We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Meal!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elk Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elk Lake Eco Resource Centre
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of having the most delicious meal here during our visit to Elk Lake in March for the ice fishing derby! The homemade buffet meal was scrumptious! We recently had the pleasure of walking the fabulous grounds and would love to book one of the peaceful cabins in the woods in the near future! Simply Divine!!!

Room Tip: Did not stay in a room but will definitely share my tips when we do!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
There are newer reviews for Elk Lake Eco Resource Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Myself and family stay with the Eco Centre a few weeks back for a family members wedding! What a terrific place! Everything about the Eco Centre was over & beyond what we expected. Food was delicious, rooms were VERY clean, cozy and stylish.The staff were just so accommodating & friendly I cannot be more impressed!
Wonderful, Wonderful Stay
Not to mention the wedding was beautiful & very unique
Will most definitely return in the near future with some friends & family.
If you are in the area I strongly suggest to take the detour out to Elk Lake and stop in!!

Happy travelling
The

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I stayed recently and had a wonderful time! Meals were great, we snowshoed and had a couples hot stone massage and reflexology treatment! The outdoor hottub was the highlight! Only draw back was the bed was on the small side and not very comfortable. BUT they are renovating the cabins so hopefully that is on their list of things to update! Had a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Myself and some work colleges decided to go on a snowmobile trip starting in New Lyskard Ontario. When one of our sleds ran out of oil, we spotted a sign for the Eco Resource center, not even knowing what it was, we ventured in just looking to use a phone. We came across a beautiful dining room, roaring fire in front of leather couches, and a very friendly wait staff. They said their kitchen was closed but they would open it up for us because we looked hungry. They made us all a fantastic meal, and kept the bar open as well as their hot tub. The manager who was an absolute sweetheart offered for us to stay the night at a very reasonable rate. We already had another hotel booked, but we decided that we were not leaving this winter paradise. They let us play pool, and mingle in the bar all night. After we went to a beautiful cottage, nice and cosy, very updated with all the amendities. In the morning we were greeted with an unlimited supply of bacon eggs, french toast, pancakes... well, everything really. The food was honestly the best breakfast i had ever eaten, all the way to the syrup coming in a sealed can that they had to punch a hole in to get it out (amazing stuff). We made our way out the door, back on our machines to the nearest gas station that the manager had set up for us (wasnt open on sundays). Truely an amazing find, we are going to return every year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I stayed at Elk Lake Echo Lodge for week on business with about 15 colleges. The area was beautiful – perfect if you are looking for a scenic spot, nature get-a-way, or corporate retreat.

The chalets were comfortable and clean. Each chalet had 6 rooms, with internet connections, and one bathroom per floor. The chalets also had a small kitchen (no stove, but fridge and microwave) and a nice big back porch that was perfect for having a drink in the evenings.

The main lodge was beautifully decorated in a cottagey chic theme, and the food was excellent!! Homemade, healthy and lots of it.

The staff was also wonderful. Very friendly, and accommodating – it felt more like a B&B than a resort. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone. I think it would be especially great in the winter monthes-- they hd tones of great trails, and a hot tub!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank askanyone27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The Elk Lake Eco Center helped us host our wedding on Sept 12 2009. We had a total of 87 guests with some just coming for the wedding and reception and others staying the full weekend. The center offered our guests a weekend package for $250.00 per couple which included a two nights stay, a BBQ style dinner, Brunch, and Breakfast for both people.....what value! The food including the wedding dinner was all really great and the staff were wonderful as well.
The setting for the wedding was exactly what we wanted....it was a nature like retreat for all who came.......the setting, service, and staff all came through in a big way and I would really recommend this place for your wedding if it fits your desire.
The main hall is big enough for 100 people I would say....anymore and you risk crowding for the dinner part.....but for receptions I would say their numbers are correct as there are plenty of other areas that people can move to and mingle in......the water....camp fire pit and rest of the property are an added bonus to this gem in northern ontario.......I should also mention that a staff member named Patricia has a side business that does flowers, decorating etc......she did a tremendous job translating what my wife envisioned into a reality ....the ceremony and reception were done to our perfection....she is quite reasonably priced as well.
We searched long and hard for a wedding venue throughout northern ontario to as far south as Windsor ont......I think you will find it very tough to match the money for value package that is offered at the eco center.......

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Calsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

The main lodge is wonderful, the people and the food were also great.
The actual accommodations could be better. The cabins are set out three rooms on the top floor and three rooms on the main floor with a bathroom on each floor and a tiny living area on the main floor. None of the rooms are equipped with an en suit bathroom. Which is okay if you are renting the whole cabin as a group but perhaps not if you are just on your own. The shower stall in the bathroom was so small that was it actually difficult to use and there were many fishing details that had been over looked like wood filler and drywall plaster that had not been painted over so it looked like you were still under construction.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liketotrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elk Lake Eco Resource Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Lake Eco Resource Centre

Address: PO Box 250, Ontario St, Elk Lake, Ontario P0J 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Elk Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Elk Lake
Price Range: £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elk Lake Eco Resource Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great moments make great stories, and great stories make us better people. Removed from the distractions of everyday life, we have the capacity to host your retreat requirements and the soul to deliver unique experiences that stories are made of. We provide an environment that offers endless special function opportunities, with superb facilities that are available for activities ranging from a family vacation, ATV excursions, to a romantic spa weekend. Also offered are special events such as weddings, family reunions and Christmas parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing