We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Minelska Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kala Nera
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Irene is in charge and is the best! Could not be more helpful. Hotel is on the water and has a lovely deck/patio at water's edge. Rooms are excellent with lots of space. We were two couples in two rooms separated by a patio. We strongly recommend a stay at Mineiska!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Consider R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

A Boutique hotel very close to the seaside, rooms are wonderfully decorated with country style furniture and comfy beds. Breakfast is excellent includes a variety of local delicacies, fresh fruit, juices etc. Service is friendly and very homely. Good choice for a weekend retreat or longer given it's location next to the sea but also close to the mountains can be visited all year round.

Room Tip: Sea view in the front rooms, quiet retreat with garden view in the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nikos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We happened to be visiting Volos and considered spending two nights once again at Minelska on our way up there. We were here again some months back and we loved what this hotel provides and also the people behind this business.

LOCATION: It is less than 20kms from Volos and this makes its location unique.

CHECK-IN / RECEPTION: The welcome was warm and checking-in was smooth, swift and efficient.

THE STAY: It was memorable, impeccably clean suite, smartly designed ideal for a romantic getaway. Two nights were two little out here as the accommodation was so cozy and we wished we had time for more. Even the bathroom was so nicely designed with ample of toiletries, fresh clean towels and everything was of high standards. I adore this hotel as its interiors remind us of country-style manors in Europe. I had the opportunity to see other suits and each and every one was unbeatable.

I would not recommend bringing children along if you plan to come here.

BREAKFAST: Very different to what we usually have in hotels! Homemade dishes, big variety, delicious tastes that can meet the expectations of the very demanding guests. Breakfast, the first meal of the day is taken across the street at the owners’ Minelska Café Bar at the terrace right on the beachfront. You have the feeling that you are at a trendy café in a way, -a café that is so different from the usual restaurants we often come across in hotels.

As you enjoy breakfast you can watch the fishing boats going by. It is fun I can tell you and there is no way not to enjoy the stay here.

TIP: The coastal village of Kala Nera is very popular with locals and it is an ideal base for mountain excursions but also popular as a beach resort with sandy and pebbled beaches.


IN ALL: We had another memorable stay and can’t wait to be back. For all the above reasons I highly recommend it. Don’t bother to seek accommodation elsewhere as Minelska is a Steady Value!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this beach front resort by chance and were not disappointed. It's built on a small property, but what impressed us was the Owner's attention to detail. Minelska is built out of rocks which the Owner picked and bought from the Volos area. The gate to the property is stunning, as is the furniture in the rooms. Quality bedding, furniture and breakfast made for an unforgettable stay.
The resort has a warm and cosy atmosphere which is different from the typical hotels we have stayed at in Greece.
Enjoy your frappe on the hotel sofas just across the road, or enjoy a dip in the water.
Although the translation To Kala Nera is good waters, there are better beaches in Volos, however this did not bother us, as we were satisfied in staying at a great, clean and wonderful place and walking or driving to nearby beaches. Cafés and shops are literally at your doorstep.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Minelska and have recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avidholidayer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We came for 1 night, 5 friends on the 2 big rooms that are located on the front with the big balconies.
We would definitely reccommend and hope we come back soon...
The hotel is nicely designed, well maintained. Stylish, comfortable, everything you would want for your vacation. located on the waterfront of Kala Nera it offers luxury with the beautiful sea close by.
I would like to mention the remarkable service of the staff and especialy the one and only- Irin who took care of us and fulfilled every request we dared to ask.
Breakfast was excellent as well with plenty of choices, nicely served outside, in close proximity to the waterfront.

Room Tip: We would like to recommend the top front roomps with the balcony towards the sea - very inspiring vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ido N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a genuine gem. The rooms, service and staff (mostly made up of the owners family) are faultless. The rooms are beautifully furnished and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I was desperately in need of a quiet, relaxing break and was not disappointed. I cannot recommend Minelska highly enough, it stands apart from anything else in the region in terms of providing a thoroughly enjoyable stay in idyllic surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent only one night at Minelska but it was enough to make us love it. The name of the Resort refers to the Icelandic “darling” or “my love”, and it is ideal for the independent traveler who wants to combine a holiday in nature with the luxury of space in perfect harmony with the environment.

LOCATION: Centrally located, in the beautiful seaside village of Kala Nera, only 18 km from Volos.

PROPERTY: The Resort consists of 2 fully renovated traditional mansions (a total of six exclusive elegant suites that are designed in the best way offering both privacy and comfort to its guests.
The original building dates back to the 18th century. The current owner kept its unique Pelioritic traditional architecture and added charm and luxury to all suites which are decorated with passion, taste and sophistication to meet the needs of the very demanding guest. The interior décor is made by the owner’s wife who paid attention to the least detail. (I asked to see two other suites and I was impressed).

ARRIVAL & SERVICE: The welcoming was warm even though that day the manageress in charge had left the premises without a notice and the owners were really anxious in case something went wrong with the new arrivals as it was a Friday and new guests were expected. Of course we found out the next day at breakfast but I can say the boys at the bar with the help of Thanasi –the owners’ son did not let us down. They were warm and welcoming like professionals. We were shown to our suite, we had help with the luggage and Thanasi helped me a lot with the Wi Fi connection in the room, which is free by the way! The only thing we missed was probably the complimentary treat which is usually a bowl of fruit and some wine, but this was not important for us.

THE VALLARI SUITE: This was the suite we had on the ground floor overlooking the garden. The country chic interior captures a marriage of local stone and wood with a palette of earthy colours. Its stone walls, the wooden ceiling and floor, the corner fireplace in the living room, create the most romantic and cozy atmosphere. It has more or less the ambience of a French country-style manor house. The suites are ideal for a romantic getaway and I would not recommend that you bring children along.

BEDROOM: The bedroom was not that big I can say, but the king size bed with the Coco Mat linen fabrics make the difference and preserved a state of constant serenity. Facilities like robes and slippers, a hair dryer, a safe, a Satellite TV and a mini bar were provided, but our complimentary treat was only a bottle of water. It was nice and cool though and it was just what we actually wanted the moment we got inside the suite.

The door of our bedroom overlooked the back garden but the facilities out there seemed to be private because they were right outside our own suite but I guess other guests can use the Jacuzzi as well upon request. The garden’s Jacuzzi was indeed a nice surprise but I did not have the time to enjoy it even for once. One night was too little!

BATHROOM: Ιt was roomy and functional with a hydro-massage shower and the toiletries were the well-known Apvita brand with natural ingredients, -a brand of high standards. A plastic cap was missing though and it was missing from almost all other hotels we visited. I recommend that you take along your own.

BREAKFAST: It is taken right across the street by the Resort’s popular Minelska Café Bar at the waterfront terrace. What a treat to have breakfast out here each morning!
It is a buffet but so different from the usual ones.
Everything here is homemade, ingredients are fresh and of high quality. The variety is so big that it is not possible to try everything in one morning. There were different kinds of jams and marmalades, desserts of different kinds, fresh orange juice, seasonal fruit and a fruit salad, yoghurt and honey, -anything you can think of, and things you cannot imagine! In one word I can call it is a “feast of taste and variety”.

THE VILLAGE: Kala Nera is one of the many coastal villages of the south-western Pelion with both sandy and pebble beaches on the Pagasitikos Gulf and only 20 km from Volos. Because the village is by the coast it does not mean that it is ideal only for summer holidays. On the contrary it can be just as interesting in winter as well. It has a unique location and it is close to Chania, the ski resort of Pelion. I find the village an ideal base for mountain excursions and have in mind that the village provides hospitality and services the year round especially in winter when availability of accommodation is limited on Mount Pelion.

The beachfront road is usually busy and crowded both in the day and night because there are all kinds of restaurants and café bars lined up one next to the other. All kinds of festivals take place frequently especially during the summer months. Popular singers and bands come to the area, and I was really impressed by the many cultural events posted on sign posts throughout the village. There was one such festival right next to Minelska that night but our room was soundproof from the double glazed windows so that was not a problem at all.

ACTIVITIES: Horse riding and trekking are two popular activities here like in the entire region of Pelion. Ask directions from the reception (in the Minelska Café) and visit the nearby village of Milies for a ride with the Pelion Historic Train. The trip might be a bit expensive but it is interesting! There are so many things you can see and do here even off the beaten track.

PELION CUSINE: The whole region prides for its cuisine, its meze and tsipouro. Don’t order something specific unless you want to have it so much. Otherwise leave it to the owner of each restaurant. Each one knows well what to serve so rely on them. The more tsipouro you have the better the meze you will get!
Another alternative is to ask for the Pilioritikous mezedes right from the beginning and ask to have them in smaller portions. They are not expensive unless you pick to eat at a gourmet restaurant.

RECOMMENDED RESTAURANTS: I highly recommend PARIS Taverna for good authentic local food. Both seafood, meze, and kebab. The service is amazing, good value for money, and it is so popular that people remain standing waiting to find a seat. It is right on the beach and we went there for dinner. The people running it are professionals. Check for my extended review under the name of the restaurant.

Another restaurant that I highly recommend is IBISKOS. We went there for lunch and what we had was great. It is a few metres further down from Paris and next to Enalion Hotel. (Check for my extended review under the name of the restaurant).

IN ALL: I highly recommend both the Resort where we stayed and also the seaside village of Kala Nera. I consider both a good choice for year round holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kala Nera
3.3 mi away
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agios Georgios Nilias
61 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aeolos Hotel
Aeolos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chorefto
123 reviews
8.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
Boutique Hotel Kentrikon
#1 of 3 in Agios Ioannis
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Amanita
Amanita
#1 of 6 in Tsagkarada
299 reviews
9.2 mi away
Leda Village Resort
Leda Village Resort
#1 of 2 in Chorto
178 reviews
6.2 mi away
12 Months Luxury Resort
12 Months Luxury Resort
#2 of 6 in Tsagkarada
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minelska Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minelska Resort

Address: Costal Road, Kala Nera, Kala Nera 37010, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Kala Nera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kala Nera
Price Range: £79 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minelska Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In undoubtedly one of the most beautiful and unspoilt areas of Greece, at the Pelion Peninsula, you will find Minelska Resort, a four - star accommodation at a preferential location in the seaside village Kala Nera. Minelska Resort is characterized by the traditional architecture of the area with a sophisticated, modern touch. The original building dates from 1886 and has been renovated with lots of passion by the current owners, according to the strict rules of Pelioritic architecture. It has been transformed into a luxurious mansion with preserved details, such as wooden ceilings and stone walls, and offers all the amenities to satisfy even the most demanding visitor. Minelska is synonymous with hospitality, comfort and an excellent service, and is an ideal destination for the independent traveller who desires luxurious holidays close to nature, culture and entertainment. Minelska Resort features high quality service in order to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our hospitable representitives will answer any questions that may arise, and it is our pleasure to provide you with information about divine beaches to visit, inspiring routes at Pelion and all kinds of activities (horseback riding, bicycle riding, swimming, skiing, trekking, nostalgic train of Pelion) to participate in, so you can get acquianted with this unique, impressive area. Our modern Cafe Bar Minelska has a beautiful waterfront terrace with an inspiring view at the Pagasitic Bay. Guests can start their day with a rich breakfast or satisfy their appetite from delicious finger-food and salads to cool refreshments and special exotic cocktails. Moments of relaxation are also to be found in the intimate setting of our private patio, where you can retreat yourself underneath an umbrella at one of the comfortable lounge chairs, or just set your mind free in the inviting Jacuzzi with your favourite drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Minelska Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing