We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view but worth the money? ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing view but unfortunately that is where the experience ends. On arrival our key didn't work, which happens but maybe a sign to not get excited about whats inside. We stayed in the skye lodges for a weekend, the room was small and dusty and in between layered apartments -not what we were expecting. The shower tap was broken, the bath had dirt in it and the windows were dirty- hard to miss when trying to take in the surroundings. The kitchenette was limited, another reminder of the size of the room. While the kitchenette had a variety of utensils, We had to clean any before use, plates and cups aswell. Once we had cooked where do we eat? The idea of the wie balcony would have been nice but extremely dependant on season and time of day. Do king beds still exsist? It was uncomfortable sleeping on top the obvious edge of the two beds while the spider web on the roof above us was just a treat to see. Finally, the meals at the tea house weren't really that enjoyable either, I ended up leaving my entire meal. For the cost of this experience it was extremely dissapointing. Waste of money for what we were provided. We won't be returning. An underwhelming expeience for the price we had to pay. NOT the 4 star experience as advertised.

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank TheTravellingBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your Sky Lodge experience. Your comments regarding housekeeping and maintenance have already been passed onto the department Managers and the General Manager. It was disappointing to hear. With regards to the size of the room and its facilities, we are sorry you had expected something different. The Studio is a hotel-room style with a kitchenette rather than a full kitchen (as shown on our website - images and a list of facilties). The one bedroom apartment has a spearate living room and bedroom, a full kitchen with dining table, and a larger balcony with table and chairs. Again, it is disappointing that this was not a good stay for you, and we wish you all the best in your fuuture travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a beautiful place to get away and relax and walk and dream. We stayed in Acacia room (I think - the one with an ensuite) and it was perfectly fine. There was a balcony with a view down the valley. It had all the basics necessary eg small fridge, kettle, small but adequate bathroom. We took the dinner, bed and breakfast option which although not cheap made it easy. The food at dinner was unexciting but reasonable. They had a seafood platter on the Saturday night we were there which was delicious. Dinner was buffet style with adequate options. The extremely friendly staff were very helpful in recommending walks. We went on one guided walk and it's worth it to get some of the history and find out more about the area - we could easily have done it by ourselves but the guide was excellent.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra to get a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneySuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give BInna Burra a lovely and honest review. We are pleased you had a 'lovely get away'. We often get comments about how friendly our staff are. It makes a big difference to our guests stay as we emply a local, knowledgeable and friendly team. The guides also make a large difference to our guests experience. Stays at both the Mountain Lodge and the Sky Lodges include free guided walks and activities. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a beautiful spot! We stayed in an Acacia Room, and it was the perfect size. Cosy and cute, big enough to move around, with wonderful views down the valley, through the trees. Clean, beautiful, warm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leadpaintrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. Our cabins are heritage listed and have a historic charm like no other. They are basic, but are warm, clean and comfortable. Please return any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We took the Acacia room, with dinner and breakfast and had a very good time in Binna Burra. Having come from the city in Singapore, this was a very different holiday destination for our family with two boys. The room was basic but had all that we needed for two nights and we had more than enough food and beverages with the regular tea breaks the lodge provides on this package.

Initially, I was worried about not having enough to occupy my boys as there was no wifi, no television even. But the worries were unfounded. We were kept busy and tired out by attending the interesting walks around the property, led by very informative guides. During our time there, we met Luke and Tasha, who are very friendly and knowledgeable. They managed to make my boys like 'bush walking' , and interested in learning about the plants and animals in this part of the world, which is an achievement. After the first day dinner, there was an interesting talk about dead animal specimens they had collected in jars and these were passed around.

Another night, there was an interesting walk to spot the nocturnal creatures around. Even if we had not spotted much, we were rewarded by fantastic views of the starry night sky because it was so dark. We wished we had a longer stay there when we read that they have campfires and ghost story telling sessions over the weekends too! I now understand why people keep returning to this old lodge over the years.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Binna Burra is a great destination for a family. It’s all about getting back to nature and creating life-long family memories for you and your boys. We are pleased you took advantage of our inclusive guided walks and activities – our staff is very knowledgeable of the flora and fauna in the Park and the Lodge surrounds. A much better adventure for the children than sitting in front of a television! Thank you for your excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My family and I went to Binna Burra for a hiking weekend to celebrate my birthday. We staying in a large Safari tent which was nice and clean and the fire pit a bonus. The facilities at the camp site were also very clean and well looked after. The only downside is that we had a large noisy party staying close to us and when I expressed my concern about this the girl at Reception and the Duty Manager (Dean) were so understanding and kind in offering a solution - they obviously care greatly about their campers and the rest of the camp site was very quiet, despite being almost 100% full. We will be back to do the Ship Stern Circuit and will definitely stay at Binna Burra again perhaps all of us at the lodge, which is so charming and has the most stunning views.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Binna Burra Karin. I am pleased to hear that Dean and the staff at reception were able to help find a solution to your problem. As you would know,Lamington National Park is a particularly peaceful environment and it can be challenging when there are a diverse group of people sharing the accommodation and facilities. Thank you for your acceptance of this and for working with our staff to resolve the issue. We do care about the quality of your stay at Binna Burra Lodge and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed a Friday and Saturday night in a Skylodge studio apartment and had a great weekend of bushwalking and relaxing.

The views from the balcony of our top floor apartment where fantastic and a great place to enjoy breakfast or a late afternoon drink.

I thought the apartment was a little small but the bathroom was a really big so you can't have everything!
The "kitchen" however would be OK for making toast or warming up something in the microwave but that would be about the limit I should think. I do know that full kitchens are available in some of the other apartment options however if that is your requirement.

We ate dinner on both nights in the Mountain View dinning room and whilst the food was a buffet served by the staff as you lined up to collect your plate there was a few choices and tasty enough and certainly "hit the spot" after a days bushwalking.

The staff are very friendly and attentive however the cleaning of the apartment could do with a bit more attention to detail as the bathroom was not as clean as one would expect in such standard accommodation.

The bushwalking we did was very enjoyable with very diverse scenery on the tracks we walked and was different to what we had experienced on the Green Mountain section of the park.

We would be happy to visit again and explore more of the tracks in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the Sky Lodge studio. I would have to agree that the views are second to none and simply take your breath away. Lamington National Park is such a peaceful, and serene setting-the perfect place to ‘get away from it all’. The one and two bedroom apartments are more spacious than the studio and have the combined lounge/dining room setting. They also contain a built in oven, microwave, dishwasher, large fridge and BBQ on the verandah. So if you are are looking for more space to move around the kitchen and more facilities then I would suggest the Sky Lodge apartments as an alternative. Thank you also for your compliments to our friendly staff and I am pleased that you enjoyed the walks. The tracks are very well maintained and the scenery spectacular. We look forward to seeing you again soon, perhaps in one of our 1 bedroom Sky Lodge apartments. Be sure to check the Binna Burra Lodge website for current deals/special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at a 1-bdr studio in the new sky lodges for a weekend. The rooms are beautiful and the view is spectacular, simply amazing!
The perfect combinatino of luxury and outdoor experience!

The room has a "open fire" style gas fire that keeps you warm and comfy and the day bed and balcony are prefect to just sit, have a a cuppa and take in the view. The bathroom is very modern and stylish. the kitchenette is small but has everthing you need to cook.

We had booked the room with breakfast and dinner. We wree a bit suspicious first of the buffet dinner but the chef had done a good job at feeding almost 100 people with good food. The desserts were very yummy! The only downside was that hte options for vegetarians were limited (lots of meat and seefood)

The lodge is in the middle of Lamington National Park and there are numerous walks to do, both for beginners and experienced bush walkers. The rainforest is amazing and we saw plenty of birds and wallabies!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Evelyne, thank you for your review of our one bedroom Sky Lodge apartment. The Sky Lodge accommodation certainly does add a touch of luxury to the rainforest setting. I am glad you found the apartment to be comfortable and relaxing. The self contained apartments are designed to help make your stay as relaxed as possible. After a long day hiking and/or participating in the guest activities, it is good to have the option to retire to your room, enjoy a spa bath and watch the sunset with a beverage of your choice! Thank you also for your comments about dinner/breakfast and I will pass on your feedback to our chef. Our kitchen and dining room staff really do work well under pressure-we are fortunate to have a tight knit team who help to make this possible. I am surprised to hear that you found the menu limiting for your dietary requirements as we do have vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. When first making the booking, there is an option to list your dietary requirements. Thank you again for your feedback and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beechmont
4.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
4.9 mi away
Clouds on Beechmont
Clouds on Beechmont
#2 of 3 in Beechmont
36 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Crystal Creek
190 reviews
4.6 mi away
Springbrook Lyrebird Retreat
Springbrook Lyrebird Retreat
#1 of 3 in Springbrook
40 reviews
15.6 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Binna Burra Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Binna Burra Mountain Lodge

Address: Binna Burra Road, Lamington National Park, Beechmont, Queensland 4211, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Beechmont
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Beechmont
Price Range: £71 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Binna Burra Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Binna Burra Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Binna Burra Mountain Hotel Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing