We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and comfortable welcome to the beautiful Faroe Islands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur
Ranked #1 of 3 Vagar Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night in June 2014, occupying 2 of the 3 rooms available.

The host was very friendly and welcoming. Upon our departure she even gave us her mobile phone number so we could call her if we encountered difficulties during the remainder of our stay in the Faroe Islands.

The B&B occupies the upper floor of the host's 2 storey home and comprises a large guest lounge area with gorgeous southerly views over the bay, a self service kitchen, a large bathroom and then 3 guest bedrooms. I liked this layout because I felt that we had adequate privacy.

Both of the bedrooms we occupied had ocean views and were clean and airy. There was good free wifi. The beds were comfortable.

Breakfast was self service at a beautifully laid table overlooking the bay. The provisions supplied were adequate although the host struggled to provide gluten free food for one of our trio despite advance notice, however this is excusable.

We chose this B&B because of its convenient location just 10 minutes from the airport as we did not want to stay in the grim 62N airport hotel nor did we want to drive all the (45 minute) way to Torshavn having flown from Australia. Sandavagur is a small village with few amenities so I recommend that you stock up on supplies if you intend to stay in the area for more than a day or so, however the next village has two reasonable supermarkets and a petrol station. I venture that this B&B is the nicest place to stay on the island of Vagar.

My only criticism is that the whole B&B had a distant but noticeable cigarette odour. This didn't bother me as the weather was pleasant enough to justify leaving doors and windows ajar, however I venture that it may be difficult for a sensitive asthmatic.

Overall, a very clean, comfortable, attractively situated place to spend our first night in the Faroe Islands.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NorthernExplorer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

This bed & breakfast is situated close to the airport and is a perfect base for visiting the Faroe Islands. It has a stunning view over the village of Sandavágur and the ocean. The house is newly renovated and is spacious, light and with a tasteful style. The hosts are nice and very helpful with information about the Faroes, where to go in the area, etc.
I give this bed & breakfast my best recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MaudSimonsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank klausjanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank niels4442015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LarsEmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georg S, Ejer at Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sidsel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georg S, Direktør at Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagar Island
4.3 mi away
Hotel Vagar
Hotel Vagar
#1 of 1 in Sorvagur
120 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Foroyar
Hotel Foroyar
#1 of 5 in Torshavn
302 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Hafnia
Hotel Hafnia
#2 of 5 in Torshavn
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Torshavn
Hotel Torshavn
#4 of 5 in Torshavn
144 reviews
12.0 mi away
Guesthouse Marknagil
Guesthouse Marknagil
#5 of 5 in Torshavn
28 reviews
19.9 mi away
Gjaargardur Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur

Address: Ovastuhjallar 11 | Sandavágur, Vagar Island FO-360, Faroe Islands
Region: Faroe Islands > Vagar Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vagar Island
Price Range: £70 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Sandavágur Accomodation Type: Bed and Breakfast Number of rooms: 4 Welcome to Bed & Breakfast Sandavágur situated in the village Sandavágur on the island Vágar. A newly renovated house in a small village. We have a fantastic view over the village and the ocean. There are 4 cosy bedrooms, 2 common bathrooms and 1 extra toilet and a living room. There is access to WI-FI internt and flatscreen TV. Reservation can be made via phone or mail. Payment at arrival, no credit cards. There is a cash machine ATM in the village. Best regards Pauline & Georg Sudurgard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Sandavagur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing