We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pub in a beautiful village.”
Review of The Feathers

The Feathers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Feathers
Ranked #5 of 8 Dersingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Having visited Sandringham for the morning, stopped here just a mile from the house for lunch and a drink. Has a large garden with timber play area to let the kids burn some energy while mum and dad rested with a choice of real ales and ciders. Food varied, reasonably priced and well presented. A lovely quaint historic pub set in lovely grounds....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Urbantiger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

On arrival I was shown to room 3 on the first floor, rather shabby and tired looking, I went down almost immediately to the bar and ordered steak and chips from a rather limited menu. It arrived and was at best tepid and of poor quality, as it was busy I didn't bother complaining and put it down to experience. Went up to my room for a shower which I had to stop after a couple of minutes to avoid flooding my room and the bar underneath, the shower waste was obviously partially blocked.
Then set up my computer to make use of the free wi-fi which wasn't working so I retired to bed.
I went down at 7.30am next morning to find the place locked up and a young lad who explained that the cleaner was on holiday and the cook hadn't arrived so he couldn't open the bar. I also asked him about the wi-fi which still wasn't working, he explained that this wasn't unusual and he couldn't access it either.
I was left with going to work without breakfast, I have since complained to the management who offered £10 for my missed breakfast which I refused.
Avoid this place it makes Fawlty Towers look good.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The best sign in the world: WELCOME: Wet Dogs, Muddy Boots and Kids!

Following a very warm welcome, me, the hubby and two dogs were shown into the front bar area for our impromptu breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite. The dogs were given water bowls on arrival and a cuddle! The breakfast was good value for money, there was a good selection to choose from, including a kids menu (not that we had any!)
The gardens are huge and very well maintained, with a separate area for private functions and peace from the children if you require. Plenty of kids facilities in the garden. They also offer camper van hook up for £10 a night (at the time of writing). B&B is also available at very reasonable costs, although we didn't stay there, we were just passing through, so I wouldn't be able to comment on the rooms. Free Wi-fi. They also cater a small takeaway menu.
A real must if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MrsSlav23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at The Feathers for three nights in June. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was more than adequate - clean and comfortable. Being an old building I would not expect any better. Food was good pub food and the outdoor eating area very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went here today, we had not booked, there was four adults plus 'hector' our friends dog. We were greeted by very friendly staff who were very accommodating and who welcomed the dog. Our lunch was served very promptly with roast beef as Sunday Roast and tortellini which was enjoyed by my friend. Puddings, chocolate tart special and treacle tarts went down well. We would definitely go back again to eat. Looks like some mixed reviews but do not be put off. I speak as I find, lovely staff. Ale's were a hit with the men.
I would suggest a second meat/poultry would enhance the menu but everyone we saw eating seemed very happy with their meals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Over priced and unimaginative . I thought scampi and chips in a basket died out in the 80s and to be charged £26 for 3 soft drinks and 2 very poor and small helpings of scampi and chips (no garnish) in a basket is unacceptable, my advice drive past you could do better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my partner over the Easter Weekend. We found everthing super. The room was comfortable and clean, the food and service were excellent and i would recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to visit Sandringham House and gardens without a doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie_Morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dersingham
3.1 mi away
The Ffolkes Hotel
The Ffolkes Hotel
#11 of 15 in King's Lynn
64 reviews
7 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hunstanton
441 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Queen Victoria Inn
Queen Victoria Inn
#1 of 3 in Snettisham
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coach & Horses
Coach & Horses
#2 of 8 in Dersingham
119 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Wash & Tope Hotel
The Wash & Tope Hotel
#22 of 22 in Hunstanton
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers

Address: 71 Manor Road, Dersingham, King's Lynn PE31 6LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Dersingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dersingham
Price Range: £77 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century coaching inn with rooms above for bed and breakfast. We are sat on the edge of Sandringham estate and only ten minutes to the beach. Good pub food sourced locally with a nice selection of real ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers Dersingham, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing