We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
163
13
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners wonderful hosts master bedroom places to visit evening meal beautiful countryside relaxing stay warm hospitality rural france local area french countryside within easy reach wonderful place delicious food manor house the main house lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Due to delays on the channel tunnel we were very late in arriving, But nothing was too much for our hosts, the rooms are truly wonderful, a connecting room for our two young children. Food was great, wine and beer a plenty. Utterly wonderful such a gem of a place I would love to return.

Room tip: If travelling as a family the Vassiviere was a superb room
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you for you great review. It was a pity that you were only able to stay for a short time, but we hope that you and your family are able to return again some time in the future to explore and discover the Creuse in more detail.

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We had a wonderfuol stay Chez Jallot and discovered all that the Creuse has to offer. The house is beautiful and well maintained. We had a large and comfortable room accommodating a family of four. It is set in a small rural hamlet about half an hour's drive from Aubusson, Bourganeuf and Guéret. Our host was very friendly and able to advise us on places to visit in the area. The breakfasts were very generous and we also enjoyed two delicious home cooked evening meals.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katgdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you for your kind review. It was great having you and your family to stay here and I glad you had a good time. I hope that you are able to return again sometime in the future to further explore this area of France.

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We stayed a week in one of the Sites. Pete (the host) was very helpful and knowledgable about the area so we picked up some very good tips. Comfortable and very clean accommodation.
The morning alarm was via the sound of a neighbour's donkey or the peacock - a big improvement on my smartphone alarm.
The immediate surrounds are very peaceful as the road at the front is a deadend. There is a excellent pre or post meal short circular walk from the house through the nearby hamlet of Courson and back (pass the donkey paddock).
The Creuse area is excellent for walking / cycling etc.
Would also recommend the riverside pop-up cafe at Moutier-d'Ahun, the gardens of La Sagne and also Val Maubrune, and a walk around the parameter of Lac Vassivière

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catandme99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

I'm so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay here at Chez Jallot and were able to discover some of the hidden secrets within this lesser-known part of France. It would be great to have you back here again at some point in the future.

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We would have loved our stay even if we hadn't seen Chez Jallot on GD! It's a beautiful home in a glorious location, well run by Pete and Jenny (though we didn't meet Jenny this time). Pete was ably assisted by Boudin the cat, they were excellent hosts. Our room was lovely; well furnished and comfortable and we really enjoyed dinner with Pete and the other charming guests, and breakfast was lovely too. We were travelling by motorbike, and there is plenty to explore nearby. It's well worth travelling to

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to have you here at Chez Jallot and you were great company. It would be great to see you again some time in the future, hopefully when you have a bit more time to explore this area of France and one which is great to explore by motorbike!

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We always wanted to visit Chez Jallot after seeing the TV show Grand Designs and finally got the chance in June 2018 when we opted for a "Driving Holiday in France"

We were welcomed by Pete and the cat ( sorry Pete forgot the cats name ! ) on arrival and made to feel at home as soon as we unpacked.

Pete's knowledge of the area was fantastic and was able to suggest places to visit ( The Wolf Sanctuary and The Puy De Dome for example.)

Room was first class - comfortable and clean, like what others have said its a rural area so peace and quiet all around.

We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

I glad that your stay at Chez Jallot met your expectations. It was really great to host you here and I'm pleased that you had an enjoyable time. I hope that you have the opportunity to return again in the future and have a little more time to discover this "lesser known" part of France.

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews