We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful compact cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dersingham, King's Lynn, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard O
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful compact cottage.”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is compact andt has everything you could need and very comfortable. It is near the village centre, and an excellent pub (Coach and Horses) serving good traditional and local dishes is 15 minutes walk away. We like bird-watching and two excellent RSPB sites are nearby. Dersingham has a good Coop supermarket, and a Spar is just round the corner. The owners were very helpful and friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
Thank you Richard for a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickie l
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Holiday At Barn Cottage”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Once again we had our spring holiday at this wonderful cottage. The accommodation is beautifully presented throughout, very relaxing and tranquil with full use of the owner's peaceful, lovely garden. The rooms are modern, airy and Mandy provides all the fresh, clean bedding and towels which we find a great bonus on any holiday. We also find this cottage ideally located to visit all our favourite places along the North Norfolk coast and this time we clocked up 133 bird species. Mandy and Doug are the perfect, helpful hosts and will recommend places of interest during your stay. Thank you once again for a second brilliant stay at your cottage and hope to see you both soon. Vickie & Ryan

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thanks Vickie & Ryan for this great review, lovely to see you again. See you soon, all the best. Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red_Steve...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage for two”
Reviewed 28 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stayed here with partner as very close to Parents. Will definitely be staying here again, and told the rest of the family about it! Very clean and modern. Perfect for two people. Really appreciated the welcome gifts as well - lovely touch. Thank you Mandy and Doug

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thank you for this great review, hope to see you both again soon.
All the best
Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ir1949
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect cottage for 2”
Reviewed 26 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Ideal cottage for 2,welcomed by Mandy who explained all about the area and local places,i.e chip shop,pubs,supermarkets etc.Bus stops close to cottage,ideal if do not want to use car,coastliner bus takes you round the coastal towns and village as far as Wells near sea.Welcome pack of milk,butter,wine and ale.Recommend Sandringham,Wolferton Royal Station and Holkham Hall and beach,also plenty of good walks in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thank you for this lovely review, hope to see you both again in the future.
All the best.
Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitingas
suffolk, england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay in Dersingham”
Reviewed 25 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Excellent property for a stay in Norfolk. Barn Cottage has everything provided for a self catering break. Lots of goodies provided. Cottage has lots of information on local area and has bus stop close by where you can access all along the coast. Shops close by and fish and chip shop at end of road. Fully recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Thank you for this lovely review, hope to see you again in the future and meet you next time.
All the best.
Mandy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
882hollyr
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely Holiday whilst staying at the Barn Cottage.Upon our arrival we were warmly greeted by Doug and shown inside the cottage. The bedroom was spacious and decorated beautifully, the bathroom was supplied with fresh Egyptian fluffy towels. The kitchen had all the utensils that we could possibly need when cooking and we really appreciated the gifts of bread, milk, wine and ale left for us.

Both Mandy and Doug made us feel very welcome and we hope to revisit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaryF
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very special & memorable accommodation .”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Barn Cottage was a excellent place to stay and also a place that we discovered, I also have a special connection too.
We were traveling to England for a holiday (from Australia) & also to track down & research old family heritage. We have an old family photo of my great grandparents & their children, which included my grandmother, standing outside a distinctive house on Station rd, Dersingham, which they owned & lived in, back in 1914 - 23. Thanks to the marvel of 'Google earth' we were able to track down the exact location in Station street of the old family home and find that it was largely as it was, almost 100 years ago. We were even more astonished to discover that it was now accommodation, which we promptly booked.
Mandy & Doug were excellent hosts & we can not thank them enough for their hospitality. The cottage that we stayed in was nicely decorated,very clean, warm and well appointed. The location was great, with only a short walk to everything we needed in town with close proximity by car to other local attractions. We very much enjoyed the back yard & the friendly chickens.
Highly recommended.
P.S My Grandmothers sister, Great Auntie Joy, who lived in the house when she was very young, is still very much alive at 99 years old. She loved seeing our latest photos of her childhood home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing