We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great forest getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage and Pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and Pond
Pool Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Cottage and Pond
Pool
Master Bedroom
Patio
Master Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Hiking with River Lily
Living Room
Kitchen
River Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Magoebaskloof, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thys C
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great forest getaway”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is spacious with lots of natural light from the big windows and glass doors. It has two bedrooms with on suite bathrooms, the master bedroom and bathroom has great views of the garden. The kitchen is not your standard kitchen you find in self catering places, it is equipped with everything you could possible need (even measuring spoons). We enjoyed the fresh herbs from the herb garden. The whole cottage so comfortable it felt like home, only better.
Stepping out onto the deck at the back you have a view of the forest across the lawn and combined with the sound of the river this is a great place to relax.
We plan to be back soon.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Thanks for the review Thys, I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourselves here.
Looking forward to hosting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The one I didn't want to review because I want to keep it a secret...”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A well-appointed hideaway at the end of an "interesting" dirt road into the valley. The Herb Cottage has everything you need for a self-catered weekend (or longer) away. We were only 2 but the cottage has beds for 5, so would comfortably suit a family or 2 couples on a culinary adventure. There is a plunge pool which will cool you off even if its hot outside and a beautiful river walk at the bottom of the garden. When we arrived we found a pot of fresh herbs on the table which we used for our cooking (and our drinks!) over the few days we were there. For the more energetic, there are planned walks through forest and up the sides of the valley. The forests ring out with the calls of the Samango monkeys and the multi-coloured Louries while the resident wagtail couple will keep you entertained while you sit on the patio. I would have liked to keep this one a secret but it is so good it just has to be shared. Enjoy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thanks for the review Charles.
So pleased you enjoyed yourselves at Herb Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalomeS61
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magoebaskloof at its best”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week at The Herb Cottage. The cottage is luxurious, with a large kitchen, comfortable beds and couches, and a lush garden that borders on a river. The cottage is located right in the heart of the kloof so the surrounding area is absolutely beautiful. The cottage is close enough to Haenertsburg to pop out for a quick breakfast, but isolated enough that you feel in the middle of nowhere! I can wholeheartedly recommend The Herb Cottage, but take bug spray as walking in the kloof is bound to attract ticks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2018
Thanks Salome for the review.
Hopefully you will come back soon and we'll give you some bug spray in case of emergencies!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenXX...
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“PARADISE FOUND”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So glad that I found this little piece of heaven. Do not be put off by the road to the cottage a normal sedan can comfortably get through.
The peace and tranquility is a total detox to the rush and stress of modern life and the sound of birds is so beautiful to hear.
The cottage itself I believe was built by Ralph and the artistic touches of his wife Elspeth are everywhere to be seen. The cottage is very well equipped and most comfortable. The views from around the property are amazing and Ralph and Elspeth are the most genial hosts and not too obtrusive but will assist you with any need you may have.
If you are looking for paradise then come and spend a weekend here and you will have the utmost difficulty in getting back into your car to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2017
Thanks Stephen for the review - we enjoyed having you at the Herb Cottage and hope you come back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis W
Sandton, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Forest Paradise generously shared with other mere frazzled mortals”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I would not be put off a visit to this gem by claims of a 4x4 being a requirement to traverse the winding farm road to the cottage as any sedan with good clearance and a driver with patience will get there without a problem. The facilities warrant the five star ratings period! We stayed in Herb Cottage for 3 nights to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and found the setting ideal for a relaxing break birding and exploring the farm and it's characters. The hosts Elsepeth and Ralph are generous to the extreme in sharing their bit of hard earned Paradise with guests. The warm breeze blowing up the valley bearing the fragrance of fresh herbs is something I will remember for a long time. Just go there don't waste time faffing about looking at other places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Décor and layout of property and plunge pool
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Thanks Dennis! You were such enthusiastic guests it was a pleasure getting to know you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann F
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal spot for a recharge”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Herb Cottage is a little piece of heaven! Private and secluded, it offers the ideal opportunity to relax and recharge. The setting of the cottage is also lovely - looking out into the forest, with the sound of the nearby stream. The cottage is spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. The little touches make this place very special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Ann it was wonderful having you here over last weekend - come back in summer when you can lie next to the pool and totally relax!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyStaf...
1 review
“The perfect place to reconnect and rejuvenate”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Herb Cottage is the ultimate getaway if you need quiet, connected time with your family.
The cottage is charming and pefectly kitted out, set in a forest with a garden filled with flowers, birds and butterflies. Play board games, braai, explore the river or take a bath with a view of the forest. If you are feeling stressed and tired, this is the perfect soul food.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing