We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We are owners of 2 Starwood properties and I must say that this is the most beautiful resort in the continental US. Our view from our patio is simply gorgeous. The staff has been exceptionally friendly when it came to giving ideas on places or things to do. The rooms are definitely up to Starwood standard of excellence. Any Starwood owners need to add this to their list of places to definitely try.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRFManagement, Manager at The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for being a Starwood Owner. The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas is a beautiful resort with stunning views, and the mountains are a great place to be in the summer. Unlike other places, summer is not too hot, cool at night and some of the world’s best vistas. Sitting on the balcony and taking in the serenity of the river flowing past, and the colorful mountainside is an experience worth taking time out to enjoy. Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    50
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
85
80
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We are owners in the Villas and have been coming here for several years for Memorial week. In the past the conflict between the Westin side and the Hotel side of the resort made it difficult but they have really fixed that problem! The staff is some of the friendliest we have seen anywhere and the property is beautiful. Not real thrilled with the wrist band process at the pool (suggestion - do something nice in the check in package for the pool/spa usage so it feels special). Overall great resort!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRFManagement, Manager at The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Of course we are always striving for improvement and so it is really encouraging to know we have made progress on the conflict you noted in the past. Thank you for describing the property as beautiful, and complementing our friendly staff. For us, hearing comments like yours is motivating, it never gets old. We appreciate the feedback on the wrist band. I’m sure you know, the system was implemented to prevent outsiders, persons who are not guests staying in the Resort from using our facilities, and crowding our pool. Wrist bands may not be the long term permanent solution, rest assured we will change that policy as soon as we identify a better method.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
634 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed a week in a one bedroom villa facing the river. As per Westin standards, the rooms are top notch and have all the high end amenities one would expect. My wife loved the large shower with oversized shower head. We were here the middle of May, which is between seasons. Even though we were here a week, the best room we could get was on the ground floor - their excuse were the other rooms on the higher levels were all being deep-cleaned. Really? So that was a disappointment. We also had friends joining us later in the week, so we requested a room with an available attached studio. Of course, when the time came to reserve our attached studio for our friends, the unit was now unavailable, and they had to stay down the hall. So, we loved the property, but thought the front desk was less than par for this affluent a property. Not to mention the pool and spa were closed for renovation. So, make sure you check prior to coming regarding room availability and spa availability.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRFManagement, Manager at The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Obviously we are very happy to have you describe the rooms the way you did, and the fact your wife loved the oversized shower head. It is unfortunate on the timing of your stay that we could not accommodate your desire for a higher floor. We do take every villa out of service once per year, half in the spring the other half in the fall and so the explanation they gave you was accurate. We call them maintenance weeks, but it is the time we deep clean as well as paint, shampoo, scrub grout, maintain appliances and everything else we cannot do in between check-out and check-in. It sounds like there was an opportunity to assign your friends next door and we failed to act on it. We will address that with our team, we appreciate the feedback on that and again very sorry. It is regrettable on our part because we want every stay to be a great stay no matter what time of the year. The pool is on schedule to be completed for Memorial Day Weekend and the Spa mid-June. We are also in the process of adding a Starbucks franchise and hopeful to have that done, up and running in July. We hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We traveled the first week in May, so before we even got there we knew the pool and hot tubs would be closed and under construction and that the gondola would not be running yet for summer time and yet we had an amazing time!

The hotel itself is gorgeous, modern appliances, large rooms, very clean, quick service. Our rooms view overlooked the mountains (which I definitely would recommend because it is breathtaking).

The Service was outstanding. Chris at the front desk was very knowledgeable and introduced us to a GREAT place Sage (where we rode in mavericks around the mountain), and Meredith answered any question we had to ensure we had an amazing stay. The on site dining place, Maya, was a great place to kick back by the fire and at happy hour -they make strong drinks and great food!

Next time we come back - I will be sure that the pool area is open - that would have made the trip.

Room Tip: get mountain view rooms- worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityChic9811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRFManagement, Manager at The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are very proud of our Westin and thrilled to have you describe it as gorgeous. Our associates try hard to deliver a great experience, and we spend a lot of time working with associates to perfect the delivery. It is great to hear your comments about Chris and Meredith; both are really awesome in their role. The pool and spa improvements are on track to be complete very soon, although we must note the Gondola is only operational for high ski season, mid-December through early April. We do hope you get a chance to come visit us again, of course when the pool is operational which as of now looks like it will be for Memorial Day weekend. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Westin Riverfont at the end of the ski season (last week of March). I arrived at the hotel around 11pm and check in was simple and easy. Since I'm a Starwood Gold member, I asked about a possible late check-out. Technically, guests in the villas are not granted a late check out past 12noon, but the desk clerk told me to call the night before and they may be able to accommdodate me (I did call the night before our departure and since no one was checking into our villa the hotel did grant us a 2pm departure). I valet the vehicle thinking that was the only option for the hotel and villas, but I was wrong. Since I was staying in a villa, there is a separate self parking area in the underground garage for guest to park their vehicles. This made it a lot easier since I was in and out of the villa running to the market and picking people up from the airport.

I reserved a 1 bedroom villa that was very spacious. I particularly like the fact that the unit had a washer and dryer. Housekeeping came everyday to tidy up the unit. Our villa was in a separate building from the main hotel, so if we wanted to use the pool or the fitness center, you had to walk outside and cross a small walk way. By the way, the fitness center is very large by hotel standards.

Getting up to the mountain was easy. We took a short gondola ride to Beaver Creek landing and then took the Lower Beaver Creek express chairlift. If you need to go to ski school in Beaver Creek Village, you can take the gondola and catch the bus (it's basically the parking lot shuttle bus) to the village. If I recall, the bus made about 3 stops in various parking lots before it headed the BC Village. There is also another city bus that runs through Avon which you can catch near the hotel (about 1 short block), but it runs about every 20 minutes.

We had a wonderful stay at the Westin Beaver Creek and would definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRFManagement, Manager at The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Your review is incredibly detailed, thank you for taking the time to share. The insight you provide will clearly benefit anyone who may be coming to our Resort for the first time. We are thrilled you had a fantastic stay, and welcome the opportunity to have you stay again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Riverfront Mountain Villas are spectacular. Every convenience is there for you. The villas are large, well furnished and equipped with the finest appliances. Ski rentals are available next door and the Gondola is just off the back of the building. Bus service to Vail is just steps away should you choose Vail over Beaver Creek for the day. Manager Michael Fields will do everything he can to make your stay enjoyable. The only problem is getting in. There are only 32 units and demand is high.

Room Tip: Try for a Mountainside room for maximum views
See more room tips
Green Features: Green soap shaped like a leaf and biodegradable shampoos are just part of the package.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leighton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRFManagement, Manager at The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Wow, we couldn’t have paid someone to write a better review. Thank you so much. As you may / may not have been aware the Villa building is a Starwood Vacation Ownership Property and so a significant amount of the time was sold and the inventory is held for these owners to enjoy what they purchased. I would tell you to buy, but unfortunately we have no inventory to offer in this location. Of course, as you know we do some rentals as well. You can find more information about us online at starwoodvacationnetwork.com, or locally here at the Resort in our Westin Vacation Sales Gallery. Once again, thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

CONS: 1) We got there on April 5th, and the gondola from the Westin to Beaver Creek chair lift closed the next day? Why? It was snowing, there was a bunch of snow still, and the resort didn't close until April 20th? 2) Saw some very negative reviews about fan noise under the gondola. Didn't hear it until the end of our trip, while we were walking along the river. It was extremely loud. Don't get a room near this fan! Somebody messed up with the fan noise. Don't know what it is, as the gondola was not running. 3) Beaver Creek Ski Resort is OK for beginner or intermediate skier. Extremely over-priced lift tickets at Beaver Creek (twice the cost of Mammoth Mt. in CA, which is like 4 times bigger and way better), so we went to Vail (8 miles away) for the rest of the trip. SHOCKED and DISGUSTED that Vail charges $25 per day for parking. I strongly suggest that the Westin have a free shuttle that maybe leaves at 9 a.m. to Vail, and returns at 3:30 or 4 p.m. back to the Westin. We won't stay at the Westin again because no free shuttle to Vail. Yes, there is a bus, that charges $4 each person, each way, but it was a hassle and $$$. 4) We got an email a few months prior, that the pool was closing. Don't know why the Westin didn't wait until Spring break (for a lot of schools still) was over, and start construction on April 21st. That was OK with us, as we went to the Avon Rec. Center nearby with water slide, lazy river, pools with tickets provided by Westin. Thank you. 5) Very boring hotel for young teens. They should have a game room with pool table, ping pong tables, video games, etc. Kids can't use gym until they are 16. NOTHING for parents to do with young teen at this hotel. PROS: 1) nice hotel, great view of the river and Beaver Creek. 2) We stayed in a Villa with kitchen, which was fantastic! Money saved on not eating out though went to Vail parking. 3) Convenient parking garage. Drove in, parked next to elevator, went right up to our villa. 4) Away from other hotels. It was sometimes quiet, but we heard a bunch of street traffic (cars/buses heading up to Beaver Creek).

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiSandLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WRFManagement, Manager at The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
The Gondola is owned and operated by Vail Resorts, the same people that sold you your lift tickets for both Beaver Creek and Vail. Actually Beaver Creek lift tickets are good for Vail and vice versa. Many of our guests choose, sometimes all in the same day, to enjoy both mountains. The Gondola does not operate the full ski season, it never has. It opens about the 2nd week of December and closes early April each year. The reason for this is the Gondola takes you from the hotel to Bachelor Landing where you can either catch chair 15 and go straight up the mountain or take a bus from there to Beaver Creek Village. The terrain serviced by Chair 15 is usually one of the later areas of the mountain to open and one of the first to close. Hence the Gondola operates in line with Chair 15, as hotel guests can catch a bus to Beaver Creek by just walking across the street from the hotel. The pool schedule work started when it did so that we could have it open for the first big weekend of the summer season, Memorial Day, and it looks like we are on track. Thank you for acknowledging the villas in such a positive way. The full kitchens are really great, the washer/dryer a big plus, especially the dryer after a long day on the slopes!! Finally, we are acutely aware of the fan noise you heard, it’s a priority to find a better solution and the resort has engaged the services of architects and engineers to address this issue. We hope to have a fix before the high summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
2.1 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
1.8 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 7 in Avon
562 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#6 of 18 in Beaver Creek
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas

Property: The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas
Address: 218 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beaver Creek Hotel and Resort is located near Avon offering convenient access to Beaver Creek Mountain Ski Resort and the Vail Valley. Our villa resort offers spacious studio or one and two-bedroom villas that comfortably accommodates as many as eight adults in up to 1,330 square feet. Each stylish villa features private balconies or patios in front of gas fireplaces, fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas Hotel Avon
The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing