We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borneo Paradise Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Papar
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go here”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were staying in a nearby house to this hotel and decided to go here for dinner as it was nearby. We were given a table, on one side a generator, on the other, staff kareoke. We were then informed that almost all of our drink and meal choices were unavailable. When food did arrive it was cold and really not very nice/inedible. The atmosphere was terrible and the staff unhelpful.

Despite the nice location and the nearby beach avoid this resort. If you're in the area and need a drink/meal try the Langkah Syabas resort just up the road which is far nicer!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    8
    1
    7
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We didn't stay here but wandered in for dinner on a Saturday night....we wondered why we were the only diners......4 cats begged for food whilst we were eating....on leaving most food on our plates & paying, we turned to look at our vacated table to see the 4 cats devouring the leftovers, in FULL view of the staff.....must be a common occurence as the cats seemed quite at home atop the table.......the meal was appalling to us , not so the felines.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Papar hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

where do i start?
Resort? - resort location, with HEAPS of potential, that's about it.
Paradise?- appears to be nice but as the first reviewer said, it is more of an extended backyard leading onto the beach. It's a paradise as in from glossy mags, but wasn't w/out it's charm.
Beach? - yes it is, but don't expect stretches of sand and blue waters, you won't find it. The water is faily dirty/polluted (that's not the hotel's fault).
Clealiness - the room was reasonably clean, but linen was dirty. It is what i would expect of a backpackers. we had pillows with stains on it. Unfortunately we couldn't not stay there (see below), so i had to put my own towel that i carry with me, over the pillows for the 2 nights we were there. The bathroom sink was leaking too - had to place a bucket bin under the sink.
location - it is in Kinarut, which is about 20 KMs south of Kota Kinabalu city (Sabah, Malaysia) so it's a local suburb. There are hardly any random taxis - you'll need to book, even to go to the city. It is close to Lokowi Zoo.
Breakfast - totally DITTO the previous reviewer
Pool - wouldn't go in it, but the families (with kids) there for the conference seem to have had a ball.

Again, agreeing with the first reviewer, this place seemed to be geared towards locals holding conferences/business meetings as it seem to be booked out for such events.

So all this and why did we stay there? We were there in KK on a drop-in visit to see some freinds who live near the resort. We had made plans to stay only 2 nights in KK and so didn't bother to arrange alternate accomm. Location wasn't a big deal cos we had own transport. Plus there isn't anything else in the immediate area. And having paid approx 100-120 MYR, i'm not sure what else you would expect. Having travelled a little in Asisa, it is on par with some of the cheaper Asian hotels/accommodations. Though, for the similar price, have had better rooms in out-of-city / regional SE asia.

N.B - for hot water, make sure to turn the hot water power source latch/switch on.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We planned to stay here for 8 nights after some days in the rainforest, and escaped after one. We were the only travellers staying at the hotel, everyone else was on a conference, and this helped to make things feel odd.
On arrival at 8pm the reception area at first sight was a pleasant introduction, but was empty of guests. Staff seemed surprised when we asked if food and/drinks could be ordered. The rooms were shabby and dirty.
Breakfast was at 7:00 am, not from 7:00 am. It consisted of cold undercooked fried eggs and toast, or ‘not’. The ‘not’ was preferable. The setting is attractive, but the beach area was litter-strewn and unkept. The grounds were more like a park than a hotel, with a couple of park benches but no sunbeds, and the pool appeared to be for show, not use. The atmosphere was weird, and some of the male staff made my daughter feel very uncomfortable, (although she was fully covered) – the first time ever across many different locations.
This hotel is not geared for or appears to want travellers; the reception staff did not question the fact that we were moving elsewhere after less than 24hrs – they seemed used to it .
This is NOT the place to stay for anyone looking for even basic hospitality in a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coercri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papar
20.9 mi away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,314 reviews
24.2 mi away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
13.3 mi away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
452 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beringgis Beach Resort
Beringgis Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Kinarut
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Paradise Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Paradise Beach Hotel

Property: Borneo Paradise Beach Hotel
Address: Kinarut Sabah, Papar 89600, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Papar
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Papar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borneo Paradise Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Borneo Paradise Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Paradise Beach Hotel Papar, Malaysia - Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing