We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the crown for Puglia”
Review of Villa Ottilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Ottilia
Ranked #8 of 16 Oria B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A jewel in the crown for Puglia”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When friends said they had a fantastic stay at Villa Ottilia we were intrigued by what made it special, when we arrived for a four night stay we soon realised this place was special. Linda and Rita are the most hospitable and welcoming B&B owners I have ever met. Nothing was too much trouble and to open the curtains to breakfast on the patio in lovely surroundings with a blue sky was a real treat, when in the UK you open the curtains to grey and grey a lot of the time. A stay at The villa is well worth it if you are staying in the region, seaside half an hour away and some great places to explore. This place is certainly a must for travellers who want a home away from home.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but couldn't turn the rating off, so I had no comment on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawilliams001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Sometimes you simply just strike it lucky and find a gem in the holiday accommodation business when you least expect it. We are in the process of buying a property in the Oria region and as it happens have to make several return visits prior to completion. We found Villa Ottilia online and due to the convenient geographic location booked there for 3 nights. Little did we know that we would find such a lovely pitstop owned and run by Linda and Rita. Our stay was simply delightful and we also gained invaluable tips from Linda regarding our intended future move to Puglia as a bonus!!!! We already booked our next visit with them in 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoB103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Young Harris, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What can I say.... this was such a wonderful find for us. We were doing some research online (and here on TripAdvisor), and found Villa Ottilia. We decided to give it a try. We were driving through this area and wanted to stop here for a few nights and we are so glad we did! So much so, we have already planned a return trip next spring with some friends.

The hosts, Linda & Rita are some of the nicest people we think we have met...genuine and nice people (which is rare to find nowadays). We were in contact with Linda before our arrival and she helped us arrange our itinerary and gave us advice on where we should visit and what we should do...so much fun! We were visiting during the olive harvest, which obviously is not a common thing for us. We thought we would help a little, and so glad we did as now we can taste some of "our oil"! We take ownership very quickly :-)

The rooms here are very clean, spacious and breakfast in the morning was perfect for us.

If you are planning a trip through Puglia...you should go by Oria and stay here for a few nights...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddierossBVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I can't tell you how much I enjoyed my vacation in Oria! This was my first time down this far south in Italy and I was amazed at every corner. Villa Ottilia was the perfect spot not only from a location standpoint, but also from pure comfort. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. We were in room Q and had a nice entrance to the terrace. My only complaint was that Linda made the Villa so comfortable that I didn't feel like exploring in the evening. Most nights were spent sipping wine by candle light outside, enjoying the perfect weather. Oria also served as a great starting point for the sights around Puglia, from Grottaglie to Ostuni to the beach in Manduria.

When we did venture out Linda had great recommendations for local cuisine, whether at the beach or in town. I'd been to Italy earlier in the year looking for a culinary experience and where that trip failed, this one exceeded my expectations and then some. Awesome.

I really can't wait to go back. Life is simple, olives, figs, wine, beach, sun, comfort and great hosts. Who could ask for anything more?

Thank you Linda and Rita!

Room Tip: If your traveling with a friend or a few folks then Q is the room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseyliketheswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We staied in Villa Ottilia for 5 nights during the summer.I dont know from where to start-great hosts,incredible villa,clean,2 great and smiling dogs Tose and Kosmos;),amazing interior,best location and wine with chat every evening in the garden!This is not bed and breakfast,this is B&B and emotion!Rita and Linda makes you feel like you are in home and we will return always here when we can!The best place I have ever been!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielaBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sverige
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I have stayed at Villa Ottilia on several occasions during the past couple of years and during spring, summer and fall.
Our most recent visit was last week and it was wonderful to see how green everything was. It grew flowers everywhere. Italy in spring was gorgeous.
Villa Ottilia is a place where you always feel welcome, the rooms are nice and extremely clean. The food is just amazing!!
It is a favorite spot for our family to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaTornblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingaro, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

When visiting Villa Ottilia I felt the total harmony of life; their thought true interior design, excellent food and warm welcome will be with me forever!
Then you get all excited when visiting the nice old town of Oria, all the pretty beaches that goes on for miles or the friendly wineries with tastings of both wine and olive oils. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaHallqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oria hotels
0.4 mi away
B&B Messapia
B&B Messapia
#1 of 16 in Oria
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Masseria Palombara Resort & SPA
2.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Laurito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Il Casolare Degli Ulivi
2.8 mi away
Masseria San Domenico Oria B&B
2.5 mi away
La Casina dei Nonni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ottilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ottilia

Property: Villa Ottilia
Address: Strada Provinciale 1 | 2km de Oria-Latiano, 72024 Oria, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Oria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oria
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Ottilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing