We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Circles Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Pewsey B&B and Inns
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
“Comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After a very warm welcome of both hosts I was very optimistic of having a wonderful time during the next 6 days. My expectations were exceeded. Not only the very comfy beds or the clean and spacious room, but also the host's deep knowledge of regional characteristics (e.g. crop circles) made my visit a very pleasant experience!
Free WiFi, the nearby grocery store and free parking is also worth mentioning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    11
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
20
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have just returned from a two night stay at Circles. After wasting what seemed like half a day trying to track down the owners despite incessant phoning to collect keys and gain access, the hosts Sadie and Paul were actually quite lovely. The rooms were of a decent standard, with comfy beds and was ideally situated for our purpose.

Initially, we were stranded for some 2.5 hours outside the B&B with nowhere to go, a shed load of luggage and grew incredibly frustrated and impatient, unable to get hold of anyone by landline or mobile. Only by chance we saw the cleaner entering the building and so tailgated behind her in order to gain access. She gave us room keys but told us she wasn't in charge and had no idea why no one came to let us in.

Probably feeling quite guilty about our first day experience, Sadie kindly offered to then drive us to Avebury the following day (as we had no car of our own) and dropped us there for a day out. We arranged for her to collect us from there, once we'd checked out the sights at 14.45, but she showed up at 16:15 claiming that she thought we'd said 16.00. Slightly annoyed by this given other plans we had, the umpteen calls I made for collection and even summoning a local taxi, we accepted her delay given her kindness to take us there in the first place. Even parting with £30 which we offered for transportation.

If you're expecting sausages as part of the cooked breakfast, you'll be disappointed. Silly thing, I know, but I've never had a traditional breakfast served to me without one. Or, some in my case. Otherwise, the breakfast was well supplied.

That said, despite our minor annoyances, the b&b is really bright, accommodating and homely, as are the hosts. It was slightly pricier than neighbouring b&bs but I don't begrudge that now given how nice they were and the standard of the accommodation itself.

For crop circle fanatics (hence the name), you'll find the walls adorned with imagery and other paraphernalia, and you'll find the hosts to be particularly knowledgable on the subject and the local area. And, they have a rather cute kitten resident, who whilst 'temporary' unfortunately one of our party had an allergic reaction to.

There were complimentary refreshments provided, free to use bathroom toiletries and fast WiFi (not to mention the large communal TV which was ideal for watching some of the World Cup games on). Bedrooms are not equipped with televisions.

Whilst not the smoothest and most professionally run of b&bs, I would still recommend it to any would-be travellers to this quaint village.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy76London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Owner at Circles Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Difficult to know how to respond to this review. Criticism where earned has to be seen as an opportunity to improve. We regret that these guests felt the way they do, however I think it fair to make a few points. We believe our B&B is a home with an open invite but not a hotel. A requested arrival time of 11.30 is not ideal but we agreed; unfortunately the guests did not arrive at this time and we had other appointments to attend but still waited for as long as possible. It is a shame that for whatever reason the communications broke down due to mobile signals so we were unaware of the eventual arrival time. Our cleaning lady was requested to regularly check the property in our absence and so it was not by chance she let the guests in.

The offer for a lift the next day was not in anyway motivated by guilt, we regularly take our customers to places or collect them if no other option is available. Again it seems the communication of time was not clear and we regret the delays experienced as a result; we were not aware of any onward plans as the intention was to return to the B&B.

We offer our guests a cooked breakfast the options of which are clearly mentioned on our website and on the menus left in each bedroom. We do not offer a "traditional English breakfast" with all the trimmings as we find this is too much for most people. However we do offer vegetarian sausages and we could have always purchased a meat option on request, but this was not mentioned either before or after breakfast as being a specific issue and therefore we were unaware. It is in fact the very first time such a disappointment has been mentioned by any guest.

The kitten stayed with us for just a few days and has gone back to his home; we believe that almost everyone who met Django was enriched by the experience.

This all being said we will take on board the comments and will ensure a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for a single night recently and really enjoyed our stay. Friendly hosts who know the area and are happy to reccomend places to see/visit, comfortable beds and a great cooked breakfast. We got a text on the way down asking when we'd arrive, and had no problems at all finding the B&B.

Excellent good, accomodation and hosts for a very reasonable price, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I would have thought the minimum requirement for B&B hotel etc would be locks on the room doors. The landlady appeared upset when I asked 'why no locks' so I left and stayed elsewhere. My friends stayed but moved their private things to my room nearby in Pewsey.
Although the landlady told me she had been there two years without any issues I was dissappointed she couldn't see my point.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Autocruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Manager at Circles Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Circles B&B is our home into which we invite any guest who wishes to stay with us.

The external doors and windows are locked as you would expect but we do not have internal locks except on the bathrooms.

The idea of people having to use a key every time they go in and out of their room does not fit the atmosphere we have created here. We trust our guests and couldn't imagine why anyone would book in to stay in the B&B with the intention of disturbing anyone's belongings etc. If we began to believe this then we might start worrying that our guests may take away any of the many items that are part of the character of our home; that would be very sad as suspicion breeds ill intent and we wish to embrace harmony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very hospital owners; room was nice; breakfast was excellent; easy booking through Paypal; there is a nearby grocery store; Sadie gave us guidance on outdoor places to go. What more could you want from a B&B?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJ_Dave44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

booked circles bb a week before going away this was effortless booked the purple room as this is the other halfs favorite coulour was not dissapointed by it comfortable bed plenty of room warm and welcoming sadie and paul were the perfect hosts breakfast was very good plenty to choose from and sadies knowledge of the local area was vast will stay here again next time we are down in wiltshire

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefatchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Owner at Circles Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Circles; we are glad you had a comfortable stay with us and your wife liked the colours! Hopefully you will have time to come visit Wiltshire in the summer and we can show you some of the local highlights :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent accommodation, lovely spacious room and bathroom nearby (ensuites available too) and great vegetarian, non gluten breakfast, very welcoming even with our two young children they will accommodate any requirements made and are very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenBee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie S, Owner at Circles Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
It was a real treat for us to have such a wonderful and loving family share our home, and to think you found us quite by chance! Look forward to your return perhaps this summer.
Love and blessings
Paul & Sadie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pewsey
5.7 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
11.9 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Willow House Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Follets B&B
Follets B&B
#1 of 1 in Easton Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circles Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circles Bed & Breakfast

Property: Circles Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15 High Street, Pewsey SN9 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Pewsey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pewsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable Bed & Breakfast in the centre of Pewsey close to the train station and local shops. We welcome anyone visiting the area for leisure or business and can accommodate extended stays or large groups for self-catering. The Kennet & Avon canal is just half a mile from our door so we are well sited for walkers and cyclists. We offer safe storage of cycles and we don't mind a bit of mud! We believe in using the best ingredients in all our cooking and the exclusive use of environmentally friendly cleaning products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Circles Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circles Bed & Breakfast Pewsey, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing