We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity on Lake Como”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Villa Le Ortensie
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serenity on Lake Como”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for 3 days in April,this place is magical. We were warmly greeted by the host when we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble. The B&B has stunning views overlooking the Lake. The quaint village is perfect for walking. I would highly recommend this B&B to any one.

Room Tip: Recommend the lago room-stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    29
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
108
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a wonderful 3 days at the B&B in mid June. The hosts were lovely and cooked fantastic meals. The view was one of the best, meals on the terrace always enjoyable. Fairly simple rooms, but lots of character and the lake view rooms are worth paying a bit extra. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda_3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently returned from a trip to Italy (May 2014) and the B&B Villa Le Ortensie was our favorite. What a marvelous place. Our room overlooked Lake Como and the view was magical. The location is quiet and at most all you hear are birds and in the distance, occasional church bells. Our room was roomy, comfortable and had a great balcony. The bed and pillows were comfortable too. Our daughter stayed in an adjoining room with 2 twin beds. Even the bathroom was a welcomed surprise since it was large and included a spacious shower. Though the place was special what stood out for us was meeting Giorgio and Leti, our friendly hosts. Sweet, attentive, helpful beyond words and good cooks. We also had a good experience in Venice however the B&B Ortensie simply stood out in excellence. Definitely try both local restaurants. The food and service were good at both. In summary, this B&B offers an experience that is friendly, comfortable, relaxing and simply unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigerlilly1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

An amazingly run B&B by two genuinely nice people who went out of their way to make mine and my girlfriend's holiday truly magical. I cannot praise Giorgio and Leti enough for their hospitality and attention to detail. I have recommended this little gem to all my close friends and feel obliged to divulge this well kept secret of lake como to all that are willing to listen. If only more hotels and B&Bs were like this then the world would be a better place. Be warned that if you like bland, generic and commercialised hotels then please stay away from this place as you'll only ruin it for everyone else. This B&B has character, pedigree and most of all warmth. Having read the reviews prior to booking our trip I reserved judgment given some mixed reviews in the past. It seems that since Giorgio and Leti took over the experiences of all that have stayed at this fantastically run B&B have been nothing short of wonderful. I congratulate the owners for their hard work and persistence. Please keep up the good work as I will be returning again for more of your splendid hospitality.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just returned from a five-day stay at the beautiful Villa Le Ortensie. We can't recommend the wonderful hospitality of the owners Giorgio and Leti more highly. They went out of their way to make our stay warm and welcoming - from their thoughtful recommendations about places to visit and the best way to get around, to the wonderful food served at breakfast and dinner. We chose to eat in the Villa for three of the five nights we stayed and ate as well there as we did at the local restaurants we visited - in fact better. Contrary to the observations of a previous reviewer, we stayed in a room on the lower ground floor and had a magnificent panoramic view of the lake and the mountains. Also, don't be put off by the short walk from the car park to the villa - it's only five minutes and a very pretty stroll. Plus the fact that the village of Molina is mostly inaccessible by motor vehicles makes it perfectly tranquil and retain its Medieval charm. If you're up for long walks in the most beautiful scenery somewhere remote that offers a home away from home, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBOrtensie, Owner at B&B Villa Le Ortensie, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello John,

I would like to thank you very much for your magnificent review!
It was really nice to have you and Tibor as our guests during some days in our B&B: we were pleased to spend time with you and have opportunity to talk a bit about us and our lives.
Hope to see you again one day.
Sincerely yours,
Giorgio, Leticia and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koersel, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed there july 2013 with 2 other friends. Molina is a nice little village, very quiet, nice restaurants (2). You have to park the car at the entrance of the village and it is quite a walk to the b&b but that's no problem. We looked at the website and the photos of the b&b and read all the comments and had very high expectations. Also, the rooms are not cheap. So for us it was a disappointment : old rooms, old windows, old bathroom, no luxury, no comfort, breakfast was ok but we expected that little bit more (some bread, sometimes from the previous day, you had to ask for cheese or meat, sometimes they offered pancakes to some guests,there was homemade cake...). I had left my sunglasses in the office when we arrived, I looked everywhere, didn't know where I had left them, wanted to buy another pair but I decided to ask if someone had maybe found them and it was then that the lady from the b&b told us she had found some sunglasses in reception/office....weird....We might go back to Molina/Como but we will be looking for another b&b or hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBOrtensie, Owner at B&B Villa Le Ortensie, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hello,

We are very sorry to have received a so bad review about your staying in B&B Villa le Ortensie.
We would like to inform you that lot of the remarks you have made in your review have been known during last season and we took immediate action to solve them.
Most of the weak points were due to a management which was high below to our standards and recommendations. For this reason we have decided to dismiss the 2013 managers and we will take personally care of the B&B in 2014 season. Also some structural points have been improved with advantage in terms of comfort.
We hope to have the chance to count you among our guests again in order to demonstrate you what we have been able to do to improve service, comfort and welcome of our guests.
Thank you again for your feedback that is helpful to improve our B&B.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Kindly yours,
Giorgio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Simply brilliant:
Just a short drive from Como in the hills overlooking the lake.Great view, generous hosts, clean spacious rooms all set within a cute little village with a couple of restaurants within a few minutes walk. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yayoyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molina di Faggeto Lario
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
4.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
4.9 mi away
Agriturismo Al-Marnich
Agriturismo Al-Marnich
#1 of 1 in Schignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Villa Le Ortensie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa Le Ortensie

Property: B&B Villa Le Ortensie
Address: Via Mario Prada 8, 22020 Molina di Faggeto Lario, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Molina di Faggeto Lario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Molina di Faggeto Lario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is housed in a pleasantly situated villa, its balconies all face towards the Como branch of the lake. Thanks to its proximity to Bellagio, our romantic bed and breakfast is the ideal starting point to discover the most delightful places of the lake, all easily reachable by car or even better by boat. The rooms lovely furnished along the years, create a refined and cosy atmosphere that brings you in another time. Quiet and relax are assured by the garden that is disposed in terraces, offering green romantic spots. Take the opportunity to spend an unforgettable staying in the most relaxing, romantic and cosy Italian B&B. You will feel among friends in a familiar, warmly, atmosphere that will transform your holiday on a fabulous event full of pleasant souvenirs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your B&B Villa Le Ortensie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Villa Le Ortensie Lake Como/Molina Di Faggeto Lario, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing