We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bailey's Surf Shack
Nearby Hotels
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Noordhoek Hotel(Noordhoek)
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$562
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
15
7
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
7
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It's very laid back and chilled, perfect for relaxing. The staff is friendly and they organize braais and outings weekly. Walking distance from the beach in Muizenberg, perfect if you want to take on surfing lessons or just go for a nice walk by the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kao F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

"Everybody under this roof is considered family" is the first sentence on the hostel-rule-sheet and the one sentence that sticked with me thru my whole stay at Bailey's Surf Shack. The warmth and fun with Bongis team became everyday life and made me oversee other little things which under different circumstances might not be as perfect as they could be. Now after quiet a while being home again I start to realize how much I miss the great atmosphere and the awesome people I met at the Shack. So if you are looking for "a real surf experience" you should definitely stay at Baileys Surf Shack, located close to the amazing beach of Muizenberg. So in only a few words:
Great people, great hostel, great vibe!!!!
I myself will come back for sure

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roni2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A nice hostel with no traffic or what so ever, a small town and you'll get to know the neighbors. A small walk to the beach. Opportunity to learn how to surf for a fair price! And a nice lounge to watch some movies together, or find buddies to go out with.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marieke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at Bailey's surf shack for 4 nights. The hostel is clean and the common livingroom is a nice place to relax and hang out with other guests. There is a big tv screen and many movies to watch! The staff is also really helpful!

For a solo traveller the hostel was really good. You easily get to know the other guests and the staff. There is always someone who is ready to go out for a surf or a drink! :)

The location is good, a ~5min walk from the beach and supermarket. Also the price is good and it's a good value for money. If I decide to return to Muizenberg, I would definetly go back to Bailey's surf shack.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indicanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The rooms are basic, but you can hear everything from one side of the house to the other!! From flushing toilets to running water and other guests talking. We stayed in a fairly large room, with two beds pushed together to give a double bed. The beds were very uncomfortable due to the face I could feel every spring, in bad need of replacing! There is no where to park, you have to drive up on the side walk to get off the road enough for other cars to be able to pass. The location is good for the beach and for other attractions like Boulders Beach, which is only a 20 min scenic car drive away and then a little farther is Cape of Hope!! Not bad for a one night stay but skip if you plan on staying longer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShannaB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews