We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balgowlah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Balgowlah B&B and Inns
Julatten, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

On a fleeting visit to Sydney for a 2 day work shop I was very happy to return to Jacaranda BnB at Balgowlah to which I was familiar with. Exceptionally clean, comfortable and conveniently located. A quick walk to Sydney Road and an express bus into the city saw me where I needed to be in a heartbeat. Alison and Ern were once again very helpful and accommodating. Thank-you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeJoe618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerSydney508, Owner at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. You are most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
19
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Alison and Ern provide a warm welcome and then and easy stay.

We found the accommodation very comfortable and the location very convenient.

Balgowlah was right for us as it is nice and quiet, yet only a short distance to Manly, to lots of public transport and nearby shops.

Alison and Ern have obviously been hosting guests for a long time as they know how to make you feel at home, then give you the privacy, information and facilities you need to have just the right stay.

We will definitely stay again, and recommend Jacaranda B&B to our friends.

Barry and Ava

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you Barry and Ava for your kind review. We were delighted to have you stay with us. So glad you enjoyed the sights of Sydney & beautiful Manly.Best wishes for your future travels.
Alison & Ern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

So very far from the main attractions in Sydney. 10 minute uphill walk to the nearest infrequent bus. Bis to infrequent ferry ... It took us close to two hours to reach the Bridge Walk entrance!
There is nothing nearby - not even a convenience store.
The hosts at this b&b are clued out! When we arrived, they made us carry our bags up 10 stairs (in the downpour) and drag them through their house instead of going along a flat path to the back entrance.
They were more interested in showing us the garden (in the rain!) than giving us helpful information regarding transportation and sights in Sydney! The only map they provided was one of Manly, their suburb. They finally found a ferry timetable for us, too.
Alison kindly "gave" us two seniors passes for transportation (total value $5) - I was surprised to be charged for them on our bill!
On their website, the offer to arrange airport shuttle service - no luck there - they merely sent us the link to the shuttle website and asked us to make our own arrangements.
One further note - we had paid $220 through Paypal as a deposit for our three night stay. When we were handed our final bill, we were only credited with $212 - the "hosts" said we had to pay their PayPal commission.
Of course the don't accept credit cards ...
One further complaint - wifi was sporadic.
This was our 17th b&b on our five week trip - MOST DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princetondartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerSydney508, Manager at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to make our guests more comfortable.
We are saddened and dissappointed that you had such a bad experience while staying with us.
We are, however, a little perplexed regarding your comments as this is the first bad review we have had in our 10 years of operation .
Our reviewers have consistently described our accommodation as most acceptable to their needs.

You arrived at night and it was raining heavily. Ern went out with a large umbrella to help you. He only had one free hand to carry your luggage and did so to the best of his ability up our 6 very average steps.

Normally we welcome guests at our front door and then show them through to the B&B. We then show them the location of their private entrance via the garden.
This was the "night garden tour" you referred to.

If only you had asked about the nearest convenience store we could have happily directed you to two, both close by, in either direction. We did mention the big shopping complex 10 minutes walk away. You obviously didn't want to communicate with us so we left you to your privacy.

To provide bus passes on arrival is indeed an absolute convenience.
There is the possibility of not being able to take the bus during peak time, nor having the right change or currency for your first trip. Most guests are delighted to receive them and offer to pay or have them added to their account.

The PayPal widget on our web site is new. We have since made enquiries as to its operation and have decided not to ask guests for the deposit commission.
In your case it was $8 and if you would like to give us your details we will gladly refund it.

Thank you for advising of the sporadic wifi. We have not encounted any problems with this before. I will check it out. We did have 'power problems' when you were here however.

Finally on Balgowlah, we think it is a fantastic base for seeing the best of Sydney. It's quiet and green and transport is close by as are shops and restaurants. We have raised four children here. We love the proximity to Manly, the beaches, the glorious water and the short trip to the city. After 42 years we still think we made the right decision!

You may be interested to see our latest review on our www.airbnb website;

"Jacaranda was perfect and exactly as described. Private, quiet street backing onto a Golf Course. It just felt like home. Alison & Ern were wonderful hosts. Two friends sharing a Yoga Workshop in Manly, this accommodation was perfect. Easy access to Bus Service to Manly or walk at your leisure. Plentiful shopping, variety of restaurants to suit any palate, ferry to City easy access from Manly and affordable. We took a scenic loop due to time limits but if you had more time Sydney City Shopping is a short ferry ride away".
Leanne H. April 2014".

We wish you well in your travels.

Alison & Ern Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

At the end of our journey through Australia, Sydney was the last stop. Following a recommendation we decided to stay in Balgowlah/Manly. We made definitely a good decision to choose this accomodation! Already the communication in advance of our stay was very pleasant and helpful (important hints for airport transfer, MyMulti-tickets, etc.). The Owner were really, really friendly, waited for us to welcome us and even helped to carry our luggage to the rooms. The property is decorated quite attractively and convinces with loving details (fresh flowers, garden vegetables, candy, etc.) and good facilities (fully
equipped kitchen, washing machine & dryer, hair dryer, information flyer, books, etc.). Moreover, the shared use of the BBQ in the nice garden is offered. Only a stove was missing to prepare meals on rainy evenings...

  • Liked — Freundlichkeit der Gastgeber
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank line289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you Aline & Lutz..we loved having you stay with us & sharing the delights of the Manly area.
Kind Regards

Alison & Ern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Jacaranda B&B is a great place to stay for either a short or extended period. It is close to a bus stop for easy access to Manly and the ferry to Sydney. The accomodation is private and comfortable, with cooking and washing facilities and use of a nice garden with BBQ facilities. Wi-fi is also available. A supermarket is only a 10 minute walk away for those self catering. Ern and Alison are great hosts, being very helpful and are keen that guests enjoy their stay. When we visit Sydney and/or Manly again, we will definitively try to stay at the Jacaranda B & B.

  • Liked — Comfortable accomodation, wi-fi, garden facilities and location for Manly and Sydney
  • Disliked — Breakfast excluded from standard price
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkers2_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you Mark for your kind review. So glad you and your Dad enjoyed your stay.

Look forward to seeing you should you return to Sydney.

Kind Regards

Alison & Ern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Having just returned from a month's holiday in Australia we would like to recommend Jacararanda where we spent the majority of our time. It was perfect in its location and the accommodation is great. It is in a very quiet area of Balgowlah in a cul de sac with a golf course at the end of the road. It is an easy bus ride either to Manly or to the City center. The accommodation was just what we needed. Good size bedroom with lots of storage space and comfy beds, well equipped kitchen with washing machine and tumble dryer and bathroom. It was a 10 minute walk from my son and daughter in laws flat so ideal to visit them and my new granddaughter. Alison and Ern are perfect hosts. Helpful in every way but not intrusive. We loved the fact that the blind was drawn and the table lamp on when we returned there each evening. We would strongly recommend Jacaranda to anyone wanting excellent accommodation in the Manly area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I spent 3 nights in November 2013 at Jacaranda and found it to be perfect for my needs. The hosts, Ern & Alison, were very accomodating and welcoming. The place was very clean and comfortable and I really enjoyed having access to the gardens and patio area. A private entrance to the bedroom, private bathroom and kitchenette was very convenient. The neighbourhood is quiet and safe, I walked many times from Jacaranda to Manly town centre. It is a hilly walk and about 45 minutes so you need proper walking shoes. The one time I did use a taxi it only cost $10.00 from Manly. I would recommend this accomodation

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgowlah
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Brighton St, Balgowlah, Manly, New South Wales 2093, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Balgowlah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balgowlah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five minutes to Manly by car, Jacaranda offers self-contained accommodation in a quiet cul-de-sac onto Balgowlah golf course. Our Bed and Breakfast consists of one bedroom with a kingsize or two single beds, separate bathroom and kitchenette with microwave and fridge. Wi FI is available. You have your own private entrance onto a large garden setting. It is peaceful and private. Continental breakfast can be provided. Self catering is an option. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Bed And Breakfast Balgowlah, Australia - Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing