We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau de Locguenole
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kervignac
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful chateau”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We sated with a 3 yr old for one night. The room in the chateau was nice and big. Great bathroom but I did not like the fact that the toilet was not in the bathroom.
There are beautiful walks in the woods and the view of the sea is impressive.
We ate in the restaurant. It was one of the best restaurants I have eaten in. Every course was beautiful.
Not cheap but well worth a splurge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    58
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
27
144
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirimido, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband found this hotel on the net, I must say that price is very good. the position of the hotel is good cleanliness is top class, rooms very confortable and quiet. Staff in general good. I would like to point out, that during the month of august, the nearby town Henneboot and around the area, is like a "dead city" this has nothing to do with the hotel, but just about everything, restaurants included where closed for holidays.This made our stay a bit hectic as "where to have dinner". You have to drive quite some miles to get food! I would recommend thinking twice as to the location, although lovely, there are other things that are important too, as mentioned above.Breakfast was super!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMLeonTerzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden Brittany France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Once found, it was worth every euro! Such a pleasant reception, tea on the terrace overlooking the water, a very comfortable room and a very interesting table. The little things matter here. The butter comes from the nearby farm, the seafood is very good and very fresh, the personnel are extremely attentive, but discrete. Perfect service! Our last evening we had supper in our room - a delicious creamy soup of scallops and champagne. A perfect memory of a very successful birthday weekend for my husband.

Room Tip: We chose the ground floor as my husband has not been well, so, no stairs! Lovely room, the one in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jajm_penmern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
463 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A lovely romantic getaway in October, to this agical place.

Set at the head of a ria (flooded river valley) it reminded us lot of the Helford passage in Conwall.

We stayed in a lovely room with exposed oak exams right up in the gods with stunning views over the sweeping lawns to the sea.

The restaurant is outstanding and absolutely delicious. The food though is extremely rich and quite salty so lots of water to go with your ine nd Calvados.

The grounds have delightful walk down to the sea better to build upan appetite for you goumet dinner!

Room Tip: Go for a basis room in the waves an ke sure you skip lunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
663 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

As other reviewers have said, the hotel is in a splendid position overlooking the estuary and has lovely grounds to walk around. There is also a very nice balcony overlooking the gardens on which to enjoy a glass of wine in the late October sunshine.
Parking is secure and the chateau is a lovely old building with comfortable public rooms.
We reserved two rooms in the attic which were between their standard rooms and their most expensive character rooms. Our rooms were spacious but the abundance of beams, even across the entrance meant you had to take care when entering or, in one of the rooms, even when going to the toilet else you would hit your head and be flat out on the floor!
Internet in the top rooms was temperamental.
Staff overall seemed very pleasant and as a stop off in Brittany you could do a lot worse.
Where do the faults come in? Firstly, I don't expect to arrive at 3.45pm and be told the room isn't ready. The offer of a cup of tea or coffee whilst we were inconvenienced didn't lighten the spirit but I said we would have a glass of wine instead so that soothed the 30 minutes wait to a degree.
The second fault came in the restaurant. The attitude of the staff was fine but, even though we had a fluent french speaker with us, they brought us a starter to share rather than one each as ordered. At approximately £20 for a starter and £28 for a main course, you don't expect this sort of mistake. I wasn't prepared to wait another 30 minutes whilst they made another starter so we shared meaning that my starter consisted of one and a half scallops, or in other words, £5 a mouthful.
The quality of the food was very good but at the prices charged they should not be making basic mistakes leading to a frustrating dining experience.
All in all, it was a pleasant overnight stay but it certainly had its faults!

Room Tip: Seek out the best bargain but it is nice to have the estuary view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel is located on the front tripadviser reviews here. I do not agree with this. The location is wonderful, but the equipment for 60 years and has made ​​clear that it was not renewed. The purity can be left to be desired ingredients. We stayed in the attic room. The equipment was poor, impersonal, and it was not clean. The dinner was delicious and the staff is very helpful. However, I think it important to have clarity in the bathroom, as I have candy on my pillow that night.Facilities are a wonderful place, deserves a renovation..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1blue1butterfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I can't improve upon the review by "GHgrrl", and I agree wholeheartedly with the description of the dining experience. So I will dwell on some of the quirky aspects that prevented me from awarding a fifth star to this establishment featured in the the Relais and Chateau guide. We had a splendid looking "chateau" bedroom. The floors squeaked loudly there, as they did in the corridors, even when treading lightly. Although there is free WiFi, there is not a single electric outlet in our room, so that we had to unplug a lamp to recharge the laptop, cellphone and camera batteries (and you really need batteries, as Brittany is fantastically photogenic). Although there was a large desk in the middle of the room, it was nowhere near any source of electricity at all. There is no air conditioning, and there are no screens, so our bedroom was beset by flies.

Weirdest of all, in our bedroom (with a lovely view facing the water) was the small WC to the right side of the bed, while the bath (with jacuzzi) and sink was in another room on the left side of the bed. In the WC, there was no sink, and not even a waste basket for the ladies' sanitary products. So you must picture the senior male who gets up at night, uses the WC, and then has to walk around the bed, perhaps a total of 25 feet on a loudly squeaking floor, to wash his hands, before retracing his steps (and his squeaks) back to bed. One needs a very tolerant partner. The antique clock in the room was non-functional, and the cabinets were of so-so quality.

We had a two day package and got an upgraded room. For a little more than $500 a night we had room, two breakfasts, and two four course dinners that included a bottle of wine, mineral water and coffee. The food in the Michelin one star restaurant was excelllent, taste and presentation. But, back to "wierd" again, the "menu" (which is what the French call the all inclusive dinner) had no choices, and changes only once a month. It seemed as if we were destined to repeat the previous night's dinner, but the chef created a new meal for us and offered some options as well. Even on the previous night my wife was allowed to substitute a beef dish for the lamb that was on the menu.

During our first night's dinner, we wondered where the constant tinkling of a bell or cellphone was coming from. It was only at the end of the meal that we recognized that when anyone walked on the floor above, the crystals in the chandelier rattled together. On the next night we observed another puzzled couple eventually making the same discovery.

The management was ever present and very courteous and helpful.

So, in spite of the quirkiness, I feel that we had a wonderful experience and, for a featued Relais and Chateau establishment with a Michelin starred restaurant, a lot of bang for the buck (or Euro).

(BTW - it is really in Hennebont, and I was surprised that Trip Advisor didn't list it there, or at least point it to this site from the Hennebont listings).

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if stairs are a problem find out which are the least challenging. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrbobG1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kervignac
2.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Lorient Caudan
16.6 mi away
Carnac Thalasso & Spa Resort Hotel
22.0 mi away
Sofitel Quiberon Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Miramar La Cigale Hotel Thalasso & Spa
12.0 mi away
Domaine De Kerbastic
Domaine De Kerbastic
#1 of 2 in Guidel
173 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Les Rives Du Ter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Locguenole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Locguenole

Property: Chateau de Locguenole
Address: | Locguenole, 56700 Kervignac, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Kervignac
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kervignac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Locguenole 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in the world: 120 hectares of private forest that overlooks a wide stretch of seaA door leads out to the ocean and a private dock for immediate boarding. Sailing between Lorient and the island of Groix is an unforgettable experience and just one of the many pleasures in store at this historic castle and manor house surrounded by 120 hectares of private forest that overlooks a wide stretch of sea. Helicopter flights over the cliffs of Brittany are also on offer. On returning to the ground, sample the delights of the menu of fresh seafood and Brittany's local produce, followed by a shiatsu massage to finish off a perfect day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Chateau de Locguenole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Locguenole Kervignac
Chateau De Locguenole France/Kervignac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing