if your group is large enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mygghater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellesylt
0.0 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Union Oye
Hotel Union Oye
#1 of 2 in Orsta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.0 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Norangdal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Norangdal

Property: Villa Norangdal
Address: Norangdal, Hellesylt, Stranda 6218, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Stranda > Hellesylt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hellesylt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Indoors, Great Outdoors! Villa Norangdal is a little, wooden hotel from 1885, with 6 double rooms: 1900, 1920, 1930, 1950, 1960 and 1970. The furnishing is a mixture of international iconic design and classic furniture from the Sunnmore region. A tour through the Villa is a journey through the history of design from Art Nouveau via Art Deco to Scandinavian Style and Space Age. Facilities include a lounge with log fire, outdoor jacuzzi and free wireless internet. The dining room serves "glocal food" - local ingredients prepared to global recipes and served with international side dishes and selected wines. The Sunnmore Alps shelter our guests from mobile phone signals, but the location is a fantastic starting point for walks or sightseeing in the Alesund, Geiranger/Trollstigen, Hjorundfjorden and Indre Nordfjord/Stryn areas. For outings we collaborate with DID Adventure, Yourway, Sunalp and Explore North. If you are not tempted by mountains and fjords, our local hosts will give you the best tips for a "Rural Norway Revisited" experience, with the best coffee bars, exhibitions, shopping and architecture. In other words, at Villa Norangdal you can have a holiday in Mountainpolitan Style. For more information see our Facebook page! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Norangdal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing