We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, especially for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Overall a terrific place. Our studio suite was lovely and very comfortable. The bathroom has two sinks, and separate tub and shower. Our valley view was beautiful; I'm sure the Beaver Creek mountain view is even better, because the view from the pool area, which is that view, is spectacular. We loved just hanging out at the pool gazing out at the mountains. The Eagle river runs right alongside the back of the hotel and the path beside it is perfect for walking and biking. It continues for miles. Our only gripe is they need more shade at the pool. The hotel has been operating long enough for them to realize this and I don't understand why they haven't fixed this - they just need to add a few more umbrellas.

We were there in July and there were lots of kids at the pool. The resort has various size condos so it attracts families. Also a lot of dogs so must be dog friendly as well. There's a Westin kids' club and it looked like there were various activities for teenagers also. Friday night there is entertainment by the gondola and all the 35 and younger crowd from the entire valley shows up to socialize. A bit crazy but fun to watch.

Overall we loved this place and definitely plan to return, perhaps at a time of year when kids are in school so as to have a bit more quiet at the pool.

Room Tip: Loved the studio suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank txsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here for a 5-day summer family vacation, and it was really perfect for our party of 3 adults and two kids. The 3 bedroom suite was spacious and had the best views in the entire resort. It also had a large outdoor balcony which was amazing. We could have used a patio umbrella so that we could stay out there during the day for meals, etc.

The service is good, but not perfect. The concierge was the most helpful, providing us with a very comprehensive list of restaurants and activities. The valets are probably the hardest working of all the staff...our car was always ready when we needed it, and given the unusually small size of the driveway and the volume running through it, they managed to keep everyone pretty happy--good given that their daily valet parking rate is $20/day.

There were minor annoyances, such as my duplicate key card not working despite several attempts to re-link it, and our housekeeping staff person seeming to come to our room exactly when we returned from our morning outing to rest in our suite and put our toddler down to nap for the afternoon, which meant that her room was rarely serviced during our stay. (We informed the front desk each day as we were leaving for the morning that it would be great to have the room cleaned while we were out...but this seemed to have little effect.)

The Restaurant Avondale has beautiful views, and lovely interior. The food is very very good. The service is attentive, but overall is not as refined as a restaurant charging as much as they were should be. The waitstaff is friendly, but maybe inexperienced. Also, the atmosphere is very (almost too) casual (no dress code at dinner)...so much so that we saw parents and kids wearing sneakers and baseball hats into the dining room. (Maybe it was my east-coast sensibilities that were offended.)

The restaurant also provides the in-room dining at the resort, which is a huge plus. We ordered a few meals to the suite on nights when we didn't have a babysitter or didn't want to go out. The in-room dining menu has only some of the selections from the restaurant--which doesn't really make sense to me--but the "service express" staff were very accommodating, and allowed us to order items off the restaurant menu to be delivered in-room.

There are lovely shops downstairs in the lobby the Market Avondale is handy, and the Beaver Creek Sports shop is also great. We rented bikes and it was a great experience.

It did drive me a little crazy that there were no magazines or newspapers to purchase at the gift shop. I had to go out to the supermarket to get those. Also, when I went in search of the Sunday Times, the staff seemed to think I was being unreasonable to expect that they would have copies of them... This just might be a cultural thing...maybe most Westin guests prefer to be out biking rather than reading magazines by the pool or there are lots of Southerners who wouldn't read the New York Times...but the Ritz had lot of copies at the spa!

Pool area is very nice. We were there in July, so it would have been good to have a few more umbrellas for shade. Kids club was awesome. Our 4-year old really loved it, and the activities were very educational and engaging.

Overall, the location and setting cannot be beat. The food, excellent. We would definitely return for future vacations to Beaver Creek. The Westin is large and tries to please a lot of people, which is very typical of the brand. However, in doing so, some of the details get missed...but hey, if you're on vacation, that's ok! If you are a service snob, stay at the Ritz.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TECN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay here with another couple. We had a 1 bedroom suite with mountain views. The bed was very comfortable and it was useful to have laundry in the room to wash our clothes after our daily hikes. Pool and hot tubs were relaxing. My wife had several spa treatments at Spa Anjali and was very satisfied. We ate at restaurant Avondale for dinner one night and brunch another day. Both meals were very good. We picked up some quick breakfast items (breakfast burritos were delicious) from Cafe Avondale in the mornings before our activities and were satisfied with the available selections. The concierge was very courteous and helpful with making our plans each day. The only area that could stand for some improvement was the maid service. Although they did a great job, the rooms were never made up until late in the day. On check in we had to wait an hour before we were able to go to our room because they hadn't finished making it up (we arrived at 4:30). The valet parking tends to get crazy around dinner time so plan ahead especially if the hotel is busy. All in all, I would consider these items minor inconveniences on an otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wstfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Just returned from our second stay at the Westin, this time bringing our dog along. We've only stayed for a weekend, using the hotel as a base to enjoy some of the great cycling in the area. We had a studio room which is not huge, but is very comfortable. Of course the Westin Heavenly Beds are THE best!! They are so comfortable, it is amazing. Upon check-in, we were offered a Heavenly Bed for our dog : > ) She loved it, although it was too small for our Bernese Mtn Dog! We like the fact that you have a little kitchenette in the room - made it easy to have breakfast in the room. There were a few minor signs of wear and tear in the bathroom - missing shelf, electrical outlet that didn't work, but other than that, the room was great.

Some other reviewers questioned whether or not the property is a "resort". We are huge fans of the Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs....which is truly a resort property. It does seem like a bit of a stretch to call the Westin a resort given no tennis or golf and the smallish pool...but for what we wanted, it's perfect. The saline pool is fantastic! Great work-out room and big spa, although we didn't use either.

From a dog owner's perspective, it is perfect. Great big open space adjacent to the building, direct access to the walking path along the river, swimming in the river, nice bed....maybe they should bill it as a resort for dogs!

As others mentioned, your room rate is misleading because you will be charged $20/day for parking and $20/day for a resort fee. I don't know why hotels price their product this way because it seems to consistently irritate and offend customers...just put the resort fee in the price of the room and be done with it. The only complaint I'd have about the rooms is that the doors shut very loudly. There were several weddings in the hotel over the weekend with people going to their rooms after 2 am and each door closed with a slam.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspenannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a fantastic resort hotel! Great amenities! Be prepared for $20/night resort fee to show up on final bill. My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights with our dog. The Westin is a very dog friendly hotel, except for the fact that you can't let your dog use the grass right outside the lobby. The wine bar, Avondale Restaurant, and in-room dining are all worth it! Great place to stay for a vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotteorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdpryor, Front Office Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear Weddingorchid09,
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us along with your husband and dog. I hope that your dog enjoyed our Heavenly Dog Bed’s as much as you enjoyed your Heavenly bed. I hope that you were able to explore around the hotel a bit and head down the path right along the river with your pup. It sounds like you were able to take full advantage of all of the dining/bar options that we have to offer. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The rooms were huge, gorgeous and meticulously maintained. The public areas were wide open and accessible. Hotel was busy but never felt crowded. The staff were polite, accommodating and quickly new all of our names. Only minor glitch - Valet Only parking sometimes proved to be a huge bottleneck. We would come back here during any of the four seasons and just relax. A special place!

Room Tip: The 1-Bedroom Suites Were Tremendous Value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CujoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdpryor, Front Office Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear CujoDallas,
What a fantastic compliment, thank you for such high praise. We are so pleased to hear that the Westin is such a special place for you and your family, and that you could take full advantage of the resort. We are so excited for your next stay, whichever season that might be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at the Westin Riverfront for 9 days in a penthouse suite overlooking Beaver Creek, the Pool and the Avondale restaurant, the creek, etc. We had a full kitchen which helped a lot because we often stayed in and ate breakfast and then went biking or working right away. The dog was very comfortable here, but we were on a high floor so when possible, i would board the dog at a hotel recommended kennel /doggie day care called , "Walkin' the Dog". There was a creekside path just in front to walk the dog, go biking or jogging. The restaurant Avondale was one of the best meals we had in Beaver Creek in 9 days.

Room Tip: Go o VIN restuarant if you are in the hotel on a Sunday night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdpryor, Front Office Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear Mary3737,
We are so happy to receive your review of your great stay with us, and we hope that your dog was able to enjoy it as well with its own Westin Heavenly Bed. We find that our location is perfect for dogs, and that the whole Vail Valley tends to be pretty dog friendly. It is so nice to hear that you also enjoyed your meals at Avondale and some of the other great restaurants in the surrounding area. We hope that you pass through Beaver Creek in the future and we look forward to you next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
1.9 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
509 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
2.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Ln, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Avon
#2 Green Hotel in Avon
#2 Spa Hotel in Avon
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Avon
Price Range: £123 - £981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing