We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, relaxing holiday in a fabulous cottage.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmuir, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FamilySti...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, relaxing holiday in a fabulous cottage.”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelled with grown up family members. Cottage was spotless and amenities excellent. In a great location. We spent most nights outside looking at the scenery and watching the local wildlife. A couple of nights we watched owls swooping over the adjacent field and enjoyed the acrobatics of the local bats. A visit to Tallisker Distillery is highly recommended and we had a fabulous langoustine and chips at The Oyster Shed. The scenery at Neist Point is breathtaking. We all fell in love with the Isle of Skye and will definitely be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
It is great to hear that you had a lovely holiday at Hill Cottage and had everything you needed to hand there. The local wildlife, especially the swooping owls, sounds like a sight to behold! What a way to spend your evenings! We certainly hope you return to enjoy it all over again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smurfhut
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Could not have been better ! ”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at hill cottage, 4 adults and 2 children. The cottage is beautiful in a stunning location, perfect for exploring Skye and a short walk to the shops and restaurants in Dunvegan. The cottage was immaculately clean, it had everything and more than we needed and Donnie G was great to deal with and very friendly. We'll definitely return. Lots of lovely surprises await your arrival !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oneninefo...
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb cottage!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A beautiful holiday cottage, lovingly refurbished to a very high standard. Everything has been thought of which made our stay so enjoyable. I will not give any more details as l do not wish to spoil it for future guests but the surprise in the fridge was yummy! thankyou :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackenin...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was lovely. Clean and tidy inside and also comfortable.
The views are amazing.
The garden is completley enclosed which was great for our dog as there are sheep all over the place.
I highly recommend the cottage and would love to go back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally H
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“They thought of everything!”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Fabulous cottage - immaculately clean, superbly equipped and really hospitable owners. Every detail and comfort was considered - fire was laid, fuffy towels, laundry liquid, dishwasher tablets, fuel included in rental etc. There was even a freshly baked cake, loaf of bread and bottle of milk left for our arrival.
Weather was pretty stormy when we were there, and the cottage felt secure and cosy. It was lovely to come home to at the end of a day's adventuring.
Dunvegan is a great centre for exploring the Island and I couldn't recommend this cottage as your base, enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So clean that it felt like we were the first people to have every stayed there
Liked least: Genuinely no criticisms - perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovingly refurbished cottage”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Hill Cottage has been lovingly refurbished to a very high standard. From the luxurious towels to the home-baked cake welcoming you on your arrival, this holiday home has been well thought out and is charmingly delivered.
There are DVDs, a multi-fuel stove, board games (including a beautiful chess board), a cloakroom for damp coats and messy shoes, beautiful crockery, comfy beds and to top it all it was absolutely immaculate!
Highly recommended!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaS66...
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great cottage in Dunvegan”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A gem of a cottage from start to finish. The highest of quality decor throughout. The standard of all the facilities is one of the highest we have ever experience. Everything you could possible need is in this cottage, from bluray to wifi, books, games, DVDs, blurays, cutlery, crockery etc. There is nothing the owners haven't thought about. The views from the cottage are lovely and great location for travel around Skye. The fresh bread and homemade Victoria sponge on arrival was a nice touch. We would definitely recommend staying here it truly is worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing