We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, would highly recommend!”
other travellers have booked this property
Spring has arrived at The Byre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring has arrived at The Byre
Kitchen/sitting room King bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Spring has arrived at The Byre
Kitchen/sitting room
King bedroom
single bedroom
sitting room
kitchen
sitting room
bathroom with powerful shower over bath
Caen Hill Locks
K & A Canal
Stonehenge
Highclere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pewsey, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
deborahda...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, would highly recommend!”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

What a lovely place! We stayed here as visiting family nearby and it was perfect. Beautifully presented, and clean with lots of nice touches and helpful provisions included. E.g. iron, fans (it was very warm weather) torches by the door, games, local guide books/leaflets and information from the owners. The owners were kind enough to let us check in early as we were able to contact them directly and we got a friendly greeting and brief tour of the house when we arrived. Good parking for 1 car off the road and outside sitting area for nicer days/evenings. The village seems quiet but there are a few pubs/restaurants and takeaways nearby, a co-op and spar for groceries and a few other shops too. Would highly recommend, we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoffel1...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great weekend”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Lovely stay in quaint and compact cottage. Nice and cosy with easy access to Stonehenge and Avebury.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesy762
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gorgeous, clean, stylish cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My daughter and I stayed in The Byre whilst visiting Stonehenge, the museums and Salisbury Cathedral.
We loved the place. It's pretty, spotlessly clean, stylishly furnished and the beds and sofa are comfortable. The water is hot and the towels are big, fluffy and smell lovely.
We adored the little outdoor area and ate a couple of meals out there when the weather permitted.
Barbara, Maggy and Bob made us feel welcome and were on hand if we needed them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for this lovely review - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umpqua42
Colebrook, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and Comfortable Property”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent 5 nights at The Byre over the Easter holiday and it was absolutely lovely. Our hosts made sure all our needs were met and we appreciated all the little, personal touches throughout the cottage. The space is very well maintained and the outside courtyard was in bloom with beautiful spring flowers.

Pewsey is a lovely little town and was very convenient for our travels throughout the countryside (Avebury, Oxford, the Cotswolds). We hope to return one day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxury Self Catering in Idyllic Wiltshire Village”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016

The Byre is a self-contained, two-bedroom unit which was originally the cow barn adjacent to an 18th century thatched farmhouse. The conversion is luxurious, if a little cosy, with two bedrooms, one double and one with two twin beds. The kitchen is very well equipped if compact. The wooden floors and exposed beams create a rustic feel. Linens, towels and furniture are all top of the line. The rooms are all on the ground level adjacent to the parking area, which is shared with the farmhouse.

Pewsey is an idyllic village with several pubs, restaurants, local supermarkets and the railway station all in walking distance. The railway station is on a main line with good connections to London, Bath (both less than an hour), and Heathrow and Gatwick airports (1 ½ - 2 hours). There is a local bus service for exploring the local area such as Marlborough, Salisbury, Winchester and the ancient stone circles at Avebury and Stonehenge. It’s also a great area for getting around by bike. The owners live on site in the thatched farmhouse and are very helpful. The entrance to the parking are can be slightly hard to spot depending on the direction you are coming from.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2017
Thank you for this lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisst...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small but very nice self-contained accommodation”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Recently renovated, The Byre has one double bedroom and one twin. The kitchen is small but does have a fridge oven, microwave and dishwasher. Free wifi. The outside space is very pleasant.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marissaro...
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My friend booked The Byre since it's close to Devizes to visit family. The place was more than we expected. Very well appointed 2-bedroom cottage with all the amenities needed. Beds were very comfy with all-white soft sheets. Bathroom was spacious and white bath towels were thick and luxurious. Barbara even gave us a jug of milk & bottle of jam. We wanted to extend our stay but they're fully booked. Our hosts are beautiful people and made us all feel welcomed and right at home. The Byre is a gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing