We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok.....at best”
Review of Falcon Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falcon Point
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
columbus ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ok.....at best”
Reviewed 27 June 2007

Our family just returned from a stay at Falcon Point. We exchanged Marriotts Barony Beach Club for this resort. The good, bad, and the ugly....
1. Beautiful setting, great weather, plenty for families to do (bring your pocket-book, things are not cheap). Our family did white water rafting, horseback riding, Glenwood Springs Adventure Park, hiking, etc. We stayed in a two-bedrom which was very roomy for 4 people. It had an updated kitchen with granite counters, stainless steel appliances. Great location for just about everything in the Vail Valley.

2. Roomy, but decor just ok. We are used to Marriott standards. However, it was VERY CLEAN. Now the bad....When we arrived we were told the indoor pool, the outdoor pool, and the game room were all closed due to refurbishment. What????You have got to be kidding me. We have two kids, they were not happy. However, they did issue daily passes to the Avon Rec center which was accessed by walking out our back patio door and walking about 100 feet. The rec center was great. Kids had access to lap pool, diving boards, lazy river, slide, kiddie area. The pools are indoors, but this was a nice alternative, and from nosing around a bit, I think the rec center was a better alternative than the small pool they are refurbishing.

3. The ugly.......The beds are HORRIBLE. If you have any kind of back problems do NOT stay at this place. They are the worst beds I have ever experienced. I never had decent sleep. However, my husband, who travels quite a bit told me they were standard hotel grade beds. Whatever, I am still trying to work out the kinks in my back. Also, FYI, the second bedroom had a twin and a queen, not two queens.

4. Overall, I would go back to Colorado to vacation in the Vail Valley, beautiful, not disappointed at all, but I would stay somewhere else. Down the street is the Sheraton Mountain Vista, and from the outside, looked much better. For you timeshare exchangers, II rates this a five-star. Trust me, It is NOT. I would rate it a 3 star at best.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank picktownmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    54
    16
    2
    7
See reviews for
40
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

Falcon Point is situated on a small, picturesque lake circled by a paved recreational trail for biking, walking, jogging, or just strolling along and enjoying the view. During our stay, we very much enjoyed picnicking down at the shady tables by the lake and renting paddle boats for a turn on the water. Additionally, there is a park with a playground and a rec center adjacent where you can work out and swim in the indoor pool (as of 23 June 2007, the pool at FP was still closed for refurbishment).

Our family stayed in a studio unit, which was all that was available, and which we can only describe as adequate. Although the tiny foyer/kitchenette was better-stocked with appliances and kitchen items than the average efficiency, ours was outdated and dark, with peeling, laminate counters and cabinets. The bath was nice, with a large (non-jetted) soaking tub. The room slept 3, with a full-size bed and a pull-out loveseat for a single. Additionally, there's a small table/desk with two chairs. Overall, the small unit was clean and adequately functional.

Here's the rub: our one small window overlooked a humongous trash dumpster and the parking lot. How frustrating to be vacationing in such a beautiful setting only to look out upon asphalt and piles of rubbish!! Due to the unseasonably warm June weather we needed to keep the window open, but were awakened early by noise from the lot (including cars bottoming out as they came up the steep drive from the parking garage), construction noise, and the lacrosse tournament taking place in the adjacent park. However, while the parking lot side of this property is ghetto like that, the lake side is breathtaking. The most important recommendation I have to anyone considering this resort is to book a unit with a lake view!!!

On the morning we left, we popped our heads in to the 2 bedroom end-unit next door and were amazed that it was even on the same property. It was roomy and lovely with an updated kitchen, large dining table, and comfy family lounge area with a stone fireplace. It also included a good-sized balcony and plenty of windows overlooking Nottingham lake... a completely different universe from the tiny flat just next door.

Our interactions with the staff were curiously fraught with either outstanding friendliness or downright rudeness. At times they were eager to please, at other times they seemed bothered by the mere presence of customers. At one point, a staff member came right out and stated that 'Owners' are their first priority when it comes to doing their jobs. That's great for owners, but not so much if you plan on doing an exchange through Interval International (as we did). Making any type of request was like reaching into a bag of Bertie Bots Every Flavour Bean -- maybe you'll get Strawberry Jelly, but beware the Toe Jam!!

Falcon Point provides one mid-week housekeeping service; otherwise, guests make due with one set of towels per person for several days, pay extra for towel service, or use the coin-operated laundry facility at $3 per load. Also, keep in mind that this property maintains a very strict policy of issuing ONE parking pass per party. It doesn't matter whether you are a party of two staying in a studio or a party of six in a two-bedroom -- bring only one vehicle or they will tow. If you are faced with this dilemma, you may park your car at Wal-Mart and shuttle back.

The area is perfect for a summer getaway with its fabulous weather, several quaint shopping and dining establishments at Beaver Creek Resort (at the foot of the ski area) and Vail Village, and a plethora of recreational options (fishing, horse riding, rafting, biking, hiking, etc). For those who wish to avoid playing chicken in their cars through the ubiquitous round-a-bouts, public transit is easily accessible. We had a great time and will definitely return to the Vail Valley.

  • Liked — Great location on lake.
  • Disliked — The parking lot view.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amelia505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2007

We were less than impressed with our studio and our stay at Falcon Point. Others in our group had a one bedroom and a two bedroom. The larger units were much nicer, definitely worth the price difference, but none were available during our stay. Our studio was very plain, had no ambiance and was very small. It was just a basic motel room with a small outdated kitchen. However, we could have tolerated the room; but in addition, we found most of the staff to be very unfriendly and rude. They were put out by simple requests and made it clear that they did not want to be bothered. When we asked for an extra pool towel and bath towel (we were not given enough for the number of people staying in our room even though I told them how many people would be in our room when I made the reservation and we were not exceeding the max # of guests for our room), they told me that they would have to charge us extra for more towels. Also beware if you are traveling with a group and staying in one unit. They are strict about only giving one parking pass per unit regardless of the size of the unit. We were there on a very slow weekend. The parking lot was empty and they refused to give us an extra pass for additional people even though another person with our group had a two bedroom (which sleeps 2-3 couples comfortably). Not only did they refuse, but they were rude, argued with us and threatened to tow our vehicles. There were signs posted throughout the property with various rules and regulations that were unique to this property, very unfriendly and did not make us feel like welcome guests. We would not recommend this property. As frequent travelers to the Colorado mountains and Vail Valley, we will not return to this property. This was our worst (and only bad) experience encountered. If you are looking for a timeshare, we would NEVER consider a timeshare with this company. There are lots of other great choices in the area. As a final insult, on our last night (while I was writing this review), the power went out. We tried to call the front desk several times and no one answered. Thankfully, we were here to see family and the value of being with our family far outweighed the inconveniences of this property. Our family will choose to have our annual get-togethers somewhere else.

  • Liked — Being with family
  • Disliked — Rudeness of staff
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank swancm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

We found our room to be spacious (just right for us), and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The view was inspiring as well, because we could look out upon the mountains and Nottingham Lake. We enjoyed the breakfast served to guests on Saturday morning and the apres-ski party, too. I used the computer in the clubhouse, and we made use of the hot tub. The location was handy for walking. The only suggestion I made to staff was that they continue their lobby coffee service into the afternoon, and perhaps add a hot chocolate option. Cold skiers would appreciate it! We will definitely stay there again, and are also considering purchasing a week with the Falcon Point Resort. Go there! You'll have a great time!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank somereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oc, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2006

Our family spent the week after Thanksgiving at Falcon Point this year, and we loved it!

The resort was very nicely decorated, we had a fantastic amount of space in our room, a patio, where our kids were able to play in the snow, it was just fantastic.

The staff was excellent as well. Everyone was very nice and they even have activities for families and a children's night activity, where parents can leave their children to have fun while the parents get some time off.

We loved it.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank funfam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2006

Stayed last July 4th week and the resort is excellent.
Spectacular fireworks over the lake and 70 degree crystal clear days and 40 degree nights. One bedroom unit was in exceptional condition with all new furniture, carpet and appliances. The staff is very friendly and welcoming and the resort is very convenient to both Beaver Creek (5 minutes) and Vail (10 to 15 minutes). The pool and 2 spas are very nice and private. There is outside parking and an underground parking. There was an elevator to take us to our unit on the 5th floor. The unit had beautiful views of the mountains which still had some snow on them. The resort is on Nottingham Lake which has a nice hiking trail around it and the 4th of July fireworks in Avon were right out the backdoor over the lake. It was one of the best fireorks displays we ever attended anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 November 2004

My family & I stayed at the Falcon Point for a week in Feb. 2004 and are going back in Feb 2005. We were treated very warmly by the staff at this resort. They went out of their way to make us welcome. The accomodations were tops! The resort has it all. The rooms were large( 1 Bedroom sleeps 4 easy) Falcon Point has everything you would need to stay for a week or longer. 2 hot tubs, swimming and a work out room. Game room and alot more .I would recommed Falcon Point to anyone who is looking into buying a timeshare in this area. The town of Avon and Beaver Creek ski areas are beautiful !!. Better skiing then Vail.

Helpful?
33 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.3 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#5 of 9 in Avon
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.2 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Beaver Creek
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Mountain Vista Villas, Avon / Vail Valley
0.4 mi away
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Point

Property: Falcon Point
Address: 175 Lake Street, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Point 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falcon Point Resort is located next to Nottingham Lake in Avon, Colorado. We are a timeshare property with Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom units, all of our units have kitchens. We have a family style clubhouse with a small gym, men's and women's restrooms, a large TV room with pool table, ping pong and foosball. Our pool is a swim in and out along with two hot tubs and 2 BBQ grills for our guests. Come visit us year-round for the many activities Colorado has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falcon Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Point Hotel Avon
Falcon Point Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing