We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Mekong!”
Review of Sala Don Khone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Don Khone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sala Don Khone
Ranked #9 of 10 Don Khone B&B and Inns
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“On the Mekong!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Literally on the Mekong in the floating 'bungalow' ( room) at the Sala Don Khone. Comfortable enough with Ac and fan... though as others have said looking as though it could do wit an overhaul. Had a third bed in the room..used it to spead stuff out- limited hanging space. Bathroom OK though shower door didn't close! Nice to sit on little verandah looking over river though chairs not very comfortable.Decided just to have two starters for evening meal - was brought the wrong thing first obviously difficulty in understanding request and then the tomato soup very watery and not really recognisable as tomato and the Thai fishcakes were rather bizarre-I then remembered that potatoes not usual here.. and these 'fishcakes' came as little round rubbery disks - unacceptable texture for me..and wasn't sure there was any fish in them. Just put it down to bad choices by me! Had a great day out on hired bikes from the lady opposite the gate onto the lane.. though had to avoid the mud right outside as there were building works going on opposite.Cycled around the island.. watched people rebuilding their river bank landing area..they didn't mind!... and visited the place where the French started their railway across Don Khone to Don Det to avoid the Mekong Falls.. mad ideas but you have to admire their vision and ingenuity!Cycled back along this rail trail.Met a number of travellers looking for the Falls... maps not available and signage a bit hit and miss! Made an evening trip to the Li Phi Falls - gorgeous sunset and worth paying the entry fee to enter the falls and beach area.There is a Golden Gibbon in a cage in garden opposite but it didn't bother us too much.. though would rather see it free.Did use the pool which was pleasant for cooling off.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tearlejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    71
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
19
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed in the French Suite for 3 nights and we were very comforatble, with the cooling tiles on the floor, reasonably comfortable king bed, good AC and fan (if a bit noisy) and clean bathroom with hot water, if below normal water pressure. Also the only place we stayed that had netting on the 4 poster beds.
It was a nice hideaway from the dusty track and the heat.
Restaurant was open with fans, so pretty hot if you were there in the day time, but not too bad at night and for breakfast. Other restaurants in town were similar in quality, so plenty of choice, but Sala Don Khone is on the river, so sunsets are spectacular. We tried others as well.
Need to come down stream from Ban Nakasang by boat to get to the island and to get anywhere off the island as well, but it is a 45 minute trip on the river, which is beautiful and very pleasant. Just keep in mind it is hard and slow to get anywhere.
Various waterfalls on the Mekong (really rapids) are spectacular in the dry season so must be unbelievable in the wet. Went down south near the Cambodian border to the Dolphins and got to see a couple.
You can get a bus from Pakse to Ban Nakasang, but we chose to get a private car and then another to get back up to Champasak. Was expensive but a lot more comfortable.
4000 Islands is a really spectacular place and well worth the additional time and cost to go down there rather than try to do a day trip from Pakse. We could easily have stayed a lot longer than 3 nights, especially as Don Kong is also not that far away. The Hotel is in the village so plenty of other things to see close by and plenty of cold Beer Lao and sunsets to relax by.
We didn't see a better hotel or guest house on the island so were very satisfied staying at Sala Don Khone

Room Tip: French Suite is off the water and a little more expensive than the units on the water, but a lot lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltsy372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our room was spacious with air con ,very little hanging space.Typical wooden structure so looked charming,noise could be heard even breathing from next door! Our room had large balcony which was good but chairs very uncomfortable,the previous information about the monkey is true apparently it has been rescued and is well looked after,we did not like to see it in a cage

Room Tip: We did not see inside any other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The picture across the rickety planks is not one of this hotel. The reception and restaurant are adjacent to the river. The accommodation was across adjacent small dirt road. We stayed in a bungalow No5 with a small veranda that overlooked the gardens and rice fields. The bungalow itself was ok, air con and ceiling fan. However the mattresses had had their day and you could feel the springs. The shower pressure was low so not a good flow. There is a monkey in a cage in the garden, so even if you overcome the uncomfortable matress he will wake you up at sunrise with his screeching. Ate in the hotel restaurant, no probles there. Normal breakfast, nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel did not honour our booking although made more than 48 hours through booking . Com. Excuse was that hadnt bothered checking their emails. They suggested somewhere else for us . Overpriced and not good so we did not take it . Hotel looked a bit tired and to justify price needs overhaul
There is much nicer accomodation on this island close by at a third of the price . Try Pans place instead for nice rooms with ensuite and terrace and garden .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AMD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Don Khone hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Well we had a floating room, number 5, and while it was slightly worn, we loved it! Laying in bed looking t the view, or sitting on the veranda inches from the water watching the world go by. It was hard to get up and go and see the iChat's, after all we had em out he door.
Staff were nice and breakfast was good. They even rang our tour privider to confirm what our pick up was as we hadn't been told.
Come to Don Khone now and stay here before it all changes. In 5 years time no telling what wil have happened to this little paradise!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We enjoyed staying in this floating studio for three nights. Quite unusual hotel room as it bobs up and down. We liked watching the boats passing by, there was a kind of balcony on the level of the room and a rooftop terrace upstais what we didn't use much. Boats passing by, all of them are motor-boats and of course they are quite noisy sometimes, but during darkness traffic stops. The only thing I would suggest is to have better curtains as it was as bright as day in the room after 6am. The cover photo here in tripadvisor shows a houseboat looking like a ramshackle hut, we didn't see such a one, ours was much nicer and more modern.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Don Khone
0.0 mi away
Pon Arena Hotel
Pon Arena Hotel
#1 of 2 in Don Khong
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pomelo Restaurant & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sala Done Khone Hotel
Sala Done Khone Hotel
#5 of 10 in Don Khone
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pans Guest House
Pans Guest House
#2 of 10 in Don Khone
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Eden
Little Eden
#1 of 16 in Don Det
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Don Khone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Don Khone

Property: Sala Don Khone
Address: Khone Village, Khong District, Don Khone, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Don Khone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Don Khone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Sala Don Khone Hotel Don Khone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing