We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“familiar and warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kaliviani Traditional Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kaliviani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“familiar and warm hospitality”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The hotel location: 15 min to Falassarna beach und the city/port Kissamos, 40 min to Chania, 1 hour to Elafonisi (top tip). The hotel bar was great, there was live jazz music, the restaurants were very nice. We love the view from our window.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wawauu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    46
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
123
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Very nice and friendly people. Good food en clean room. Nice view all over the bay from the room. Almost no tourist, bud friendly local people. Perfect place to relax and de-stress. Best gARTen-bar ever. I'll go back.
Roger (Belgium)

Room Tip: 5 good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Kaliviani is a perfect hotel to spend some days visiting western Crete. Located far away from the noisy big city, Kaliviani is a guesthouse or better your house abroad to stay in. Ioanis speaks fluently english, spanish and of course Greek. The place with not many rooms is a paradise for the ones who are looking for a quiet stay. The dinner that we tried, wonderful, the raki with the desserts fantastic and prices like in a typical taverna (good) . Being living in Greece, I am familiar with the Greek Cousine but this Cretean style, even for the greek salad is perfect. Summarizing, Kaliviani is a high recommended place close to the main beaches, Balos, Falassarna and even Elaffonissos. Enjoy your stay as we did it

Room Tip: All rooms with seaview and cool in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escoba63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A very quiet place, beautiful and in a strategic position to visit the sorroundings of Chania, if you are renting a car.
Ian and his mother are very kind and the cuisine of Ian's mother is fantastic.
If we'll return to Crete, sure we will be here once more.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NelloD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My husband and I just spent 9 nights in Kaliviani Hotel. Gianni and his mother made us feel like home!
This small and cozy hotel is in the middle of olive trees with a very nice panoramic view on the harbor.
The hotel has 5 rooms, all with balcony.
We were given a triple room, making our stay even more confortable. The room was very clean, with clean towels and bed linen every one-two days. There were air conditioning, TV, fridge, Wi-Fi connection.
The hotel offers also a free pc available for the guests.
The breakfast was gorgeus, prepared freshly every morning (orange juice, yoghurt with honey, bread and marmelade, eggs, coffe, tea or cappuccino) and served directly by the owner. It was much more than we could eat!!!
We found this hotel very convenient as a starting point to visit Gramvoussa and Balos beach, being located at the beginning of the road that brings you to this beautiful beach. If you go there by car, be prepared to a challenging 1 hour drive!! But the view and the beach worth the trip!
In 20 minutes you can reach Falasarna, another beach you can't miss! We went there for 5 days!! To reach Elafonissi beach, instead, the trip is about 45 minutes. Another visit that we enjoyed is Paleochora.
You can always ask Gianni, that will provide all suggestions to the best places to visit from here.
The village of Kaliviani itself is very small, and honestly during the evening there is not much to do.
Anyway the restaurant of the hotel is very good, so do not miss it!!
We spent some evenings in Chania, that is very nice to visit and it is full of tavernas, pubs, shops, and some other evenings in Kissamos, that is a not-turistic city but it has some nice tavernas and bars too.
We would like to thank again Gianni and his family to contribute to our wonderful vacation, and in case we'll visit again that part of Crete we'll find the time to visit them again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The atmosphere that permeate this small 5 rooms hotel is extremely relaxing. Giannis, the owner of the hotel, and his mother make me and my girlfriend feel like between old friends. They suggest us the most impressive places to go, and every time their suggestions and their advices revealed to be perfect. The quality of the food that we met in his tavern still remain for us unbeatable, and it is overpass only by the ability of Giannis to make the best cuban Mojitos tasted ever!! The real naturalistic location of the Hotel, far from the noisy and turistic side of the island, contribuite a lot to increase the sense of "total relax" of this place.
The only regret: we should have passed more time there.. but for this we will repair for sure the next summer!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Nice place, beautiful sight and warm environment, quality dinner and bar, friendly atmosphere. Position closed to nice west Crete beaches.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaliviani
0.7 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
3.2 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Tree Apartments
Olive Tree Apartments
#2 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viglia Beach Apartments
Viglia Beach Apartments
#1 of 1 in Gramvousa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nautilus Bay Hotel
Nautilus Bay Hotel
#5 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaliviani Traditional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaliviani Traditional Hotel

Property: Kaliviani Traditional Hotel
Address: Kaliviani, Kaliviani, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos > Kaliviani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kaliviani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaliviani Traditional Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kaliviani Traditional Hotel is a family-run guest house in Crete, nestled in the countryside of northwest Crete, in the traditional village Kaliviani, offers spacious rooms enjoying views to the sea. Our spacious rooms renovated in 2014, have been designed with a traditional style and modern amenities, all guestrooms features queen size beds with orthopedic mattresses, private balcony hair dryer and safety deposit box. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Kaliviani Traditional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaliviani Traditional Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing