We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one of the reasons why we felt in love with South Africa”
Review of Bella Ev

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bella Ev
Ranked #4 of 14 Muizenberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Our 11 days with Kerime in her beautiful house during our 2008 Christmas holiday is truly one of the most memorable experiences we had.

The house is situated in a quiet street close to a hill/park and a perfect hideaway from all the touristic places, but also ideally situated to explore all attractions of the Cape area.

Bella Ev is a lovely guesthouse with a very personal style. All spacious rooms are indivually decorated and show Kerime´s unique sense for style. Contemporary art from South Africa/Namibia is everywhere.

Kerime is a wonderful host and we always had the feeling to be part of her family instead of being a tourist. The breakfast is a real experience you shouldn´t miss and really worth mentioning explictely.

The rate is a real bargain compared to the value delivered. Overall 5 stars in all categories

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rummedings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2007

Just a note to say that - as three "ladies of a certain age", bordering on the gloom which decends at the end of a wonderful holiday in SA - our experience at "Bella Ev" was wonderful. A beautiful house, well appointed for the coast and all important venues on the Cape Peninsular. The rooms were really comfortable and the ambiance perfect. We found the guest house by chance and immediately fell in love with the house and the wonderful lady who runs it. Never short of conversation or ideas! Breakfast was truly magnificent.
My friends and I throughly recommend the Bella Ev
8 Camp Road
Muizenberg
Cape Town

  • Stayed: November 2003, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetlagWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Date- 27 Oct,2007

Muizenberg, False Bay--Bella Ev B&B

We got back from a self-drive trip on route 62 and looped back on the Garden Route. It was the most memorable trip we ever experienced. Our flrst trip to Africa, although this would not be a good indicator of the Real African adventure, but it was a pleasant surprise to us. The superb road conditions, signage, toilets; the people are friendly and polite.
We had the most unforgettable experience staying at the B&B's in South Afric., We chose the 3-star ones, and they turned out to be simply wonderful as most of them are personally run by the owner, who took the extra mile and gave us such warm welcome and detailed attention during our stay.
One such place was in Swellendam, it was a gem that we discovered at Heerden Huijs B&B. Her garden and birdhouse greatly impressed us, besides her artistic presentation at breakfast time~!
Another one was in Muizenberg. Bella Ev on Camp Road was also a great find. It is next to a historical building, and it is a unique house itself, the rooms are big and very well decorated with themes in each one, at such an affordable price.We wished we had more time to hear from the owner of her rich cultural background, and of the house itself. Make sure you get to hear her words of wisdom!!

Review by Chin K.S. from Malaysia

2  Thank busybee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

Bella Ev is jewel of a guesthouse, situated in Muizenberg which is a historic old suburb of Cape Town. The house is over 100 years old, and with its high ceilings and classic architectural style steps it's guests back into another time. The four guest rooms are very spacious and all have bathroom en-suite.

The owner serves the most wonderful breakfasts comprising of fresh locally sourced produce. Everything comes with a facinating background expanation, even the bread.

The house is decorated and furnished in a unique style, such that each room has it's own character and theme and the decor is at the same time both striking and appealing.

The rates are ridiculously cheap for what is on offer. This is more than B&B accomodation, and is an experience one seldom comes by on this earth. A veritable one-off.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jimmy_the_Celt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

I was in desperate need of a holiday, and Cape Town topped my list of places to go. The sea air and the beautiful mountain was just what I needed.

The moment I made my booking to stay at Bella Ev in Muizenberg, I knew this holiday was going to be unforgettable. I spoke to Mrs Sinclair, a warm, worldly woman with so much enthusiasm, I found it difficult to turn down her delightful invitation and description of her establishment.

When I arrived I was greeted with a breathtaking mountain view. Bella Ev is situated at the base of a mountain, and one is also lucky enough to have a view of the sea. Mrs Sinclair and her staff were wonderfully hospitable and helpful, taking a genuine interest in my trip and my stay in the city. It was an absolute pleasure to be greeted with such a hands-on owner! I was escorted to my bedroom, which was beautifully decorated, and I was delighted to find an en suite bathroom. I spent many luxurious nights soaking away my troubles in the spacious Victorian bathtub, before retiring to my king sized bed.

Every morning I enjoyed a delicious breakfast, specially prepared for me. Mrs Sinclair cooks very well, and often joined me for breakfast. We'd sit and chat about life, love and everything else! It was really great to interact with someone who showed so much interest in her guests. Her humour and anecdotes kept me laughing long after breakfast was over! I shall always carry her wise words and advice with me.

I love the sea, and in search of some serenity, I used to walk down to the beach everyday. It's only a 5-minute walk, and a great excuse to be outside in the sun. The fresh sea air truly is refreshing. I didn't have a car, but the train station was also just a walk away.

Restaurants are also very close to Bella Ev, and I ate out very often, but for an additional price per meal, Mrs Sinclair whipped up scrumptious dinners and/or lunches.

I also enjoyed mountain hikes, and many of the other guests staying at Bella Ev at the time, participated in various sports in the area, i.e. surfing, sailing, etc.

I spent a week at Bella Ev, enjoying the well-stocked library, stunning outside pool area, delicious meals and my luxurious room. But most of all, it was the warmth, hospitality and kindness of Mrs Sinclair and her staff that really made my stay completely blissful. Bella Ev has an old soul that makes her guests not want to leave. It's infused with the laughter and spirit of previous guests, and the memories of its owner.

Other guests staying there at the same time as me agreed that it was the best place they'd stayed in for a very long time, and made it a point to tell their friends, family members, and even complete strangers about Bella Ev!

The service I received was excellent. There was always someone willing to help and give me more information about whatever it was I was looking for.

I also feel like I made a friend for life. Mrs Sinclair and her kind spirit are very much like Bella Ev - worldy and full of life and love. We have kept in touch since I left, and her e mails always make me laugh, and to be honest, a little sad as well because I find myself longing for th comfort and security of Bella Ev. But my memories and pictures are enough to make me smile again, and remember how much I enjoyed my stay.

Affordable, beautiful, and full of spirit, Bella Ev is now my home away from home, and my ideal spot to relax, be pampered and completely unwind from the stresses of daily living.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Yash82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dndome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muizenberg hotels
1.5 mi away
Bluebottle Guesthouse
Bluebottle Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Muizenberg
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Muize Bed & Breakfast
The Muize Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 14 in Muizenberg
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Admiralty Bed & Breakfast
Admiralty Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 14 in Muizenberg
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Muizenberg Guestique
Muizenberg Guestique
#8 of 14 in Muizenberg
2 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stoked Backpackers
Stoked Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Muizenberg
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
African Soul Surfer
African Soul Surfer
#2 of 10 in Muizenberg
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Ev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Ev

Address: 8 Camp Road, Muizenberg 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Muizenberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Muizenberg
Price Range: £40 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Ev 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Ev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Ev Muizenberg, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing