We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth The Visit” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avon Bakery & Deli

Avon Bakery & Deli
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

After reading the rave reviews about this bakery, I thought we had found a gem but was highly disappointed. Lunch may be a totally different story but the breakfast was a joke. You might as well find a Panera, it would at least be served with a smile. We ordered anything from a bagel with salmon to egg sandwich on a roll. Everything came in a aluminum box with plastic lid and tasted like it was microwaved. Home fries were blah and the croissants just tasted like a stick of butter, no light fluffy, delicately sweet flavor. We were hoping for delicious fresh baked pastries or donuts and a reasonably priced breakfast but only found disappointment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nwctchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    78
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Be patient, the food is worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We know we will always have to wait when we order lunch here, but it is soooo worth it. The organic freshly baked bread and natural ingredients make their sandwiches the best. We've learned to call our order in and they usually have it ready for us to pick up. Then we take it to the lacrosse field at Nottingham Park and feast!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claudia33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My Go To Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I love this place! My go to spot for lunch and a pastry when we come up to Avon. Perfect to grab a quick snack for the kiddos and set off for an adventure. Can be crowded if you are looking to sit and eat but we always take it to go. The service is fast and the people are friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mountainclimber24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very busy at lunchtime!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

There's a reason this place has long lines at lunchtime -- great sandwiches with delicious, fresh-made bread, daily specials, lots of options for sides (fruit cups, pasta salad, etc.) and lots of choices for kids meals, which even include brownies. We went with a large group so there was a bit of a wait, and not enough seating, so we took our lunch to go. But if you want a nice, healthy lunch with fresh ingredients, this is the place to go if you don't need table service and a waiter. To avoid the long lines, don't go between 11:30 and 1:00.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marisa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Much too expensive for the quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I'm always trying to find a delicious breakfast spot to get a good breakfast sandwich for $5. I called ahead and ordered a egg, tomato and cheese (note: no breakfast meat) and walked out of the door paying almost $9!!! They charged extra for the tomato (close to $1) AND extra for the bagel ($1)! I'm floored but was hungry and excited to eat this delicious sandwich. Nope. Bagel was burned, sandwich was so flat it looked like a truck ran over it and I would be surprised if they used 1 whole egg. This place is a rip off. They are falling into the world of "let's make everything the cheapest way possible and charge double".

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hazzy724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avon Bakery & Deli also viewed

 
Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Avon Bakery & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing