We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOSTEL EVER”
Review of Stoked Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stoked Backpackers
Viborg, Denmark
1 review
“BEST HOSTEL EVER”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

If you want to learn how to surf muzinberg is certainly the place' it's rated on one of the top 5 spots in the world to learn at. Only 100 meters from the beach, there is a hostel called STOKED BACKPACKERS. The hostel has the most stunning view from its balcony, from there you can see all the mountains and check the surf whitout even getting out of your bed. It's hard to describe what makes Stoked Backpackers so great to stay at it's not only the beautiful view, it's amazing rooms and dorms, it's also the atmosfare that is whitin it's walls. An atmosphere that can not be explained only experienced, if you want to visit Cape Town or travel up the garden route or if you just want to learn how to surf' you can't do it in South Africa whitout visiting STOKED BACKPACKERS!

Room Tip: get doorm 5/6 they are really good its like haveing your own room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markustknudsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
9
52
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Amazing place to stay, or even if you just want the best coffee/croissants/muffins/food and best vibes around Muizenberg. Its walking distance from the beach and a checkers, so no need to take the car!
The dorms are cleaned everyday and are really nice. The bedrooms look awesome!
The common area has a big kitchen with everything you need, some sofas and a big TV.
The staff is super friendly and will help you to have a great time around Cape Town, they organize a lot of activities, from surfing tours to shark cage diving...
The moment you get there you can feel why is it called Stocked!
Can´t wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe_jbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The bedding is very clean and comfy, the cafe, kitchen, lounge area and balcony are really beautiful and well kept. Amazing home made muffins every day on sale. And the views are amazing, you are basically on the beach, the location is perfect. Muizenberg is far from central cape town though, you should know that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahsarah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had an awesome time in Cape Town and a massive part of that was due to staying at Stoked. The guys there all do such a great job and made it so easy for me to see Cape Town and set up my day. It does have to be said that they maintain the backpackers so well and it was such a nice, comfortable place to stay. I plan on coming back to Muizenberg one day and I know for sure I'll be staying at Stoked. Stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan_1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranst
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

At the end of my internship I was searching for a more less quiet place to finish my final report for university, I picked stoked backpackers in Muizenberg during low season and that was a perfect decision!
I slept 10 nights in de dorm for 5 people, nice and clean dorm!
Notwithstading you got some privacy in the dorm because the beds are more loss sheltered from eachother by walls, difficult to explain but just check it out :)!
The dorm for 5 has a own balcony which gives you the opportunity to work in quiet (good wifi btw).
Stoked backpackers offers a nice view over the bay and is really close to the Indian Ocean!
Althought Muizenberg isn't the most powerfull surfspot it has some descent surf and isn't that far from Kommetjie, Dungeons, ... !
It's easy to go to cape town by car or by train!
Because of my upcoming deadline I wasn't able to sign in for any activity but they do organize a lot of things like township tours, shark cage diving, surflessons, ... !
The big kitchen has enough cooking material and a chill out area with a big tv.
Last but not least, the reception is on the ground level in their own little bar were they sell some nice fresh healty food and drinks!
Thumbs up!

Room Tip: I cann't compare but the dorm for 5 people is really nice (2 bathrooms) and has his own balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Wow, we're stoked about your awesome review! It was great to have you stay with us! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Love Stoked! Great location to Muizenburg beach and train. Very friendly and helpful staff who cook delicious food in the cafe downstairs! Great upstairs patio and kitchen for everyone's use. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Would certainly recommend this hostel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Orla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for your awesome review. It's always good to get the thumb's up from a senior contributor. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stoked Backpackers is right in downtown Muizenberg. Fortunately, dorm rooms are in the basement and are pretty quiet. It is clean but not perfect. Staff are friendly. Balconies have amazing views. Price is decent. Wifi works fine. Lots of stairs throughout the place, but urban real estate is expensive, so it's cheaper to build up than out. I didn't give it five stars because the kitchen is tiny, crammed, not that clean, and the stove is adjacent to the balcony door - wind continually wicks heat away from the burners. Fine for short stays, however.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lukas97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes, we do have a number of stairs For those who don't want so many, a bed in the deluxe dorm or private rooms takes care of that. We'll keep a closer eye on the kitchen cleanliness. Thanks for the feedback about the stove & wind. We'll see what we can do about the wind ;-) and about giving the stove more shelter. We've got some plans for that area, so watch this space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muizenberg
African Soul Surfer
#3 of 10 in Muizenberg
104 reviews
The Muize Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Muizenberg
103 reviews
Bluebottle Guesthouse
#4 of 15 in Muizenberg
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfers Corner Apartments
#1 of 10 in Muizenberg
113 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#7 of 127 in Cape Town Central
512 reviews
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 127 in Cape Town Central
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoked Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoked Backpackers

Property: Stoked Backpackers
Address: 175 Main Road | Surfers' Corner, Muizenberg 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Muizenberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Muizenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoked Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great backpackers or hostel in Muizenberg? You’ve come to the right place! Stoked Backpackers is literally a stone’s throw away from Surfers’ Corner in Muizenberg, Cape Town. This popular swimming beach is a blue flag beach, which means it gets top marks for safety, cleanliness and amenities. The beach break produces great waves, making it a hot spot for surfers. In fact, Muizenberg is one of the World’s Best Surf Towns, according to National Geographic, who say, "A great surf town is the nearly magical sum of consistent waves, inviting accommodation, friendly locals, fun nightlife, delicious food, and plenty of activities should the ocean go flat." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stoked Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoked Backpackers Muizenberg, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing