We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
163
13
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
13
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners wonderful hosts master bedroom places to visit evening meal beautiful countryside relaxing stay warm hospitality rural france local area french countryside within easy reach wonderful place delicious food manor house the main house lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

We spent a fabulous weekend at Chez Jallot, booked by Mum as a surprise for Dads 70th birthday. Nothing was too much trouble for Pete - lovely meals both evenings, a birthday cake & champagne for Dad. I loved the leisurely mornings, with breakfast at a time to suit us. We enjoyed a trip out to Felletin for a Christmas Market, followed by an amazing lunch in Aubusson at a restaurant recommended by Pete. The house is beautiful and our room (Hummingbird Suite) was just perfect, and all in all a memorable weekend for us all! ps we totally fell in love with Boudin the cute Bengal!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jovstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having your parents and yourselves staying here at Chez Jallot for your father's birthday. I'm glad that everything went to plan and that it was an enjoyable time for all. Boudin was somewhat lost after you left :-). We look forward to having you all back again at sometime in the future. Have a great Christmas and New Year.

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

The house has a fascinating history and was the subject of an excellent TV program (Grand Designs) some time ago. This sparked our interest, and we were not disappointed when we finally got to stay there. The area is lovely; the house is large and beautifully appointed; our room was excellent -- large and very comfortable with a lovely view; our host was interesting and very helpful. We ate there and the breakfasts and dinners were really excellent. You need a car to get there, but it is most definitely worth the visit. We would strongly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you very much for your review. It is great that you had an enjoyable time here at Chez Jallot and that your stay here met with your expectations. It would be lovely to see you back here again in the future.

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

What a wonderful place to stay - lovely room, lovely friendly host and a beautiful part of France. Peter was the host with the most and we thoroughly enjoyed our night in this gorgeous BnB and would love to visit again - maybe another trip to France is on the cards? Peter provided a delicious meal for dinner and breakfast and was a goldmine of information on the area and history of the house.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad that your stay here met with your expectations. It would be great to have you back again at point in the future, hopefully with a little more time to explore and get to know this wonderful part of France.

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I first saw Chez Jallot, as have a great many, on Grand Designs. We loved the story and the look of the place and the area, so we decided to spend a week there in July 2018. We would recommend it to anyone. Here’s why:

So I say we went because of Grand designs and I imagine that is a bit of a pain for Pete and Jenny as the new owners, but I have to say we will be going back because of its own merits and because of the excellent hosting from Pete when we were there (sadly Jenny was away).

First, Pete as a host was exemplary. We stayed in l’atelier Gite as we wanted a place to ourselves for the week. From the moment we arrived Pete went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and to help us with things to do and to answer any questions we had. The little food basked they give all Gite guests was perfect. Some great jam, wine, cheese and other bits and pieces. Absolutely lovely. From then on anything we needed help with was not a problem for Pete. Maps, cycle routes, eating suggestions, day trips. A true example of great hosting.

Next, the place itself. It’s a beautiful building and grounds. The gite was clean and tidy and exactly what we wanted. I’ll never forget breakfast and dinner on our little balcony. The kitchen has all your basic needs and the layout and table etc is ideal. No noise or sound pollution and the beds were comfy and warm.

However, if you want a busy town and nightlife you won’t get that here. This is for those people that want a nice and quiet, secluded getaway from it all. Though there is plenty to do and lots of days out to be had, so a family would have a great base to work from if you needed it. The lake is close and there are some fantastic beaches to relax at or enjoy some water sports.

For those of you Grand Designs fans that want a look around the building, Pete even accommodated our request for a bit of a nose around. Considering how much of a drag that probably is for them now, he was more than happy to answer questions, show us around and talk about all things Chez Jallot. Thanks so much, Pete, it meant a lot.

So, will we be back? Definitely. We fell in love as soon as we arrived and really did not want to leave. We can’t wait to try one of the guest rooms and to sit and drink some red wine with Pete and Jenny at the garden table.

Chez Jallot has secured a space in our hearts and we can’t wait for our next trip down there. If you’re thinking of a quiet trip away out in the middle of nowhere to escapee the hum drum of normal life, go. Enjoy and fall in love with the place and the people.

You won’t regret it.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EastbourneWoodyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that your stay here was both memorable and enjoyable. You were great guests and it would be lovely to have you both back to stay again in the future.

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Travelling around the area viewing properties, we stayed here for one night in the master bedroom. The bedroom and bathroom were absolutely beautiful and spacious. Our host, Pete (Jenny was away) was brilliant. We requested a vegetarian supper which was not a problem at all and we experienced three generous portions. Pete tried out a new recipe on us and it was fabulous! The area surrounding Chez Jallot is so pretty and peaceful. If you are reading this review - just book it!

Room tip: Spotless, comfortable, spacious.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank salbrown06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at Chez Jallot, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am so glad that I was able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, even if it was only for one night. Hopefully, once you have found somewhere in France to live, you will have the opportunity to return here and explore and experience more of what the Creuse and the area around Chez Jallot has to offer. I look forward to seeing you again at some point.

Best wishes
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews