We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About what was expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“About what was expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here in prime of ski season- the first week of March. This was our second trip to Beaver Creek as we stayed at the Charter in 2013 and given the price we paid last year for our room ( we skied the third week of March and paid a reasonable 230 a night) we were unwilling to pay the price this year.

The room at the Comfort Inn, taxes in was about 169 per night on a AAA rate. In off season our room would have been about 40 a night.

The room was clean and had a microwave and fridge however that is about the best thing about our stay. I am not a picky traveler nd have traveled all over the world and but I do expect a property to be maintained. The hot tub, if you call it that was green and I could not believe people were hanging out in it. All the luggage carts have flat tires. the building doors and hallways are run down and need a face lift. They didn't even have a wine bottle opener available at the front desk. These are easy fixes that could go a long way. There is nothing really to write about in terms of amenities and it is crazy that they charge a five dollar resort charge- this is by no means a resort. It is a budget hotel at best.

We had a room at the end of the hall so the door to the stairs was banging all night as people were using it and allowing the doors to slam.

the local buses do come often to take you to the ski hill and the hotel does have a very limited breakfast that is included in the price of the stay.

The next time we stay in Beaver Creek we will be biting the bullet on the price and making a return to the Charter.

Room Tip: Away from the stairs and fire exit doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharMabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily R, General Manager at Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for sharing with us your less than favorable experience. We were sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectation. Please rest assured that your concerns are being addressed and your voice has been heard. We certainly hope that upon your return to the Vail area, you will give us a chance to change your feeling about our hotel! Please contact us directly to allow us to accommodate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    151
    73
    29
    19
See reviews for
108
98
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Josie is an outstanding employee, she and the manager give excellent service! Great place to stay. Great Value and great location if you want to stay near Beaver Creek to ski! Peter is a great manager.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
600 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

An affordable place to stay during peak ski season! We've splurged on 3 different luxurious hotels in Beaver Creek this winter season, so on our final trip we decided to go the budget route.

Front desk staff was present but rather brusque - the reason I subtracted a star - during both of my interactions with them (afternoon and next morning). At least the cleaning staff was friendly.

Our room was basic but it was spacious and clean with granite countertops, mini fridge, coffee maker. WiFi worked great. The next morning we found a decent breakfast with scrambled eggs, hardboiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, sausage & gravy, and make-your-own waffles. The dining area was also actually quite nice.

The location was central and within walking distance to all that was happenin' in Avon, including several nice restaurants, Walgreens, and Winter Wonderfest. Even though I-70 was really close, we didn't hear it, but we definitely heard a barking dog in the corridor for a couple minutes before the owner thankfully made it stop. Parking is free in the private lot. However, they did give us a paper tag with dates to be displayed during our stay, which led me to think they're only allowing 1 car per room...? Also learned that if you book a reservation through a third party, they won't be able to enter in your Choice Privileges membership number. We didn't use the hot tub or the pool.

Overall, this Comfort Inn was pretty much everything we expected, and for the price we'll definitely keep it in mind for future ski trips!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The greater Vail valley is quite pricey, but the Comfort Inn in Avon often has excellent rates. Great location on the bus route, across the street from the Sheraton resort. Easy walk/bus to restaurants. Rooms decent size. Nice outdoor pool and hot tub. The facility is dated, has been somewhat remodelled. But definitely clean and comfortable, and for the area a great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great hotel for the price. Stayed here 4 times over the last 2 years during ski season, most recently 2 weeks ago. Remember this is Avon/Beaver Creek, usually not a cheap area during ski season, still a great value. Especially if you get a deal on Hotwire. This is a Comfort Inn, not the Sher....or West.., manage your expectations as you’re paying much less. For a 2* star property this has definitely exceeded expectations. That is why I come back. Rooms are in separate building than lobby/breakfast as mentioned in other reviews; most don't come to this area to stay inside. Nice clean furnished (remember Comfort Inn 2* not 4*), relatively large room sizes, never really had issue/problem with free wireless, flat screen tv, and like the included 2* hot breakfast items. Ask for mountain view vs. I70 highway view if you can. I’m giving a 4* rating based on how I perceive it this 2* star hotel met/exceeded my expectations.

Can walk to many restaurants/retail in Avon and City Market grocery.
Never had a car here.Easy free shuttle Beaver Creek village/restaurants. Although I always walk from Comfort Inn to Gondola at base next to Westin when skiing Beaver Creek, this is easily done when short cutting thru a couple parking lots. Easy distance if you're not too old or traveling with little ones! :) Walk to pay Eagle County $4 bus ride to Vail. Again cut thru same parking lot used for beaver creek gondola, shorter distance to ECO bus stop. Only about 20-30 minutes ride to Vail, $7 non-stop express.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom31213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
na
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Good location - on the bus route. Good size rooms - plenty of space for all the ski gear. Excellent price. My only complaint is that the internet wifi based access was horrible - unstable, extremely slow at times, etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nana019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reno
Level Contributor
182 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Unfortunately, I did not get a great deal on the room price as did the earlier review. Still, it was one of the lowest rates I could find. Stayed for 5 nites. I disagree that Bob's Place is directly across the street--I would say it is across the street but one building to the east (Lodge at Avon bldg).

About a 10-15 minute drive from here to Vail. Note that parking for a day in Vail costs about $25.

Ski area reports for Vail, Beaver Creek, Breckenridge, and Keystone are posted at reception desk in the morning.

Note that the reception/breakfast room is in a separate building from the hotel rooms--a little confusing for first time visitors. Nice to have local newspaper, USA Today, AND Wall Street Journal available in breakfast room.

Directly across the street (I think it is the Sheraton bldg) there is a ski shop--got skis waxed and tuned overnight for only $25--a good deal! They were ready for pickup when the shop opened at 8am.

Guest laundry room had 2 washers 2 dryers, about $1.50 each. They were available when I wanted to use them. Bring quarters.

The hotel fitness room has elliptical, recumbent bike, and treadmill--no weights. If you want something more extensive, the Avon Recreation Center is only about a block away on Lake Street. it has an indoor lap pool, cardio equip, weights, and fitness classes. There is indoor kids pool with a slide and some play features. Visitors can pay a day rate of $14 and $2 more if you want a towel. Classes are $3 each for drop-ins. Pretty neat!

A couple times housekeeping missed a couple things, but hard to complain with the affordable price.

If you are doing skier drop-off at Beaver Creek, I recommend going to the Beaver Creek Landing. Even on a Saturday morning about 8-8:15am, there was plenty of space in the drop-off area and no line at the ticket counter or lifts (yet). The only bummer was that the ticket office did not open until 8:30. I did skier pick-up at the Westin--it was a little more awkward because the skier drop--off/pick-up area was farther away from the lift.

As mentioned in earlier reviews, the Avon shuttle stops here.

Nearest car wash is one exit west of here (exit 163 on I-70) at the Shell station.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reno1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.2 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 7 in Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#9 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Inn and Suites at Riverwalk
7.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#23 of 31 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek

Property: Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
Address: 0161 W Beaver Creek Boulevard, PO Box 5510, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located minutes from ski areas of Vail, Beaver Creek, Bachelor Gulch and Arrowhead. Free ski shuttle to Beaver Creek. Stay includes a FULL HOT breakfast buffet, year-round outdoor heated pool / hot tub, state of the art fitness room, FREE WIFI. Pet-friendly and within walking distance to area restaurants and shopping. Beautiful river rock fireplace in cozy lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek Hotel Avon
Beaver Creek Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Avon
Avon Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Beaver Creek
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek Avon, CO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing