We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in a treehouse!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
“Perfect stay in a treehouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in the Viewpoint Lodge for one night. The staff is really welcoming and friendly and the accommodation has traditional details, a nice garden and a stunning view over Babogaya Lake. We stayed in the cozy houses right on the lake which proved to be an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennard12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    55
    19
    9
    0
See reviews for
36
60
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had almost forgotten just how beautiful it is here! We received the usual warm welcome and instantly felt at home. If you're looking for breathtaking views, gorgeous settings, delicious food and a cozy atmosphere, look no further than Viewpoint Lodge!

Room Tip: The three rooms by the lake are absolutely gorgeous, especially at sunset and morning time! Keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longyearbyen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very nice place, small and peaceful. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The owner was very nice and helpful, even spontaneously organized transport to Addis for us.
Next time we're in Ethiopia, we'll come again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the viewpoint lodge in the last day of our trip to Ethiopia. We were very glad to relax in such a beautiful atmosphere, so close to Addis. The lodge has a very special style with excellent views and the management is extremely professional and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonso F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I loved our treehouse where we could sleep in. On our little terasse we were watching the birds and enjoying the nice view on the babogaya lake! The lake is very nice to swim in! Next time I will make use of the bikes to cycle around!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuefi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

this is a great place. The owners made sure that we felt really at home. The views are lovely and the steps down to the lake [where you can swim and canoe] thread through terraced gardens. The owner took out to a nearby lake to see the cranes come in to roost for the night. You can organise trips for your time in Ethiopia from here.

Room Tip: second terrace down had quieter rooms. Do go swimming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I love the place. Very quite, spectacular view of babogaya lake, a great view to be honest. Everything was made in a natural way. You can disconnect yourself from the world and enjoy nature in great silence.

Rooms are very small, much smaller than I expected. Some of the rooms doesn't have basic things like bathroom, but are located almost in the side of the lake at high place.

workers need to be trained, a bit of professional approach should be implemented.

Not many people, I saw less than 10 Europeans only. The greatest place for family. Great for swimming and kayak.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biniamhirut01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Debre Zeyit
23.1 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
20.9 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#11 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
18.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#78 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
20.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#15 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge

Property: Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge
Address: Kebele 15 House 571, Debre Zeyit 7000, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Oromiya Region > Debre Zeyit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Debre Zeyit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice place with an amazing view over a clear volcanic, round lake in which you can swim or make a tour with the kayak. Climate of 26 degrees the whole year like in spring in the south of California or France.Run by a Belgium guy and an Ethiopian lady.We serve fresh fish and vegetables from the surrounding farms. Day trips and tours possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge Ethiopia/Debre Zeyit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing