We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stags Head Goosnargh

The Stags Head Goosnargh
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Goosnargh
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Contemporary dining/ Gastro Pub.... 2 for £10 lunches... steak night Tuesday.... Chippy tea Friday.... Probably the best Sunday lunch in Lancashire.... Real ales.... Great wine... friendly staff
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

it was a wet Tuesday night and around 6:00 pm, not particularly busy but the food was fresh and very good.

The service was excellent from the barman / waiter who was very good at his job and needs recognition for his customer service.

I would recommend this restaurant

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have visited the Stags Head twice now on our visits to Blackpool, both times we have had excellent food and excellent service. I can thoroughly recommend the Stags Head to anyone wanting a good meal with a good ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saturday night out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Visited the Stags head on Saturday night; it is a lovely country pub with gardens at the rear. The staffs were really polite and friendly. The decor in the pub is pleasing and to me is like a pub/restaurant combine, not sure weather that really works for us but seems to be the norm for England these days. The atmosphere was good with drinkers and dinners and families and there were several children all around the pub. The menu was limited but there were specials on the board that looks good. For us some of the menu was overprices for a pub but the food we had we enjoyed. The beer was excellent and wine seemed reasonably priced. However, what ruined it for us was the lack of respect of the clientele for others, by their constant use of foul language and the fact that the owners did not seem to mine regardless of the children. The use of [--] in every sentence does not create a good family environment, but that’s just us. We were thinking of bring the whole family at Christmas, but will now give it a miss

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Visited the stags head and enjoyed the entire experience! The food was very tasty and well presented with a wide range of specials, so much choice it was difficult to make a decision! The staff were really polite and smiley and seem to have a good rapport with all the drinkers and diners which is nice to see; compared to other restaurants where the staff are sullen and don't want to be there. They couldn't do enough for us and we were well looked after from start to finish. Great atmosphere in general and would really rate it for all types of people; couples, friends and families.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bring back the old menu!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at The Stags on several occasions & always enjoyed my food. The pub is clean & well presented & the staff are always very polite & efficient.

I ate there last night & was slightly disappointed as the menu seems to have changed again, is quite limited & the prices seem to have gone up. There were a number of specials but very few of them were available, it was more a case of what do you have rather than what don't you have left. The food was very tasty & well presented as usual just wish the previous menu was still available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkchampagne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stags Head Goosnargh also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to The Stags Head Goosnargh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing