We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Forks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in one of the Lakeside Cabins, which was very clean and comfy. It had a beautiful view of the lake and was very quiet and peaceful, which was just what we were looking for. My only recommendation would be to come prepared with all the groceries you need if you plan to make use of the cabin kitchen as there are no stores anywhere nearby.

The full day rafting trip on the Kennebec was fantastic! The rapids were big enough to be exciting, but not so big to be scary, especially considering we had our two kids with us (ages 12 and 14). The guides were very fun and personable and the trip was very well organized and planned out - the lunch was great. I also appreciated the inflatable kayaks they provided for tooling around the calmer sections of the river - that was a nice bonus. This was our first trip to Maine and we would definitely come back to Northern Outdoors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin right along the river/lake (it wasn't very wide where we were located). The cabins are beautiful, rustic but modern, very comfortable. Most kitchen equipment but a few staples like salt and pepper might have been nice.
Couldn't leave the bedroom windows open at night as there was quite a bit of noise from road traffic--logging trucks seemed to run all night long. But with the windows closed, we didn't hear a thing!
The folks that run it keep the grounds well groomed and were extremely friendly and helpful.
We loved it and recommend it highly.
No wifi in cabin, but there was at the lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueLR72210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The staff were very accommodating and kind. The "logominium" we stayed in was clean and fine for sleeping as well as playing cards. Great for a family of four, kids had a ball. Nice to have the fridge and cook-top in the room, it was handy. We did not raft with N.O. as they did not have enough people going out (mid week June) so they recommended Adventure Bound and they were terrific too. We would return to N.O. without hesitation, great value, clean and nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 477Steve_R_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The resort is rustic- we stayed in a "Logominium" and it is pretty much made for sleep only, but the Lodge has TV's going, and arcade and a restaurant. Make no mistake- you are in the middle of "God's Country", but the young people who make up the staff are enthusiastic and welcoming. We rafted the Kennebec River the next morning, and the experience was excellent. Professional, happy guides were there to answer questions (for the millionth time), fit us, feed us, and teach us to get down that chilly river. It is a river trip I'll never forget - there was a 68 year old grandmother in our raft. The only thing that bothered me was I was allergic to something in that Logominium and I sneezed all night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Northern Outdoors is phenomenal rafting company for many reasons. This is my second time rafting with them and I would do so again. Their guides are professional, fun, knowledgeable, and capable. The meeting place is well appointed and in gorgeous surroundings. People are friendly and eager to hear and share stories. On the river we felt comfortable and confident with our guides. Whether this is your first experience, or your a seasoned rafter, Northern Outdoors is the company to choose.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell W, Owner at Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Patrick:
Thanks for being a repeat guest and for your nice comments. Our entire team at Northern Outdoors tries very hard to provide a top quality experience both on and of the river and we appreciate it when someone recognizes our collective efforts.

We look forward to seeing you on another adventure some time in the future.

Sincerely
Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed from Friday till Monday. We were a group of 30 and the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was a memorable one and it was. I can't wait to go back again! Not only was the location great, the beer was outstanding. Also the guides were awesome once out on the river.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowman7880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I've been going to northern Outdoors for around 10 years now and we decided to have my bachelor party there last weekend. As always they greeted us like family. Elaine was on it to make sure we had everything we needed for the weekend. Debbie also goes above and beyond to make our stay nothing less than perfect. She actually baked me a cake with the help of Elaine and Sonya decorating. It was accompanied by a nice card and gift from the entire northern outdoors staff. Very nice to say the least(oh!, and delicious!). The accommodations are always clean and comfortable. Love having the option of the restaurant and lounge or just hanging back at the cabins. Both more than suitable for our party of 30 and smaller parties as well. I've been to other adventure resorts in the area and none can compare this welcoming resort in the beautiful woods that they have obviously worked so hard to create. Thanks so much for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort

Address: 1771 US Rte 201, The Forks, ME 04985-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > The Forks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in The Forks
Price Range: £8 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Outdoors is a year-round adventure resort located in The Forks, Maine, only four hours from Boston. The company pioneered Maine whitewater rafting on the Kennebec, Penobscot, and Dead Rivers. Groups, families, and individuals enjoy affordable, fantastic adventure getaways. Relax at the big main lodge, onsite microbrewery, full service restaurant, 28 trailside and lakeside cabins and cottages year-round. Enjoy whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, ATV trails, team building retreats, university programs, camping, snowmobile rentals and tours, and direct access to miles of trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Outdoors Hotel The Forks
Northern Outdoors Adventure Resort Maine/The Forks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing