We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Without doubt, the best I have stayed in.”
Review of Chez Jallot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vidaillat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez Jallot
Ranked #1 of 1 Vidaillat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Without doubt, the best I have stayed in.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The location, the building, the friendliness of the hosts, the furnishings and the quality of the food all go to make this probably the most rewarding of guest houses. Set in a remote piece of the French countryside, this building is the product of many years of labour by the hosts. Finished to an exquisite standard, you cannot fail to be impressed. Mealtimes offer the unique (in my experience) situation of the hosts cooking the homemade, and excellent food, and joining you for dinner. The history of the building is fascinating and it is no wonder it was a big hit on the Grand Designs Abroad programme with Kevin McLeod. The property is situated in the heart of the French countryside, ideal for walking, and within driving distance of some lovely towns and villages. I will definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Their story on Grand Designs was so inspirational - that, like many others, we just had to find an excuse to visit. So we finally found an opportunity to drop in, on our drive down to Spain. And what a delightful couple they are. Deni and Doug are naturals - making us feel so very welcome; it really felt as if we were visiting valued old friends. Deni's meals are worth a special mention - she delivers truly scrumptious meals, using local ingredients. The property is located in such a tranquil setting too; it was just what we needed after a day of 'pedal to metal'. The Hummingbird Suite is stunning; set high up, with sumptuous French furnishings and a gorgeous free-standing bath. We wished we could have stayed longer than the 2 nights we did - and one day, we WILL return - and for longer next time. Go on - treat yourself!

Room Tip: They all looked good- but the Hummingbird Suite was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We drove from Zurich in Switzerland, and after passing through some beautiful countryside and beautiful villages, we arrived at Chez Jallot. Unfortunately it was late at night so we did not get to see the impressive frontage, but made up for it the next day.
After meeting some of the other guests at breakfast we then drove to a beautiful lake, had a light meal at the little restaurant and wandered around the lake. Drove back to the house via some interesting villages, and through part of the forest, stopped at a little place selling pottery.
Had an amazing dinner with many courses, cooked by Doug and Denny, and served outside in the garden area. The other guests were so friendly, some from Spain, and Scotland [all from the one family, celebrating birthdays etc]. Some stayed on in the lounge area, having after dinner drinks, much talking etc, all very relaxed.
We retired to our accommodation, which consisted of two bedrooms, kitchen, lounge/dining area, and full bathroom, with an undercover area at the side. Here you could rest and have a coffee or wine, and if a smoker have a quiet smoke.
It was a public holiday while we were there and we found some incredible markets, good items to purchase, and some delicious food.
Our second night saw us drive about fifty kilms to a larger town and we found a small place selling great pizza, again it was dark when we returned home. Would recommend Chez Jallot to everyone, and if it was not so far from Australia would often visit there. Hope to get back again one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Giet, amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

It was a big step for my husband and I to celebrate the New Year in France this year rather than at home, but we have stayed at Doug and Deni's glorious home, Chez Jallot, several times on holiday visits and we knew that they would always go the extra mile to ensure that their guests had a wonderful time and we have always found our fellow guests to be delightful. And that proved to be the case this time. We were so keen, in fact, that we booked our New Year package a year in advance! Chez Jallot offers all the luxuries of top grade accommodation in one of the most picturesque and "French" of French Departements, with the added bonus of Duug and Deni as our hosts. Deni is a superb cook, who sources ingredients locally and gave us a real taste of the area, while Doug made sure that everything was as perfect as it could possibly be. It was a great beginning to the New Year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are idyllically peaceful. The rooms at the front look over a lovely valley with a farm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thehannings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Queensland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After three hectic days in Paris it was wonderful to embrace the magic that is 'Chez Jallot.' I hired a car from Limoges Airport & drove to Vidaillat, finally finding 'Chez Jallot' with the help of a friendly local. My welcome from Deni & Doug was amazing & within only a short while I felt as if I'd known them for ages. I spent 10 days soaking up the ambiance of the house & the local area, Doug being the perfect host helping me get the most out of my stay. I loved the Aubusson room, the view from the window each morning was a delight as I watched the swallows on the electric cables before they headed off no doubt to somewhere warmer. The beautiful meals that Deni & Doug cooked were truly inspirational for the taste buds, I could have stayed for ages. The local towns nearby of Aubusson, Bourganeuf & Gueret were a delight to visit as was the beautiful Lake Vassiviere.I was fortunate to be there when the 'Forest Folies' was held just outside Gueret, it was an excellent opportunity to enjoy this annual celebration of all things local in the La Creuse region. The weather was another bonus as it only rained for a short while a couple of days & as it hadn't rained for 6 weeks, one could only be grateful fir it. All in all it was the perfect holiday as I met some lovely interesting people during my stay, Deni & Doug were definitely the 'hosts with the most!!' After seeing it on 'Grand Designs' & being so impressed with Deni & Doug's amazing foresight, I could hardly wait for the opportunity to try it out for myself & I was more than delighted with the result. I miss my walks with Jogi & if all goes to plan will see them all again in 2014. My only grizzle is that it's so far away from Queensland, Australia, then again it's more than worth it to bite the bullet again.

Room Tip: The Aubusson room was delightful, lovely furnishings with a most pleasant view. It's the first p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It must be our fifth visit to Chez Jallot so that must say something. Deni and Doug are superb hosts, their hospitality and food are amazing and nothing is too much trouble.
No noise, no light pollution, no television, just peace and quiet in lovely surroundings.
There are plenty of places in the area to visit catering for all tastes and coming back in the evening for a superbly cooked meal in pleasant company is always one on the highlights for us.
We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable. We tend to stay in the Master Bedroom or the Hummingbird Suite for a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pops D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We arrived at Chez Jallot after a long motorcycle ride from Calais, to be greeted by Deni as if we were old friends, and that is just how our entire stay was.

The gite was lovely and we were even given the barn to park the bike undercover at night.

Both Deni and Doug are the best hosts you could wish for and as for Jogi, just take your walking shoes!! He's a star.

The surrounding area is beautiful and we only scratched the surface during our stay.

And do partake of the evening meal, they were some of the best cooking we've ever experienced.

can't wait until we can return......................................WONDERFUL!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vidaillat
13.1 mi away
La Beauze
La Beauze
#1 of 3 in Aubusson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
10.3 mi away
Le Bellerive
Le Bellerive
#1 of 2 in Peyrat-le-Chateau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Le France
Hotel Le France
#2 of 3 in Aubusson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chateau de la Chassagne
Chateau de la Chassagne
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-le-Chateau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
7.1 mi away
Abbaye du Palais
Abbaye du Palais
#1 of 6 in Bourganeuf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
10.4 mi away
La Maison du Marchand
La Maison du Marchand
#2 of 4 in Peyrat-le-Chateau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Jallot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Jallot

Property: Chez Jallot
Address: 23250 Vidaillat, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Creuse > Vidaillat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vidaillat
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning 19th-century French manor house tucked away within the beautiful Creuse department of France, offering bed & breakfast, evening meals & self-catering cottages. All year-round, Chez Jallot offers its guests the opportunity to relax in luxury and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the wonderful surroundings. There is a choice of 5 bedrooms within the house offering bed & breakfast (chambres d'hôte) and optional evening meals (tables d'hôte) or for those wanting a little more independence there are 2 self-catering cottages (gites) in the adjoining barn. There is much to explore within easy reach of Chez Jallot. A large garden with sunken courtyard, a forest and even a secret tunnel are just outside the front door. Participate in local events, visit historic towns & markets in search of tasty local produce or for the more energetic, activities such as mountain biking, climbing & sailing are all close by. Whatever you are looking for, whether it is that stylish weekend break, the active holiday or simply an escape to the countryside for rest... Chez Jallot has it all to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chez Jallot Hotel Vidaillat
Chez Jallot France/Vidaillat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing