We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Term Annual Summer Stay”
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Christie Lodge
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long Term Annual Summer Stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A week at Christie Lodge is not enough! You won't want to leave.

We first visited for a week via RCI. I enjoyed my stay so much I was curious what it would cost to come for a month. The rates were so inexpensive I decided to not wait till next summer & called to make reservations for the month of August. I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Here’s some points of what I liked best:

* Affordability. The summer weather in Avon was so invigorating! I kept extending my stay and the Lodge never increased their rates on me. They were extremely accommodating on all my requests.

* My favorite thing was the people who work there. The staff was incredibly helpful, responsive and showed sincere concern. Everyone took such personal pride in what ever his or her job was.

* Great location, easy to find and easy access. Avon is full of beautiful public art and flowers blossom everywhere. So just going for a walk is pleasant & rejuvenating. Surrounding cities are effortless to visit from Avon. I was close to all my favorite places, Vail, Beaver Creek, Minturn, St. Edwards, Leadville and Glenwood Springs.

* Christy Lodge seems to be constantly upgrading the property inside and out. In July, they were upgrading their ADA amenities. In August they refurbished the elevators. In September, they resurfaced all their parking lots.

* Generous room amenities and 5 star service.

* The pool was great for doing laps and at night they lit the coolest fire, it was set on a bed of crystals.

* The bed and couch was comfortable.

* The television set, DVD player and the cable worked fine. I couldn’t figure out the DVD settings and called the front desk. They literally had someone to my room to help within 5 minutes. All requests were handled quickly & pleasantly. They even supplied me with an extra table in my room so I could do beading. (Jewelry making)

* Rooms and property were exceptionally clean. I dropped my eyeglasses behind the couch and had to pull it out to find them. What a happy surprise to see how clean it was back there!

* Free weekly activities sponsored by Christie Lodge and the surrounding cities, i.e. Free Concerts, free cooking classes and lectures and free Art shows. Weekends are a fun time for shopping and visiting some of the local Farmer markets and art galleries.

* Lots of Activities and Sports; Biking trails, Hiking trails, Hot tubs, Movies, Swimming both pool & river, Table Tennis, Rafting, Paragliding, etc,

* Dine within walking distance. From down home to gourmet foodies, you won’t be disappointed. Excellence dining from Rocky Mountain Oysters to Colorado BBQ. The area also has lots of fun breweries and coffee shops to chill out at.

* Million dollar Fireworks for the 4th of July in Avon and Vail. Displayed on different evenings so you can attend both. You can even picnic and bring your dog along.

* Free public transportation within most towns and inexpensive transportation between towns.

* Safe, both hotel & surrounding area.

* Extremely vibrant and friendly people everywhere we went.

Room Tip: I liked being located between the lobby and the outside pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VeronicaCob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    245
    110
    46
    45
See reviews for
229
210
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was recently invited to stay for 4 nights at the christy lodge, we had a great time as this hotel sits closely to beavercreek resort and a 10 minute drive to vail. I don't know what it is about the hotel that reminds me of the dormitories of my boarding school in Connecticut, or dorm rooms at college. The finishings are dated and so is the structure. The service was good and the location as well.
The funniest thing was the elevator didn't really seem to get to our floor (3rd) and to get to the second floor you really had to go through a maze to catch the lift and then find the stairs to go to the third floor. sounds confusing enough? We literally preferred to take the stairs after 5 hours of ridding hard, everyday up and down. Not pleasant at all. The architect that designed this structure should be punished for every guest that has had to walk up and down those 3 flights of stairs after all day ski work out!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Rooms were excellent. Staff was very helpful. Hotel General Manager helped set up skiing and snowmobiling trips. Would recommend to friends. Looking forward to 2014 trip. Staff pointed us in the right direction for dining off site. A Subway Restaurant is located on site in case everyone is too tired after spending all day in the snow. A quick breakfast can be purchased at the Subway also. Staff recommended 4-Eagle Ranch for dinner one evening which included a moonlit, horse drawn sled ride. Dinner was served buffet style steak, chicken and pork tenderloin, with all the fix in's along with Blackberry cobbler. Great family time for young and old.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet. Higher rooms will have less noise due to more activity on main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Powells_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Christy Lodge over Spring Break 2014. Rooms were clean and updated and the shuttle service to BC Village was great. The hotel has a ski shop in lobby. It also has a Subway and Vietnamese restaurant. It has a large open atrium area that runs the length of the lodge. In the area it has hot tubs, an indoor pool, fireplaces, ping pong tables and vending machines. It also has outdoor hot tub and pool. Kids loved it. That is nice, but it has faults. The hot tubs caused our room to have a distinct mildew smell. We were on third floor, so I am not sure if it was worse there compared with other floors. There was no way to control thermostat in room. The room would get very hot in the middle of the night. There is also a lot of stairs and only one elevator. If you have problems with stairs I would recommend a room on the first floor. If we go back we would get a room on first floor and away from the hot tubs. The customer service was excellent!

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor may be best for people that need to avoid stairs. Our third floor room was mild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellenChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here long term during the ski season, and I wish I had gone through the trouble of moving to the other end of the hotel away from the indoor pool. 90% of evenings, the pool is occupied by screaming children. They close the pool at 9PM, so if you like to relax in the bedroom (which faces the atrium) before then, you're SOL.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

It seems a little outdated but it is clean and convenient. Within walking distance to many stores and restaurants. Kept clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. There is a new rec center near by with an amazing pool with slide and lazy river.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We recently spent a long weekend in the Beaver Creek/Vail area and stayed at the Christie Lodge. This is a nice hotel, and one of the better values in the area. When looking at accommodations, we were surprised at some of the prices - $400, $500, $600 per night. We couldn't bare to spend that much money especially knowing that we would be spending very little time in our room. So after reading some of the reviews, we chose the Christie Lodge, and it was very nice. It's a ittle old and the decor is outdated, but the rooms/suites are very nice, and the layout of the hotel is interesting…a bit of a courtyard design with fireplaces, hot tubs, ping pong tables…definitely good for families. It also has a very nice location with lots of restaurants in walking distance as well as the free shuttle that takes you right up the mountain to the Beaver Creek Ski area. If you are traveling on a budget and just need a decent place to stay, the Christie Lodge will fit the bill. And let me add, the people and service was really quite exceptional!

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view overlooking the mountains. We did and we were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leannekmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#6 of 18 in Beaver Creek
537 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#2 of 18 in Beaver Creek
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
2.0 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#10 of 18 in Beaver Creek
345 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Property: Christie Lodge
Address: 47 E Beaver Creek Blvd, P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620-5406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christie Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer, two flat screen TV's, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid's activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing