We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge
1 review
“Fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Friendly staff,Nice view above the lake room 3 has the best view over the lake.
Great dinner you should order before 3 hours so it's fresh and tasty.
There are incredible number of different birds in the garden and on lake shores.
But the breakfast was so poor only coffee and some bread .He should a variety of items.
And The bedrooms are dirty.
Overall a great place for 1 or 2 night to relax.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    55
    19
    9
    0
See reviews for
36
60
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Friendly staff, nice views and exotic birds could become a better setting if there would not be the unacceptable condition of the rooms. Lack of water and electricity were not the only reason why we found this place by far overpriced. Walking down the stairs towards the water, we found a messy landing stage. No way to access from here the water. Internet connection didn't work, even the staff was so friendly to allow me using their mobile system.

Room Tip: The two rooms facing the veranda have a toilette and shower. Who will not need a toilette and a show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klaus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The best thing about this resort is its setting - right above a lake with great views and bird watching. also the owner is friendly and does the best he can. Otherwise, the rooms are awfully outdated and dirty. The bathrooms are extremely basic. The staff is badly trained (they threw the bottle caps of our drinks right into the garden where people walk barefoot). The power went out while we were there, which means that was also no water. They'll gave us a bucket of water to wash ourselves. For what this place offers it is just much too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I highly recommend this place. We spent there 2 nights and we enjoyed it very much. First the Lodge is perfectly located - near to the road to the centre of Debre Zeyit but quite away from noises of the town. It isn’t close to busy centre of Debre Zeyit but it is easy to get everywhere - you can order riksha (about 30 – 40 birrs) or have a nice long walk. The Lodge is situated on a high shore of a volcanic lake, in a calm beautiful big garden. The Lodge is surrounded by greenery and plenty of multi colored flowers. All garden scents stunning. The Lodge has (as the name indicated) amazing view on the whole lake. There are incredible number of different birds in the garden and on lake shores. There are few places there created to just have relax: on the very top a kind of terrace with roof where you can use fine armchairs and tables to sit, read books, have rest or just eat or drink beer and fresh orange juice just admiring beautiful views and exotic birds. You can also admire spectacular sunset. The room is clean, nice, African styled and comfortable with hot water shower all the time. Second, there is served the best fish we have eaten during our trip to the Ethiopia. We loved this dinner prepared in this Lodge. It was very big, very tasty and fresh. We are longing for sitting in the garden looking at the sunset and eating this dish or drinking the best tea in Ethiopia. You can also use free canoe or bike and fantastic books about Ethiopia and Africa. Third, the owners are wonderful, extremely charming, kind and helping. Their hospitality is great, and they always did everything to make our stay nice and comfortable, (even after our coming back home). Due to such people and such places our trip to Ethiopia has became an unforgotten impression and we would like to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This spot is a gem. You can stay in a rustic bungalow directly above the lake and watch the hundreds of birds, you can take out free kayaks, and you can ride around on bikes that are also free. If you're looking for a restful, non-luxury, beautiful spot, not far from Addis to relax for a few nights then this a great place to come. Great food, especially the fresh fish and wonderfully welcoming people. Accommodations are basic, clean, and could maybe be describe as "rustic." But their setting is spectacular, great lake views and fresh air.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adama, Ethiopia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

we spent 4 nights at this wonderfull place. Excellent fish for dinner, sleeping between the egrets birds near the lake in a nice room on stilts, swimming in the clean lakewater,biking to the other lakes in the area, a rabbit asking to share our breakfast, all totally integrated in the nature.
We forgot internet, we forgot a lot of hassle we had during travelling, nice to be disconnected for some days from everything except nature,sun,birds and a crater lake

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This lodge is certainly in a spectacular position (overlooking what is probably Debre Zeyit's most beautiful lake) but do not let this distract from the rooms on offer. All are, at best, basic (50% with no bathroom facility). Having made a reservation in advance, on arrival I declined the three offers of "tree rooms" closer to the lake (albeit with good views) due to the distance to reach the (dirty) communal toilet/shower - by the 'terrace' area, where I eventually took a room with an apology for an 'en suite'. The bed was extremely uncomfortable with unacceptably cheap and flimsy bed linen. However, all this would have been acceptable had the price compared with other basic hotels in the town and not exceeded the one 'quality' hotel I visited during my stay there!

'Complimentary' breakfast was the worst I had during the whole of my stay in the country: roll and cheap preserves, served with a flask of stewed tea ("Eggs by the breakfast" could have been obtained for a £1+ surcharge!).

My advice would be to not pre-book and look at alternative accommodation on arrival (maybe stopping in at the "Viewpoint" for an afternoon drink in the communal area).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKMALETRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Debre Zeyit
23.1 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
20.9 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hilton Addis Ababa
Hilton Addis Ababa
#11 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ag Palace Hotel
Ag Palace Hotel
#14 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
18.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#78 of 118 in Addis Ababa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
20.6 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#15 of 118 in Addis Ababa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge

Property: Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge
Address: Kebele 15 House 571, Debre Zeyit 7000, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Oromiya Region > Debre Zeyit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Debre Zeyit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice place with an amazing view over a clear volcanic, round lake in which you can swim or make a tour with the kayak. Climate of 26 degrees the whole year like in spring in the south of California or France.Run by a Belgium guy and an Ethiopian lady.We serve fresh fish and vegetables from the surrounding farms. Day trips and tours possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge Ethiopia/Debre Zeyit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing