We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“legendary Rajasthan hospitality”
Review of Indra Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Indra Vilas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alsisar
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Indra Vilas, is no doubt one of the largest and most beautiful Havelis in Alsisar, Shekhawati Region of Rajasthan. We had heard great reviews about this place from few of our friends and office colleagues. The place is not too far from Gurgaon, about 225 kms and takes around 4 hours if you leave at a good time in the morning and not take too many breaks.

Indra Vilas is a gem and the best one in the area. The others are either too expensive or not as beautiful as this place. This is perfect value for money. The haveli has a large compound, more than 10 acres, very well maintained, green areas, beautifully maintained old painted walls. Reminds of a prosperous bygone era when the wealthy trader owned this... and now bought and restored by the present owners who run it as a beautiful resort.

We were there in October 2010, so it was perfect time to enjoy the swimming pool, play table tennis, badminton and other things they have to offer. We enjoyed the pool and were served tea and breakfast by the pool... we repeated this again in the afternoon and now tea was replaced by chilled Beer :) Kids loved running around the huge heritage mansion.

Rooms and stay: We stayed in the lower block which is larger than the upper one and opens to the garden and faces the swimming pool. The rooms were spacious, with beautiful period furniture, painted walls and all the other modern comforts. The bathrooms are spacious as well with bathtubs; very clean with modern plumbing and electrical fixtures.

Food: was excellent as we got everything we asked for and enjoyed the most authentic Rajasthani cuisine... I love the Laal Maas and one day we enjoyed my wife's favorites - Daal, Baati, Choorma with lots of Ghee... Ofcourse, we did not ask for continental kind of stuff, but I was told even that is decent as the resort caters to lot of foreigners and international groups as well. Infact, we saw one Italian couple enjoying wine and early dinner on the roof top while enjoying the sunset. It was so personlised, and later when I asked the Manager he told me that they had set up the place and everything at the exact place where the couple wanted and the way they wanted.

Rejuvenation: Do not miss the ayurvedic body massage!!! Apart from this I also had the traditional Indian Head Massage and my wife enjoyed the traditional Indian Foot Massage. They were very rejuvenating and worth every penny!!!

Extras, things to do: The manager and staff was very attentive to our needs. They asked us what else they can do to make our stay memorable... and recommended a visit to the village temple, walk around the village to have a look at the deserted havelis, old painted walls and trust me they are all a photographer's delight. They also sent with us a hotel staff who was a local and very knowledgeable... We also took a camel cart ride starting from the Indravilas along the perimeter of the village, through the fields, old temples, tube wells, through the village witnessing the village life, mud houses labelled as BPL (below poverty line), kids waving and running behind our cart... We bought biscuit packets and distributed among the children. The hotel staff had put a few mattresses and clean white sheets for a comfortable seating on the camel cart and also gave us a couple of umbrellas just in case it rains or if it was too sunny for us. It was such a lovely experience for my 4 year old daughter who had not seen a village like this before. Indravilas also arranged evening entertainment with local music and dancing by the pool side. My daughter loved the puppet show and even bought a few puppets - Raja, Rani, Camel and snake!!!

The best part about this place is that it was not at all commercial. Everything and everyone was so genuine and respectful. No one pushed us for any activity and most of the extras like camel cart ride etc were so reasonably priced that I was surprised. I think they aim to promote some livelihood for the local villagers through such things which was again very genuine and nice on their part. I always left a few generous tips for their kindness and legendary hospitality.

All in all, a must visit and beautiful experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the lower block, facing the pool
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashimprabhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Indra Vilas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

I was in Alsisar Village in 2012 with a group of friends and the hotel is quite good and well priced. Is exactly in the center of the village with a very good pool in the middle. Is an old haveli, rooms are good, staff very friendly. Above all Alsisar is a small village far from all the mess of the world. Quite recommended this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpertIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The place is absolutely serene, people in the hotel will make you feel really royal, beautiful spacious rooms with excellent food and pool, will definitely recommend a place to visit.
An evening drink at sand dunes is most unforgettable experience. Best time to be there is between Aug-Dec

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharmamanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

A 5-6 hrs journey from Gurgaon...a bit inconsistent road journey from excellent roads in patches to WIP roads...the moment you enter into the Haveli, it feels you are entering into different era. The Haveli is great experience for somebody who is not a native of the state of Rajasthan. Excellent services, good spacious rooms, nice staff very courteous and welcoming (true to Rajasthani tradition). A tour around the village will be a good experience only if you can find a local to help you with the history a bit. Good Place for a two day break....make sure to bring in some books to read as the second day can be a bit unexciting as you dont have many place for sightseeing (if that is what you had in mind). The overall experience is good and relaxing...though wont recommend the SPA. Food is decent with limited menu. BUT OVERALL THE SERVICE QUALITY IS EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: Go for the Suits facing the pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Haveli with a lot of charme. Rooms could be better. Nice place for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonardo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had read about the Shekhawati region and wanted to visit it to experience it first hand. The region is close to Gurgaon, where we live - about 225kms, or 4-5 hours of road journey. The journey is largely on a state highway which is in reasonable shape, except for a 25-30 km stretch where the road is very narrow and largely broken which will doubtless give a hard time to the chassis of your car. That aside, we were pretty comfortable with the added bonus of lovely mustard fields contrasting with the stark, barren desert landscape all along the way which made the ride visually appealing.

Alsisar is a small village in the region, which probably was prosperous in the past but has since seen a large number of its people migrate to bigger cities leaving the village in half-ruins with a large number of deserted havelis most of which are being slowly and inexorably consumed by time. Indra Vilas is one such haveli which belonged to a wealthy trader in the past, but has since been sold to someone who has restored it and now running it as a resort. There isnt much to do in the village as such, except seeing the old havelis with their beautifully painted walls and frescoes and of course, the dusty-mouldy remains of an era gone by. Most of the villagers are involved in small trade with perhaps a small number subsisting on agriculture - whatever the harsh, arid desert land will let grow. The haveli is well maintained, with many rooms, each of which ranges in size from very large to huge.

We went in the winters, so couldnt take a dip in the pool, but it looked pretty nice nonetheless. Stay at one of the pool facing rooms on the ground floor - given the limited number of travellers the place gets, getting a room of your choice shouldnt be an issue. The staff are very courteous and will arrange for everything that you need. We had a small bon fire where the staff even arranged for some locals to perform a traditional Rajasthani dance. The food was decent, though I was hoping for something more Rajasthani (Dal Bati, Lal Maas etc) but unfortunately wasnt available. I was told that they could arrange for a camel safari, jeep ride in the desert but we couldnt take that up for the lack of time. There's a small liqour vend about 1 km from the haveli should you need anything, but dont expect it to offer anything but a basic selection of liquors. There is also a shop selling traditional Rajasthani handicraft etc bang opposite the entrance of the haveli, buying from which might actually help support the local community.

If a haveli stay is what you are after, also consider staying at the next door Alsisar Mahal which is much grander. If you have the time and the inclination, try and visit Mandawa which will be a more authentic Shekhawati experience.

Room Tip: Pool facing on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bastaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Pros:
- Awesome rooms, with excellent royal bed.
- Excellent interiors of room with hand paintings and drawings done on walls.
- Very good staff
- Good food by taste and quality (Indian standards)
- They arrange for everything you need.
- Clean rooms and bath. Big rooms.
- Really liked the garden area and paintings/drawings on wall all around the place.
- Loved the collection of artist in LA Boutique shop – very rare collection of excellent hand paintings with some very rare collection of very old postcards and paintings along with other stuff. Very polite and very nice to talk with.
- Early morning you can see peacocks in the garden around swimming pool.
- Very fresh air and pleasant stay

Cons –
- Missing dressing table in our room. It was difficult to dress, as mirror was only in bathroom.
- No TV in room – but it is sort of good as it gives more of village haveli feeling.
- Credit card machine not working – though they arrange for a guy to travel with us to nearest city jhunjhunu to collect the cash – once we have withdrawn the same from ATM.
- Some portions of walls below the table were having minor cracks – could be due to old haveli.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arpit g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsisar
0.1 mi away
Alsisar Mahal
Alsisar Mahal
#1 of 2 in Alsisar
227 reviews
19.3 mi away
Castle Mandawa Hotel
Castle Mandawa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Mandawa
785 reviews
23.7 mi away
Vivaana
Vivaana
#1 of 14 in Mandawa
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hotel Shekhawati
Hotel Shekhawati
#3 of 14 in Mandawa
340 reviews
15.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Piramal Haveli
19.2 mi away
Hotel Mandawa Haveli
Hotel Mandawa Haveli
#4 of 14 in Mandawa
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indra Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indra Vilas

Address: Alsisar 302001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jhunjhunu District > Alsisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alsisar
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Indra Vilas 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsisar is one of the finest, yet untouched gems of Shekhawati. This we have endeavored to polish, protect and preserve for you, the connoisseurs, who care and feel for the great inheritance bequeathed by events of history. The hundred-room haveli built by Indrachand Kejriwal in a ten-acre compound extending to ancient wells built to grand scale, welcomes guests to stay in splendor of the past with modern comforts. Walk around the village to explore the art hidden in the profusion of mansions and temples dotting every street. Sit around the village pond chatting with inquisitive kids, artisans and wizened old folks. Ride a camel for dinner on the dunes, in the backdrop of folk dances and lilting tunes. Come, indulge yourselves with the legendary Rajasthan hospitality. While you are pampered, the village is reinvigorated, blowing off the sand from hidden frescoes and reviving the rich traditions of the bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Indra Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing