We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stellarton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent and informative staff. Helped immensely in suggesting places to eat and visit. Hotel is kept exceptional clean both outside and inside. Maintenance staff continually cleaning. Good breakfast which is complimentary. Easy access and exit from and to the trans canada highway. Lots of parking, Felt completely safe. Great indoor pool with slide for the kids.

Room Tip: There are no bad ones. We stay there at least once a year for several days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vern T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed our indoor pool with 80 ft water slide and our hot breakfast. Our staff here were very proud that you found them to be excellent and informative. We do take pride in our property and we are very pleased to hear you say so.
We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Mark H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

The location for the Hotel is fine. It was an easy drive off the PEI ferry. We stay at Holiday Inn Express often, however this Holiday Inn Express is not up to the typical level of cleanliness and room condition that we have come to expect with this chain. We booked two rooms, both were in poor condition. There were dirty markings all over the wall. The curtains in both rooms were falling off the windows and there were stains all over the carpets. In addition, there were finger prints all over the mirrors, in both rooms. Dust on the lamps and on the baseboards. I general just a really low standard of attention to detail with regards to room cleanliness. That being said the front desk staff was very friendly when we checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 26suomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We appreciate our guests comments whether good or bad. With our guest comments we can be notified of areas that need better service to our guests. Our management team has discussed your room issues and have scheduled these rooms for painting and carpet cleaning. We do take pride in our property and assure you this is not our normal standard for our guests.
We are glad to hear that you found our front desk to be friendly.
Hoping we can have another opportunity to serve you in the future and show you we are a stellar property in Stellarton.

Mark H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here one night during our East Coast Trip. The other night in New Glasgow as at the Comfort Inn.

This hotel has a beautiful pool, hot tub & slide (something the Comfort Inn was missing).

Breakfast was excellent - no complaints here.

However - there were a couple of issues.

1. The Internet was terrible. It would work for a few minutes, then basically drop to a crawl (unusable). Then a few minutes later, it would be fine again. This happened wired & wireless

2. The condition of the room was excellent - however, when we went into the bathroom, one of the towels was clearly not changed from the previous guest. It had toothpaste/shaving cream smeared on it - evidently a previous guest had brushed his teeth, and wiped his face on the towel and left it hanging. I took the towel to the front desk explaining what I found. The towel was replaced, but at no time did I receive even an apology from either lady working (2 at the desk).....I noticed and so did my daughter as we walked back to the elevator saying "Daddy - they didn't even apologize"

Mistakes happen - but to not apologize for this? Strange......but I see I'm not the first to complain about the bathroom not being cleaned very well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cdn_Traveller_300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Cdn_Travellor_300,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We appreciate all of our guest comments so that we can offer a better service to all of our guests. We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed our indoor pool with 80 ft water slide. Also that you enjoyed our hot breakfast.
We have looked into your issue with the dirty towel and we are very sorry that this was left in your room. I assure you that this is not our normal type of service and for that we do apologize. I have spoken with our front desk and housekeeping departments about this issue and I assure you that our property has a policy in effect to deal with this type of service lapse. I have left you a voice mail and would very much like to discuss this with you at your convenience.

Mark H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband, 2 daughters (4 and 5) and I went to visit my brother in law and his family in Stellarton. We spent 7 nights at this hotel. It was clean, and a great spot for us to stay. Very close to our family, it allowed us the space to get a little family time.
This hotel has a fabulous pool area! An amazing slide (my 4 y.o. Loved it, went down by herself many times) a hot tub and the pool.
The free breakfast helped us save some money, but after 7 days, it felt a little tired. Still a great option. My daughters ADORED the cinnamon buns :)
All the staff members we encountered were really pleasant and helpful.
Great spot, easy to get to from the highway, and a great spot for someone wanting to explore Pictou County!

Room Tip: I loved our room (116) close to the parking off the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaisB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear AnaisB1981,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are so glad you children enjoyed our hot cinnamon buns from our hot breakfast. We also noted that your family enjoyed our indoor pool with 80 foot water slide, this is always popular with families.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for one night. All in all it was good. Check in was a breeze.room was clean, except for the bathroom which was not cleaned very well, which surprised me as I expect more from the HIE. Love their amenities. The breakfast was grrreat!! Pool was down, so can't comment. The damn air conditioner/ heater was annoying. Either too cold or to warm and was very loud when it kicked in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally_travel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear sallieeeeee,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellaton Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed our hot breakfast, it is always a hit with our guests. I have noted the items you pointed out and our maintenance team is working on fixing the A/C. As well our housekeeping department have been notified of your comment and we assure you this is not the norm for our property. We will ensure that this is not the case for the future.
Again, thank you for commenting, it is from our guest comments that we are able to better serve all of our guests needs and expectations.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed for 1 night in this hotel in May 2014. The hotel seems to be newer and the rooms were fairly clean. The shower was great and the bathroom was clean. The price was average for the room and that included a "serve yourself" breakfast. Your basic self-serve food so not the greatest but convenient if you are in a rush.

Overall, no complaints; staff was friendly but the day I was there it was a very noisy hotel. Lots of kids running around and adults partying all over the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear margreek

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found Holiday Inn Express showers great and the rooms clean.
We are very popular with families and teams because of our indoor pool and 80 foot water slide. We appreciate your comments on the noise level due to this. We will do our best at all times to ensure the comfort for all of our guests.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.
Mark H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The choices for breakfast were plenty and what was unusual for one of these chains which offers free breakfast was the fact that one actually got "real plates and cups" meaning not plastic. A nice change. The room was well appointed, clean and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: The hotel is close to the Museum of Industry which is worth a stopover if you are in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear demo51,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud to have real plates and cutlery with our complimentary hot breakfast as we are trying to do our part with reducing garbage into local landfills.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellarton
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
#3 of 3 in New Glasgow
136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
107 reviews
10 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
7.7 mi away
Dolan's Inn and Suites
Dolan's Inn and Suites
#6 of 12 in Pictou
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow

Address: 86 Lawrence Blvd, Stellarton, Nova Scotia B0K 1S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Stellarton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stellarton
Price Range: £86 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stellarton - New Glasgow Hotel offers Convenient Location Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Stellarton, Nova Scotia, conveniently located just off Highway 104. Our Stellarton hotel is just minutes from New Glasgow, Westville, Trenton, Pictou and the Prince Edward Island ferry. Families looking for lodging in Stellarton will love our hotel's downtown location. Within walking distance, you'll find one of Canada's largest museums, the Museum of Industry. The Samson Trail portion of the Trans-Canada Trail System, Hector Heritage Quay and the Highland Square Mall are only minutes from our hotel in Stellarton. We are also just a few kilometers from Pictou County's many parks and beaches, including the popular Melmerby Beach Provincial Park.Business travelers can enjoy convenient access to Sobeys' head offices, the Michelin Tire Plant, Big 8 Beverages, TRA Foods, Sugarline Fuels and Convergy's. Our hotel near New Glasgow also offers four meeting rooms with over 3,000 square feet of flexible event space, a 24-hour Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access for your convenience.Our pet friendly Stellarton hotel features an indoor pool with an 80-foot waterslide, a whirlpool and a Fitness Centre. Guests can enjoy the free Express Start hot breakfast bar every morning, which features 100% Arabica Smart Roast coffee. Check out our great Stellarton, Nova Scotia hotel deals and start planning your trip to Canada today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing