We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Weekend”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It is July and we were tossing up where to spend a couple of days on the school holidays. I've done some hiking with Girls Trekking Adventures and we stayed at Binna Burra which was wonderful and I thought I'd like to share this with my family (girl 11, boy 10, husband (ageless)). So off we went to the Sky Lodge. We did a morning Caves Hike (5 km) and I've never seen the kids so excited. Checked into the room which was breathtaking - ultimate luxury. Fireplace, tv, amazing views, beautifully decorated... We cooked in the first night as there was a stove top, bbq and microwave - no oven but I knew this going in. The gas fire place was beautiful. The next day we did the Rock Pool hike (6 km) - again the kids were just in awe. That night we had dinner at the lodge which is pretty homestyle cooking and shared a table with another dad and his son. This was so lovely to meet others. The final day the kids did the flying fox with Dean - who was so amazingly patient and they finished it off requesting that we go back ASAP. Couldn't have asked for more. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the sky lodge. They are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrissieAJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review about your 'Fantastic Family Weekend' at Binna Burra.

It's not just the accommodation and facilities - it's as much about the surrounding Lamington National Park, with diverse walks of varying lengths, suitable for children as well. Kids love nature, and no doubt your time at Binna Burra has created life-long memories.

The Sky Lodges provide more of a luxury stay, with the fireplace, spa bath and views. It's also an advantage that you can self-cater or eat in the Lodge Dining Room. Our communal dining is unique, in that you can meet people, just like you did.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    214
    97
    69
    44
See reviews for
152
318
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Poor Management at Binna Burra

We have been going there every few years since our teens and we have stayed in each form of accommodation. Each time we see a degradation of good management. Being in tourism ourselves, we have tried to softly help the manager at the time by informing them of poor standards by some staff and comments we heard from guests that were not praiseworthy but indeed fair but not once has a manger wanted to know these important things as we do in our business. Given Binna Burra is close to both the Gold Coast and Brisbane, it should not be difficult to engage professional managers. A tourism operator staying the weekend to assess Binna Burra for their recommending it through their tourism company was also shocked to see the decline in management and staff training over the decades.

Binna Burra’ Restaurant
Over the last 25 years it was well known that one had to not be near the end of the line at meal times otherwise you would miss out despite paying for your meal. At the outset of a meal, those in the know would not only get their entre and main but also their desert so they would not miss out. While they only serve one course at a time now, if you are at the end of the line, you still miss out. One example was a chap that was only 4 from the end of the line for an entre of fresh prawns, found only one prawn left. Those before him said they had only a couple rather than half a dozen because they could see they would run out. One of the chaps that missed out asked the chef if he could bring out some more only to be chastised in front of most of the other guests! To the astonishment of everyone nearby, the chef said it was only an entre and not a main and he would not be bringing any more out! These people at the end of the line paid for an entre but did not receive one.

The first night the chef told us he had no idea most nights how much food to prepare. Despite management taking numbers for how many guests will be attending dinner, the chef told us he never knew how much food to prepare as he didn’t know whether there would be 20 for dinner or 140.

At breakfast, the lower section is particularly cold in winter as there is no heating so people have to go back to their rooms to get warmer clothing. At morning and afternoon tea, there used to be a good selection but this time there was only one plate of overcooked choc Anzac type biscuits that ran out before half the guests had a chance to have just one! This is despite guests paying for this. They had to y to work out how to operate a tea making machine as the kitchen staff could not make tea pots or even provide milk without having to be told! I expect the manager never looks in on the kitchen or the restaurant hoping it will just run itself. Clearly, it does not.

The chef is a very large, very overweight, bald headed, ocker spoken man who looks like he would be more comfortable in a bikie gang than in-charge of a restaurant. He said he knew nothing about wine. When addressing guests in the restaurant, he called the food ‘grub’!! While it was edible, it was no where near the quality that was available in earlier decades. Only one soup was available and for desert there were only a few options of which half were poorly made. It was firs tin best dressed.

While the staff tried to please, they were not trained so they did not know where things were or how to interact professionally with guests. This is because of inadequate management who can give good staff training.

Given the environment is an excellent addition to the Gold Coast and Brisbane, it is such a shame that Binna Burra cannot employ a professional manager. Instead of stopping the decline, it has continued and got worse. Will the board not pay for a professional manager or is it that they too just don’t care what guests think?

The Sky Lodges
My wife and I booked a 3 night stay in a single room at the Sky Lodges. They were well presented but there are a couple of very frustrating design faults. The first is the dangerously protruding cabinet work for the TV which sticks out in front of the bed leaving little space to walk by. It is very easy to strike one’s head on this protrusion. It also protrudes over the small deck at the other end. If you get up from the chair there, you hit your head very hard on a shelf that does not even need to be there. Both protrusions have sharp corners instead of rounded corners for such dangerous protrusions. As this has been pointed out, the manager should address this without delay so guests do not suffer injuries and the Lodges do not have insurance claims.

The second infuriating design fault is the doors to the balcony. Firstly, there is no catch for the screen door to stop it slamming shut. The glass window door behind the screen door opens to the balcony and then becomes locked against the balcony wall. Because the catch for this is at the very bottom of the door and in the middle there is no way to unlock it!! You have to get down on your knees and try to get your finger up to push the catch through to unlock it. This is an insane, highly annoying design fault. We asked the management of they could fix this but they did nothing. As the balconies are often very windy, the door slams shut or locks itself against the wall. When open, cold wind whistles into the room and it is very difficult to even find the latch let alone try to unlock it. How they could have left this fault there so long boggles the mind. It shows a lack of effective management.

I tried to let the Manager know of these things to be helpful so they could be addressed. I am in tourism and would like to know if it was my business. I was kept waiting 10 minuteds and then the manager to ld the counter staff he/she would not come out. I asked thenm to get him as it was important but the manager hid and told the sataff member to say he had slipped out the back way when he was still in the room behin the counter. When managemnenbt is weak like this it is no wonder the restaurant staff are poorly trained despite being willing to please. Ohter guests in the main building witnessed this and told me they were likewise appauled.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We've been coming up to Binna Burra for years as a family, we usually like it up here and the staff were always friendly. Although, the last couple of times or so our opinion has changed. The staff aren't as friendly, they seem as if they don't want to be here and any request or questions we may ask is a hassle for them. Especially this year, after a long drive up the mountain we went to go check-in to our campsite although unfortunately we were not allowed until 2pm, it was 10am. So we tried again at 1:45 and still not allowed. Having a big family two tents needed to be set up. When we could finally check in AFTER 2pm we didn't finsh setup until before dark when it was cold and the teahouse had closed so we'd missed dinner.
I don't think this is how us as customers with young children should have been treated.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ravenjael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for feedback. It is very rare that we get negative comments about our staff so it was disappointing to read your review. Your comments have been passed to our front office supervisor. Your visit was at an extremely busy time over the school holiday period, and 'back to back' bookings mean that we have to clean our rooms & campsites prior to new guests checking-in. It was for that reason alone that you could not check-in until our standard time of 2pm. With regards to missing dinner at the Teahouse, it closes at 7.30pm on the weekends, giving you over 5 hours to set up camp, unless you were here during the week when it closes at 3pm. If this was the case, dinner would have been available at the Mountain Lodge (we welcome out campsite guests 7 nights per week). We wish you all the best and hope that you will return to Binna Burra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having never been to Binna Burra before, I purchased a " Winter Fireplace Deal" We upgraded to the Acacia Room.When we arrived we spoke to the young receptionist who was quite rude and blunt. Our next disappointment was that there was no fireplace. I would consider this false advertising as one would expect that the room would include a fireplace.
There is no television or radio. There are limited activities which includes one in the morning and one in the afternoon and another at night and these activities rotate over the period of a week. Other than that there are numerous bush walks which are very good. Some are too intense for older people. Our activity guide was Luke who is very friendly and talented. Very good at his job. The Clifftop Dining Room had great views and the menu was varied and well presented other than that it was not kept hot enough in terms of health. In fact it was usually lukewarm. The staff while very friendly were disorganized and were out of stock of many items. On the last day they were out of all red wine except two types. They tables weren't wiped down after previous meal and these were tables that we had reserved. They had the reserved sign but had not been cleaned. The restaurant could make good use of a manager to organize the situation.
While the location is wonderful and the bush walks fantastic, I would not recommend the lodge as a place to stay unless you are prepared to just make do...

Room Tip: The Skylodges would be a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DarylN294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you thought the Winter Freplace Deal meant that you had a fireplace in your room. We would have definately recommended you to stay on our Sky Lodge accommodaion if we had known this was your expectation in advance. The Sky Lodges are part of the Winter Fireplace Deal and have fireplaces in them. The Mountain Lodge has a large fireplace in the Reception Lounge and in the Library which we light daily during these winter months. We advertise our facilities on our website, which also notifies our guests that the Lodge rooms keep the traditional ethos of 'getting back to nature' and therefore do not have televisions, stereos etc. This can be found at the Sky Lodges. We want our guests to be happy and it sounds like the Sky Lodges were more your style of accommodation. I have passed your comments on about the dining room to our newly appointed Food & Beverage Manager. The last thing we want is for our guests to feel disappointed and I am sorry you felt you had a bad experience with us. I hope you will return and try our newer style accommodtion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Easy 1 hour drive from Beenleigh. Don't get Binna Burra confused with O'Reilly's. They are 1 1/2 hours drive from each other.
Perfect winter getaway with comfortable room with ensuite and amazing views. Morning sun on the balcony. The room was clean and tidied each day. No TV. No house phones, public phone only. Internet at your own expense. Good mobile reception.
There were several flights of stairs from out room up to the main buildings. It was all built before wheelchair friendly came in and the hills and space don't really allow room for changes. There is flat access to the rooms but the foyer has stairs. Staff were friendly. Office staff are not fast but quite competent for the style of the guest house. Just relax :)
Quiet guest lounge upstairs from dining room with lovely sunset view over the mountains and complimentary cheese and crackers at sunset. Extensive guest library. Comfortable foyer lounge with open fire.
Free morning and afternoon tea in the dining room. No lunch but the Tea Room down the hill is very pleasant and walkable. Perfect sunny afternoon relaxation.
Fabulous bushwalking tracks. The bellbird lookout track is only a few kilometres. A bit rocky and steep in parts. Not for the frail. The Rainforest walk from the teahouse is probably suitable for all at a level 1km circuit.
Dinner is private table or sit with the other guests. Delicious soup, meat, fish, vegetarian and gluten free main meal options served cafeteria style by the chef and a big selection of deserts. Fruit salad for gluten free. $45 each.
Bar is open at 3pm.
Gift shop is nice.
Guided bushwalks and evening activities each day. Yoga most mornings.
For two old ladies it was a very relaxing two nights. We just sat around and read or ate. I'm 60 and managed the Bellbird walk just fine. Another couple were a fit 70 something and did much more walking. You can suit yourself.

Room Tip: Acacia rooms have the ensuite and balcony. Don't take too much luggage. You have to carry your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValofBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Binna Burra is easily accessible with an all-bitumen drive only 90 minutes from Brisbane. Our Mountain Lodge rooms are basic, clean and warm - ideal for those wanting to experience Lamington National Park. The views from the Library are wonderful - its a peaceful authentic room and an alternate area to relax along with the main Reception Lounge. The diverse walks include shorter walks such as Bellbird Clearing therefore providing options for all ages and fitness levels. We hope you return to Binna Burra for another 'Perfect Short Getaway'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A lovely way to get back to nature for the weekend. Our room was small, but this didn't matter as we didn't spend much time there. We enjoyed socialising with other guests in the library, dining hall and the main lounge room. The staff were friendly and down to earth and we loved starting the day out with a yoga class and then trying out the flying fox. There was a mixture of couples, families and older groups, but it worked. Those expecting 5 star accommodation might be disappointed, but we preferred the quaintness of the lodge and had a fantastic time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manda888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It seems you ahd a great stay, adn enjoyed the 'back to nature' ethos of the historic Mountain Lodge. It is rare to find an accommodation that has the option of communal dining, and its wonderful that you took advantage of this, meeting new people. Our morning yoga class is free for Mountain Lodge and Sky Lodge guests, and is a wonderful way to start the day. We wish you all the best in your future travels and hope to see you back here on the mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing view but unfortunately that is where the experience ends. On arrival our key didn't work, which happens but maybe a sign to not get excited about whats inside. We stayed in the skye lodges for a weekend, the room was small and dusty and in between layered apartments -not what we were expecting. The shower tap was broken, the bath had dirt in it and the windows were dirty- hard to miss when trying to take in the surroundings. The kitchenette was limited, another reminder of the size of the room. While the kitchenette had a variety of utensils, We had to clean any before use, plates and cups aswell. Once we had cooked where do we eat? The idea of the wie balcony would have been nice but extremely dependant on season and time of day. Do king beds still exsist? It was uncomfortable sleeping on top the obvious edge of the two beds while the spider web on the roof above us was just a treat to see. Finally, the meals at the tea house weren't really that enjoyable either, I ended up leaving my entire meal. For the cost of this experience it was extremely dissapointing. Waste of money for what we were provided. We won't be returning. An underwhelming expeience for the price we had to pay. NOT the 4 star experience as advertised.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank TheTravellingBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your Sky Lodge experience. Your comments regarding housekeeping and maintenance have already been passed onto the department Managers and the General Manager. It was disappointing to hear. With regards to the size of the room and its facilities, we are sorry you had expected something different. The Studio is a hotel-room style with a kitchenette rather than a full kitchen (as shown on our website - images and a list of facilties). The one bedroom apartment has a spearate living room and bedroom, a full kitchen with dining table, and a larger balcony with table and chairs. Again, it is disappointing that this was not a good stay for you, and we wish you all the best in your fuuture travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beechmont
18.5 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
127 reviews
4.1 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
4.9 mi away
Clouds on Beechmont
Clouds on Beechmont
#2 of 3 in Beechmont
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
4.9 mi away
Old Saint Johns Church on Beechmont
17.0 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Binna Burra Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Binna Burra Mountain Lodge

Property: Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Address: Binna Burra Road, Lamington National Park, Beechmont, Queensland 4211, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Beechmont
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Beechmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Binna Burra Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Binna Burra Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Binna Burra Mountain Hotel Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing