We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family lodging with a few issues.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Christie Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good family lodging with a few issues.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Christy Lodge over Spring Break 2014. Rooms were clean and updated and the shuttle service to BC Village was great. The hotel has a ski shop in lobby. It also has a Subway and Vietnamese restaurant. It has a large open atrium area that runs the length of the lodge. In the area it has hot tubs, an indoor pool, fireplaces, ping pong tables and vending machines. It also has outdoor hot tub and pool. Kids loved it. That is nice, but it has faults. The hot tubs caused our room to have a distinct mildew smell. We were on third floor, so I am not sure if it was worse there compared with other floors. There was no way to control thermostat in room. The room would get very hot in the middle of the night. There is also a lot of stairs and only one elevator. If you have problems with stairs I would recommend a room on the first floor. If we go back we would get a room on first floor and away from the hot tubs. The customer service was excellent!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor may be best for people that need to avoid stairs. Our third floor room was mild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellenChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    232
    104
    46
    45
See reviews for
213
194
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here long term during the ski season, and I wish I had gone through the trouble of moving to the other end of the hotel away from the indoor pool. 90% of evenings, the pool is occupied by screaming children. They close the pool at 9PM, so if you like to relax in the bedroom (which faces the atrium) before then, you're SOL.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

It seems a little outdated but it is clean and convenient. Within walking distance to many stores and restaurants. Kept clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. There is a new rec center near by with an amazing pool with slide and lazy river.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We recently spent a long weekend in the Beaver Creek/Vail area and stayed at the Christie Lodge. This is a nice hotel, and one of the better values in the area. When looking at accommodations, we were surprised at some of the prices - $400, $500, $600 per night. We couldn't bare to spend that much money especially knowing that we would be spending very little time in our room. So after reading some of the reviews, we chose the Christie Lodge, and it was very nice. It's a ittle old and the decor is outdated, but the rooms/suites are very nice, and the layout of the hotel is interesting…a bit of a courtyard design with fireplaces, hot tubs, ping pong tables…definitely good for families. It also has a very nice location with lots of restaurants in walking distance as well as the free shuttle that takes you right up the mountain to the Beaver Creek Ski area. If you are traveling on a budget and just need a decent place to stay, the Christie Lodge will fit the bill. And let me add, the people and service was really quite exceptional!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view overlooking the mountains. We did and we were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leannekmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I had an excellent stay at Christie Lodge.  I like the new open outdoor pool area (I have stayed with you a couple years back before this was modified).  The front desk staff were very helpful, and I had a lot of questions they were able to answer.  They were also very nice about charging up my phone many times because my phone charger broke.  The sports store in the hotel is a real plus for convenience and the team there was also very knowledeable and helpful.  The rooms are cozy and I really appreciated the fireplace and kitchenette. There is a free breakfast with sales information if you're not hitting the slopes support early. Some days the wifi was weaker than others...I'm not sure what causes that but maybe a stronger wifi connection could be a plus.  The common game area is great for kids and the in house subway sandwich shop was convenient. Walgreen's across the street was also convenient. The concierge gave me very good advice.  I was able to do a moonlight snowshoe tour and the ladies ski tour that were advertized on the weekly events page and explained to me by the concierge desk.  This location is not slopeside so you will have to drive or take the bus to beaver Creek (10 min) or vail (25 min) but I prefer the bus anyway so I can do apre ski. Michele

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
307 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent 6 weeks at Christie Lodge during January and February. It is absolutely the best value in the Vail/Beavercreek area if someone wants to ski. I have stayed at several resorts in the area. The staff is so friendly and they cannot do enough to please the guest. The bus picks up at the front door and will take skiers to Beavercreek or Vail. The bus does charge a fee for Vail, but it is still cheaper than trying to park in Vail. Seniors only pay $1.00 each way to Vail. The rooms were updated about 3 years ago with new furniture and mattresses for the bed. The rooms are compact and really work best for only 2 people, but the rates are so good that each couple can afford their own unit. Christie Lodge is a timeshare facility, therefore rooms are not cleaned daily. There is a midweek cleaning which a lot of well known timeshare hotels in the area do not provide. On Monday night there is a cheese and snack party for people to get acquainted and learn about some of the things to do in the area.

The hotel has 3 indoor hot tubs, one indoor pool, and a large outdoor pool and outdoor hot tub. The chemicals in the outdoor hot tub is chlorine while the indoor tubs have bromine to cut down on the smell. I am allergic to bromine and I have found that the Christie Lodge hot tub is one of the very few in the "high country" that I can enjoy. There are ping pong tables and other activities that children can enjoy. Lots of nice lounging areas for reading and enjoying time with friends.

There is a grocery within walking distance as well as some other retail stores. There are several restaurants within within walking distance. There is an excellent Vietnamese restaurant in the hotel and also a Subway in the building.

The cooking facilities are limited with an electric skillet, crock pot and microwave, and a small fridge. Although cooking is a challenge I am able to cook most meals with the limited facilities.

We have been coming to the area for over 10 years and have stayed at a lot of the hotel/timeshares in the region. Christie Lodge has become our favorite because of the staff and the value for the money. We see a lot of the same people every year. There are more luxurious hotels for a lot more money, but for convenience and value, Christie Lodge is the best.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor are warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timesharetraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for the Excellent Staff Review! You were very accurate with many of your comments and we appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts. For our week long timeshare guests we do offer a midweek clean that a lot of other timeshares might not and in addition we offer our nightly hotel guests a daily service. We will look forward to seeing you again next year!

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I always try to write a "fair and balance" review of each location and this is no exception. We stayed during President's Week and there are plenty of positive things to say. The staff was all very friendly from the front desk to the room service. The place is really setup for children as the two isles of rooms are covered by an atrium. The atrium contains the pool (they have a kids and adult wing), ping pong tables, hot tubs, etc. Thus, you can leave your door open and allow the kids to enjoy themselves. There is a ski shop right on property although you can get better rental rates nearby if you wish. They have free bus service which takes you right to Beaver Creek of Vail (if you connect $$$). The biggest negatives are the rooms are pretty old, small and basic. Although they were clean, they could use some updating. The WiFi service is marginal at best and they don't clean the rooms everyday.

Room Tip: Determine if you want to be on the kids side or adult side and I would suggest being away from the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebarnmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Our staff works very hard to make sure our guests have a great experience! We are set up very nicely for family's, but we also cater to singles and couples. I often see adults relaxing in our atrium catching up on a good book. Charter Sports is our in-house sports shop and they offer our guests 30% off their rental rates. They are very convenient with their 14 different locations and offer quality equipment. Please see my last post regarding housekeeping service. If you were a timeshare guest, you would have received a mid-week clean. We hope we see you back again to enjoy this beautiful area.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.0 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#2 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#8 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#6 of 18 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Property: Christie Lodge
Address: 47 E Beaver Creek Blvd, P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer, two flat screen TV's, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid's activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing