We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde world splendour”
Review of Glenshiel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magoebaskloof
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenshiel Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magoebaskloof
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

Our sojourn was brief but enjoyable, stopping off for dinner only. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings, marred only by the ongoing (ever?) roadworks. The food was simple but delicious, especially the chicken noodle soup.

Perhaps a little pricey for a set menu, but I'd definitely go back

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tgerntholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

We booked into Glenshiel just for one night and in a way, we are glad! The food was so magnificent, well prepared and presented, we fear that several more nights would have led to self imposed exile at a health spa!
The location is excellent for the Magoebaskloof area. The grounds are pretty and well tended. Joe - the amazingly adept general manager, maitre d' and host, was very pleasant and efficient. Our room was large and had both airconditioning and a fireplace which was ready to be lit. The bathroom had both a bath and shower.
Do no expect state of the art, comtemporary surroundings or anything reminiscent of a hotel chain! - the atmosphere at Glenshiel is of a genteel country house which suited us down to the ground. The decoration is country, shabby chic and in fact it wouldn't be out of place in Perthshire or the Cotswolds. The dining area is well decorated and intimate and also has a fireplace to take the chill off the misty evenings. I would definitely recommend Glenshiel to anyone travelling to the Magoebaskloof or Tzaneen area.

Room Tip: The dinner and breakfast are first class - the best eggs benedict ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janismac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Excellent location, beautiful surroundings, very friendly staff. They make you feel like you've come home. Only negative thing I can say is that their food was a bit too spicy for me, but maybe it's just me, and maybe I just chose the wrong things on the menu. The other people at the restaurant the evening was very happy with their meals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_K1VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel. It is very nicely located to see all of the interesting sites around the area. The rooms are large with all of the finer details taken care of including a fireplace that is set up and ready to light once you arrive in your room (for the cooler nights). The food is excellent, the breakfast is perfect, the view from the main hotel area in the morning is wonderful. And most importantly, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They want to make sure that you have an excellent stay. I went here with my wife and 3 young children and have absolutely nothing to complain about. We will definitely stay here again when we are back in the area. Keep up the excellent work!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are very nice with a lovely courtyard and small goldfish pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchopty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

It has been one of our favourite places to be for many years. Was last there about 14 years ago for a birthday celebration. Sadly we noticed a down side which was never there before. No hot water in our room so we had to move next door / low water pressure / something wrong with the lighting as it was very dim - especially in the bathroom / broken light fittings in the dining / breakfast room / roof needs a spot of paint / garden soil extremely dry and no gardener around etc. However, the scenery is so lovely. Great bird life and in Spring the blossoms are everywhere. Food? The food was good except for the lamb which was so tough it was impossible to eat it and we noticed that not only our table, but the other guests were sending it back to the kitchen. One couldn't even get it off the bone! However - the staff are extremely helpful and friendly but seem to lack supervision.

Room Tip: At the present time don't let them give you Room 8 (no hot water!). First ask if the hot water...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenshielHotel, Owner at Glenshiel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guests,
We recently installed a 100m deep borehole on the property and subsequently have found a fairly frequent build up of sand in the pipes and tap filters. I am pleased to report that good water pressure to all rooms has been restored and a regular filter checking process has been implemented. Our geysers are also all in working order. Hot baths and showers restored!

The light fittings and bulbs are receiving attention.

Thank you for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I recently spent an evening at the hotel on my way to Mpumalanga with my girlfriend. We enjoyed a lovely 4-course dinner which was served with great enthusiasm from the staff. The food was of a great quality and one could taste the love with which it was made. Breakfast was also more of the same. Have to take my hat off to the kitchen staff...the food was amazing. The service from the rest of Joe's team is also very good.
This is somewhat of a country-style hotel. Nonetheless it is quite cosy and relaxed, with comfortable rooms (with fireplace). It is great for a stopover or a longer stay in the area...would recommend it if you are ever in Magoebaskloof.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vido934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Had a great stay at Glen Shiel. A return visit seven years later. Rooms with fireplace were just as I remembered and good food to match. Good value for money for a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magoebaskloof
0.0 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Tzaneen
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
Bramasole Luxury Guest House
#1 of 1 in Magoebaskloof
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenshiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshiel Hotel

Address: R71 | PO Box 285, 0730, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Magoebaskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magoebaskloof
Price Range: £84 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 4 star all-inclusive country Getaway. Relax in style in the heart of the misty Magoebaskloof Mountains. 3.5 hours drive from Johannesburg or 30 minutes from Polokwane. 14 luxury rooms each with a romantic log fireplace and upmarket amenities. 4-course dinners and English breakfast included. Mountain and forest views. Outdoor activities include mountain biking, walking & hiking trails, a canopy tour over the Letaba River Gorge, birding, fly fishing, golfing, picnicking, quad-biking and horseback riding. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing