We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Collars and Cuffs do not match!!”
Review of The Feathers

The Feathers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Feathers
Ranked #5 of 8 Dersingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Came here and stayed for two nights while attending a family function and it is as if the hotel is an entirely different business from the restaurant. The restaurant was lovely, tastefully decorated, the waitresses were amazing, prompt service and all 21 guests were well fed in a timely manner the hotel on the other hand was one of the worst I have stayed in and not worth the money, Premier Inns far exceed this place. The decor was a throwback to the 80's, mismatched poor quality furniture, filthy carpet, and a pet hate of carpet in the bathroom. It was not the cleanest of places, the shower head was full of limescale with a badly fitted dirty shower curtain, rotten skirting boards cracked tiles, peeling paper, you felt dirty just going in there. If you want a restful time forget it, the soundproofing was very poor, the scraping of the tables being moved in the room below and the old single glazed windows which don't shut properly do not block any sound from the beer garden below (not great with a young child in tow) and the curtains were so thin they are of no use at all so everyone woke at the crack of dawn with the sunlight streaming in and the birds going crazy. It is such a shame as you expect great things from the downstairs interior and service, the only thing to recommend about the room was the door out of it!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else our room is on the website and look nothing like it in the flesh.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for The Feathers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We are extremely familiar with this establishment having been regulars on and off for 40 years through all the ups and downs! I can only comment on the pub side because being residents of Dersingham have never needed to stay there but know the much needed refurbishment is very much a "work in progress" and it does seem to be taking a very long time!
We made a snap decision to have a midweek lunch and were very glad we did so. We both had the hake (a very under-rated fish for some reason) and could not fault it. It was served with garlic mash and PROPER BROCCOLI not that dreadful imposter that tends to be churned out everywhere! Food and drink both served by friendly barman Sam!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Extrafussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had dinner here so this review only covers the restaurant.
The staff were cheerful and welcoming. The restaurant had a comfortable atmosphere and was full.
I had pigeon with mushrooms. Good flavour but not cooked enough for me: I like 'rare' but this was raw.
The steak pie was excellent and worth the trip all on its own. The vegetable accompaniment was generous and cooked properly.
The men's lavatory needs cleaning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarvinSteppingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My family went away for new year just gone with some friends and bought tickets for the new years eve party at the feathers which cost us £25 each, our friends had already been to the last year's one and said how brilliant it was so were really looking forward to it, what a disappointment it was and a complete waste of money. Canapes & nibbles were served at intervals before the main food was served but our table seemed to be missed out most times when they were brought round. When the food was served nobody came to tell us we just saw others coming back with plates so made our way towards a very long queue, when we got to the table, there were already quite a few empty plates so thought there would be replenished one's but I was wrong and to top it off they had ran out of clean cutlery so had to wait for more to be brought in, if u like chicken drumsticks, very hot & spicy beef strips and empty mussel shells with small bowls of salad and dry French sticks you have paid £25 for, all well and good, but we will not be wasting our hard earnt cash there again, what a big disappointment although we had a good time enjoying each other's company.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank babsilees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was absolutely delicious, and although the room was slightly disappointing, the bed was very comfortable, with good linen. We really enjoyed our stay, weren't ever rushed, and made to feel at home. With a young, boisterous baby in tow this made all the difference! A very family-friendly hotel, we will go again. They even sent back something we had left immediately, phoning twice to try and arrange it, despite me saying we would happily collect it.

Room Tip: Family room is spacious
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here when picking up my partner's son prior to travelling on towards Essex.
The staff were amazing and obviously making every effort in difficult circumstances to make the best of the facilities for the guests eg clean towels, toiletries, nice biscuits etc Unfortunately we used half the towels to soak up the water from the leaking shower which didn't seem to like distributing hot water - my partner had to fix the toilet tank twice so it would flush.
There was frost on the inside of the unheated bathroom/toilet room and the radiator didn't work properly in the bedroom. To top it all the carpet was the kind that you wouldn't want to walk barefoot on and having tried to put some clothes in the wardrobe the door fell off!!
The breakfast which was the only part we ended up paying for was good!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank travellertrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I went for lunch with a party of 18, having ordered from the menu about a week before. Despite having prebooked we waited about an hour for the food to arrive. The food was underwhelming, with greasy limp chips. We were put in a "function room" from which all soft furnishing had been removed, turning it into an echo chamber, so that by the time the food arrived everyone was hoarse from trying to make themselves heard above the din. The waitress was doing her best but we received no apology or adequate explanation for the incredibly slow service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TollyLurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dersingham
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
887 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ffolkes Hotel
The Ffolkes Hotel
#11 of 15 in King's Lynn
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,074 reviews
4.5 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
834 reviews
7.7 mi away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers

Address: 71 Manor Road, Dersingham, King's Lynn PE31 6LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Dersingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dersingham
Price Range: £70 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching inn with rooms above for bed and breakfast. We are sat on the edge of Sandringham estate and only ten minutes to the beach. Good pub food sourced locally with a nice selection of real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers Dersingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing