We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay off season”
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Christie Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We found the staff to be very nice and helpful. It was probably only 1/4 full the week we were there, which was nice. We are used to having a kitchenette in our time-shares, so we found the 'kitchen' at the Christie Lodge a bit challenging, but we made do. There is only a 1/2 size fridge, no stove and a hot plate. But with all the great restaurants in the area, this is no problem. The bed was very comfortable and there is a small deck. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ground floor will save you steps...there is only one elevator. Try and get a south facing room, awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your comments! Our 1 Bedroom Suites average 420 square feet and provide our guests with a full sized microwave, coffee maker, dishwasher, small refrigerator and toaster. We also offer crock-pots and electric skillets free of charge upon request. Hope you had a safe trip home and we hope to have you back soon.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We use a relative's summer timeshare at the Christie Lodge to visit this area every few years. Avon is a small place so one can walk from the Lodge to most restaurants and what few attractions exist here. The Lodge is clean and well-maintained and has a bike-rental shop that operates out of a storefront on the bottom floor. The room we get is small, probably a reflection of what our relative paid for the timeshare arrangement, and comes with a queen bed and a hide-a-bed couch, microwave, bar-size frigo, and coffee maker, plus some dishes and dinner ware. Two TV sets, as well. It does not have installed AC; rather, there is a free-standing unit in the main room and a ceiling fan over the bed. The concierge, Kathy, knows what she's talking about and can help you. There is a Monday night happy hour meet-and-greet at which cheeses, crackers, and bad wine are served (a free headache comes with a single glass) and where local tour operators extol their services; this is a plus for first-timers. There is a public hot tub and spa, and two pools. No one comes to this area to hang at the hotel, and this place serves as a good place to crash after hiking, biking, and enjoying the day.

Tip unrelated to the Lodge: one can visit the Betty Ford Alpine Gardens in Vail seven days a week, but on Sunday there is also a Farmers' Market right down the street from the Gardens. We recommend both.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BearSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. Our staff works very hard to make sure our guests have the best stay possible. We are truly honored to have the Betty Ford Alpine Garden and the Gerald Ford Amphitheater close by and the Farmer's Market is always a treat.

Hope to see you again soon.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at Christie Lodge from 8/6/ 13 for one week and it was outstanding from check-in to check-out, Adam and Big Long Tall were a hive of information; and the location was perfect. We would highly recommend Christies as a base to discover the Vail valley and beyond.Lots of good eating places ,and super- market on the door step.


Giuseppe Porco

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank testarosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christie L, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for the kind response! Our staff works very hard to accommodate our guest’s needs to make sure they have the best stay possible. We hope to see you again soon.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very clean, close to all attractions, staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Will definitely stay here again when in Avon/Beaver creek area. 5 stars!! All rooms are air conditioned, something that is not common for this area. you are able to close sliding glass door and enjoy a quiet night's sleep!!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as they have installed new sliding glass doors and all rooms are now air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flybear36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christie L, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments! We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's stay and have recently added air-conditioning in all of our living rooms and replaced all of the sliding glass doors. We are looking forward to having you back in the future.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

What more could you want.

Transportation to the best ski hills in the area. (Vail and Beaver Creek).

Subway attached for lunch or breakfast.

Avon is a nice town with lots of restaurants and stores nearby.

3 bedrooms suit was very comfortable.

Several hot tubs and swimming pool inside.

Staff super pleasant.

I am going back next ski season for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crazycanucktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here through our timeshare and I was pleasantly surprised. The main entrance was nice, and the staff was very welcoming! Check-in was a breeze and I was off to my room. Disadvantages, only one elevator. I don't mind, as exercise is good, but I felt that I was distracting guests by lugging up my suitcase.
Room was oddly laid out, as you walk in to the bedroom and the living area was past it. I was perplexed at first, but then went out to the balcony and, wow what a view!!! The room could use a little updating, but beds were comfortable and I really enjoyed the stay!
Close to a lot! I am not a skier, and they had just closed down the slopes for the season, until we got about 3 feet of snow! We walked to Pazzos Pizza, great food and atmosphere! Then over to Bobs bar, again awesome!
Would I return to Christie Lodge??? In a heartbeat!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharien1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The staff is exceptionally nice, great check in, very helpful. The rooms are ok, kind of dated. The beds are comfy but the way they have the units set up, you have to walk through the only bedroom to get to the kitchen/living room. And, if anyone so much as sneezes while walking by your room at night, you hear it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#7 of 18 in Beaver Creek
559 reviews
2 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#8 of 18 in Beaver Creek
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#3 of 18 in Beaver Creek
524 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
7.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 31 in Vail
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Address: 47 E Beaver Creek Blvd, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5406
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Price Range: £79 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer, two flat screen TV's, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid's activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing