We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Three Tuns Public House
Nearby Hotels
The Finchingfield Lion(Finchingfield)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan(Thaxted)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Hart Hotel(Braintree)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nine Jars Hotel(Haverhill)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bull Hotel(Halstead)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Stansted Great Dunmow(Great Dunmow)(Great Value!)
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
41
3
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
3
3
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in the large en-suite room, which was a very good size. Sadly the room was very noisy, the traffic just outside the window being only a few feet from my head. The bathroom was fine but lacked any complimentary shampoo. When we booked the room, we explained that I would be staying with my daughter, but on arrival found that the second bed had not been made up. When I requested a sheet for the bed, the landlady unwillingly handed me a crumpled and stained sheet whilst complaining about the washing. The breakfast was a traditional English fry up but of poor quality. Overall, I felt unwelcome, uncomfortable and didn't sleep very well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cilla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is a beautiful Pub in Finchingfield. We booked the room with en suite, which was very large, with a comfortable seated area, Sky TV, tea/coffee making facilities. The Landlord and his Lady Wife, could not do more for you if they tried. They were very attentive, without being overbearing. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were a really lovely couple.

We had an evening meal and breakfast. The cooked breakfast was really good, as was the smaller breakfast of toast and tea, which I opted for, having eaten a large evening meal at the Pub the night before!

I would thoroughly recommend this lovely pub for, the location, the warm atmosphere and the generosity of the Landlord and his Wife. The acid test ... would I return? most definitely!

Room Tip: I would always pay the little extra for the En Suite room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 99wallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed at the Three Tuns earlier in the year. We booked the room which faced onto the main room as it had an ensuite bathroom. The room was very large with a seating area and had Sky TV and was comfortable. Unfortunately the windows were only single glazed which made the room draughty and you could hear every car go by. The road is fairly busy which meant we woke up frequently and so had two disturbed nights. The breakfast was, however, excellent and the evening meal we had was also very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoshiMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a lovely meal at The Three Tuns. The owners were very helpful taking a last minute booking for 4pm on a Sunday afternoon and gave us great service even though they had stopped serving food for the day- we were a bit apprehensive as we had a long drive to get here to meet up with friends but we needn't have worried. The food was delicious, with lots of fish dishes available, and very reasonably priced with the entire 3 course meal, drinks and coffee for 4 people coming to just over £90. Lovely clean place, tasteful decoration and good music created a great atmosphere. Will be sure to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at The Three Tuns.
A cheery welcome from a proper landlord.
A bar with great atmosphere and local beer.
Fish and chips as they should be
and what ginger cake!
The"Full English"-cooked just as we like it
which "set us up for the day".
A comfortable,traditional room (with Sky of course).
A shower that works well.
And all in such an English setting.
The village is very pretty -old fashioned
but with updates to everything.
We recommend the Tuns highly
and we will call in again next time we are in Essex

Room Tip: go for the en suite
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ceepeebeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews