We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so cool”
Review of Kuriftu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuriftu Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Bishoftu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Kuriftu is a place that needs to be visited while staying in Ethiopia. The rooms were quite nice. The beds, and bathroom and the room itself were good and very clean. The food was really good! I enjoyed kayaking, and walking around the place, it was especially beautiful at night when all the lights were on. simply beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hellotoyou_helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Since a few months our company Abyssinia Ballooning, the 1st hot air balloon company of Ethiopia, works together with Kuriftu Resort and Spa in Debre Zeit and Bahir Dar.

To start the partnership we were invited to try the lodges at Kuriftu. They have big, comfortable with great local decorations and furniture. The swimming pool is clean and you can get great massages and all kinds of body treatments there. The food at Kuriftu is managed by an international South-African chef and you can get all kinds of varieties of cuisines at Kuriftu.

In short; a great place to stay and with honost value for money.

Enjoy it when you have the chance to spend some time there.

Best regards, Bram van Loosbroek, www.abyssiniaballooning.com

Room Tip: Rooms in the off season are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank B_ramAddisAbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This isn't a spa resort but if you don't mind that this is a great place to visit. The place is beautiful!! From the rooms to the food, absolutely delicious!! I was supposed to stay for 1 day but ended up staying for 2. The hotel food, delicious, the bar was lacking though, it ran out of everything, don't look for mixed drinks as there are none besides coca cola in your alcohol. There's wine bottles in the room for purchase though. The honeymoon suite is like a hotel itself with large expansive sitting areas and beautiful bathroom. The spa is excellent however they should move the reception hall as it gets loud especially if there is a group of people, the walls between the massage rooms are too thin too, and I wished there was a private room for the foot massage only option but overall it was still a good massage and the steam and sauna was awesome because it was quiet so no complaints there, the mani/pedi was good too. Excellent place for Africa though, but there can be some improvements made as with anything else. Also this place can be romantic as well as family oriented

Room Tip: If u hate stairs and altitude and want to be close to the restaurant choose the 100 numbered rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellover617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

It's the perfect stay if it is for just for a day or for the whole weekend, or beyond.
We know this place since the beginning and quite often we came just for a day trip to enjoy the facilities or also over night.
My wife enjoyed always the spa and the beauty opportunities while I ejoyed the bar / restaurant.
As there is a "entrance fee" to be paid you cannot just have a look and leave but to try it it is worth - especially as there are also differnet services included in the "fee".

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenschF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Great location and beautiful rooms. We ate amazing food and enjoyed kayaking. We were fans of Kirifitu at bahir dar and did not think this would be as good but maintained its standards and we will be back,

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wasagne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Kuriftu Resort and Spa was a lovely place to stay. Situated by a small lake. The Resort blended well with its surroundings made of stone and wood.
Our room was big but not well lit, everything about this place is subdued,quiet and comfortable.
The view over the lake was serene.
The staff were vey obliging and pleasant.
The food was excellent too.
Kuriftu also includes one massage and one foot massage to guests daily. This was wonderful and very well done.
The kayaking on the lake was just awesome
Highly recommend a stay at Kuriftu.

Room Tip: We stayed in 102 it was by quiet and comfortable could not hear noise or music from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I traveled around Ethiopia for our honeymoon and we stayed at Kuriftu a couple of nights. It was a lovely place built to flow with nature surrounding it. The rooms had walls made of rocks, the lake was beautiful and serene, and the staff was amazing. The spa was also awesome, I was able to get a hot stone massage, a foot massage, and my hair done before I left. I highly recommend this place! Also, if you have time, definitely travel around Debre Zeit and enjoy the local culture and cuisine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ketsuye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishoftu
24.9 mi away
La Residence Hotel & Spa
23.5 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
22.2 mi away
Capital Hotel and Spa
Capital Hotel and Spa
#2 of 122 in Addis Ababa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
Radisson Blu Hotel, Addis Ababa
#3 of 122 in Addis Ababa
777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge
2.7 mi away
Asham Africa Hotel
Asham Africa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bishoftu
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuriftu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuriftu Resort

Address: Kiroftu Lake | Kuriftu Lake, Bishoftu, Ethiopia (Formerly Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit)
Region: Ethiopia > Oromiya Region > Bishoftu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bishoftu
Price Range: £95 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kuriftu Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort offers high-end luxury in an Ethiopian paradise setting. Breathtaking landscapes encompass the resort as guests enjoy our outdoor pool and sunbathing terrace that overlooks the natural wonder of Lake Kuriftu. After taking in the natural beauty of the wildlife and countryside, our organic spa and gourmet restaurants are the perfect places to relax as you prepare to continue your getaway experience. With achingly perfect panoramas, Kuriftu is where luxury reaches its pinnacle and service is simultaneously warm, genuine and sensational. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kuriftu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuriftu Resort And Spa Debre Zeyit
Kuriftu Resort & Spa Debre Zeyit Hotel Debre Zeyit
Kuriftu Resort Ethiopia/Bishoftu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing