We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible treatment of day travelers”
Review of Adulala Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishoftu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adulala Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Bishoftu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Paid the 200 ETB and came for the afternoon on a weekday. The menu was quite basic but the food was horrible. Soup should not be old and full of oil. It took an hour a half for the food to come and required more than one request before it arrived. The waiters were especially rude and also refused to connect us with management. We will never to go back again. Though Kuriftu is not perfect its 100% better than this place.

Room Tip: Do not come to this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingdgmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Went with 20+ colleagues for a planning meeting. The resort is spacious, compound is neat and well kept, lots of green, much better than any of the hotels and resorts in Debre Zeit. Staff also put in the effort, they’re very polite and helpful. But that’s just about all that’s good about the place. Details:
1. Food – An Average restaurant in Addis puts up much better dishes. There’s not much variety, and whatever is served really isn’t tasty at all. And dinner is maybe 2 new dished plus to lunch, after day 1 all the other days are a rehash. One evening, I found fish bones in my meatball and a small feather on the chicken’s skin. The next day’s fish at lunch came with its scales. these instances apparently didn’t merit an apology from the supervisor. A number of colleagues fell ill, myself included. Have attached a picture of what they brought me when I ordered fried eggs, sunny side up.
2. Power – at least 4 times every hour, there’s a power outage. Some of my colleagues didn’t have power in their rooms most of the time, but I will let them tell their stories themselves. We had to abandon power point presentations to a certain extent. We were not able to use the steam and sauna facilities FOR THE ENTIRE DURATION OF OUR 5 NIGHT STAY after the first night because there’s no power, and the generator does not have adequate power. The management seems to think that’s not their fault but EEPCO’s. When someone pays to come and use the facilities, service must be delivered. If there’s a power problem, get a bigger generator, because no one really cares whose fault it is.
3. Internet – There’s no internet. Only one day we had connection, it was on for 1 minute and off for 5, and a very weak connection at that. No connectivity whatsoever for the other days. AND the wifi signal is available either at the meeting hall or the spa area only. Not the rooms.
4. The little things – in the rooms, there’s nothing that tells you about the facilities available, you’ll have to figure that out yourself. The annoyingly frequent incidents where the housekeeping staff don’t leave any towels in my room were all answered with “please wait until power is back and we wash and dry some.” My bathroom has a window that allows direct view inside (this is true for most rooms) for anyone passing by, there’s no curtain or one-way sticker on the glass. The rack holding the satellite decoder is right at the bottom of the TV, which means the lower 20% of the TV is blocked from view.
All in all, I didn’t enjoy my stay at all. And its such a shame because the place is beautiful, and they have a very large space, which is a big advantage compared to the other hotels in the area! They could do so much! I don’t think the management is doing enough to protect their investment by making their customers happy. I don’t think I would go back unless I have to and will certainly not recommend anyone to do so.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kalamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The place is great , the rooms comfy, the road is good
The resort need to have more mosquito repellent or mosquito nets which apparently could not provide as they ran out of both ,shame.
We ordered T-bone steak and chicken fajitas what we get was something else served in pan cake
I recommend the chef to google the recipe and the menu is over priced.
I recommend the pasta it is good for a change

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank elias8470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It is an amazing place. A lot of effort was put into this place. The place is beautiful. The food was fresh and nicely cooked, tasty (which I found to be very rare in Ethiopia).

The service was also quite uniquely nice.

It comes with quite a high price tag, but one has options of day tours should you feel you dont want to spend on the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Its a good resort and have all the relevent resort ammenities but expensive , Lake is just like a Big pound but the locationan and the environment is very good. Its really heart touching before the suset, also you can see some different birds also, staff is good but try to negotiate as usual every where in Africa

Room Tip: Its is expensive but if your pocket allows then visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malik tariq m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

we were in Debere Ziet for about a week and enjoying our stay at Kuriftu resort. However, we wanted to change our hotel because the Jacuzzi at Kuriftu was not working at the time. When we went to Adulala to ask for rates and amenities, we were assured by the front desk person, how nice and warm their Jacuzzi was, so we moved from Kuriftu. That evening when we arrived at the spa area, to our surprise there was no Jacuzzi. Shocked and upset, we went to the front desk to see what was going on, and the person at the front desk (not the one that checked as in) treated us like crap. He made it look like asking for a jacuzzi was out of the question, (the people from the spa had already called him and let him know before we arrived). He did not even let us explain what was going on. no apology...Nothing!!! The next day we had to wait for an hour and a half for our room service order, because the person that took our order "forgot" to put our order to the kitchen. This place needs new management, and need to learn a thing or two about customer service. If you are in the area, I recommend you stay at Kuriftu, much better customer service, and better spa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The place and the way the resort built is very nice and beautiful .but the service is very bad i have never seen such a beautiful place with such kind of customer care.we payed at the entrance and was told it included for one meal and beverage but when we ask to eat we were told they don't serve Ethiopian food with that payment and then we were told to wait for the buffet after the other guests who were having meeting there eat.we were considered as second citizen in our country.i will never go back to that place again.
the management should improve and respect all customers regardless of race and age.
overall the only thing i enjoy is the environment and the traditional coffe.

Room Tip: higher ones are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14queenxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishoftu
0 mi away
Haile Resort Ziway
Haile Resort Ziway
#1 of 1 in Ziway
50 reviews
22.6 mi away
Sheraton Addis, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.9 mi away
Kuriftu Resort
Kuriftu Resort
#1 of 11 in Bishoftu
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Babogaya Lake Viewpoint Lodge
3.4 mi away
Asham Africa Hotel
Asham Africa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bishoftu
27 reviews
0 mi away
Markan Lodge
Markan Lodge
#5 of 16 in Bishoftu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adulala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adulala Resort

Address: Babo Gaya Lake Rd, Bishoftu, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Oromiya Region > Bishoftu
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bishoftu
Also Known As:
Adulala Resort Ethiopia/Bishoftu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing