We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite Sydney B. and B.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balgowlah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Balgowlah B&B and Inns
1 review
“Our favourite Sydney B. and B.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Once more when visiting Sydney,we stayed at Jacaranda BnB. The hosts, Ali and Ernie, are so welcoming yet very conscious of your privacy. Here in this quiet cul-de-sac, so close to a golf course you can wake to the sounds of birds, breakfast, then decide to catch a bus to all the sights of Sydney town or go to Manly again by bus and linger longer on the beach, then catch a ferry to whatever Sydney destination on the waterfront you wish.We love staying here.
Ali and Ern, always so helpful with local information,run an immaculate BnB.

Room Tip: Know what you want. Quiet location. Close to transport. Etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
19
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great hosts and roomy accommodation. We really enjoyed our stay. Nice and close to transport facilities and very private. The hosts were gracious and helpful.Great parking too. Would happily recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is the best place to stay. We love the position close to Manly and its famous Ferry to Sydney. Because we love the water and travel in this stupendous bay, its perfect. The view of the opera house are best from the water and the Manly Ferry takes you right past it. Also the best pictures ive ever take of the heads were taken on this holiday.

Ern and Al run a spotless B&B and are very kind to us whenever we come, always concerned we have a good time and we love it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerSydney508, Manager at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you Nola and Margaret for your kind review. It was lovely to have you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julatten, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

On a fleeting visit to Sydney for a 2 day work shop I was very happy to return to Jacaranda BnB at Balgowlah to which I was familiar with. Exceptionally clean, comfortable and conveniently located. A quick walk to Sydney Road and an express bus into the city saw me where I needed to be in a heartbeat. Alison and Ern were once again very helpful and accommodating. Thank-you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeJoe618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerSydney508, Owner at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. You are most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Alison and Ern provide a warm welcome and then and easy stay.

We found the accommodation very comfortable and the location very convenient.

Balgowlah was right for us as it is nice and quiet, yet only a short distance to Manly, to lots of public transport and nearby shops.

Alison and Ern have obviously been hosting guests for a long time as they know how to make you feel at home, then give you the privacy, information and facilities you need to have just the right stay.

We will definitely stay again, and recommend Jacaranda B&B to our friends.

Barry and Ava

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you Barry and Ava for your kind review. We were delighted to have you stay with us. So glad you enjoyed the sights of Sydney & beautiful Manly.Best wishes for your future travels.
Alison & Ern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

So very far from the main attractions in Sydney. 10 minute uphill walk to the nearest infrequent bus. Bis to infrequent ferry ... It took us close to two hours to reach the Bridge Walk entrance!
There is nothing nearby - not even a convenience store.
The hosts at this b&b are clued out! When we arrived, they made us carry our bags up 10 stairs (in the downpour) and drag them through their house instead of going along a flat path to the back entrance.
They were more interested in showing us the garden (in the rain!) than giving us helpful information regarding transportation and sights in Sydney! The only map they provided was one of Manly, their suburb. They finally found a ferry timetable for us, too.
Alison kindly "gave" us two seniors passes for transportation (total value $5) - I was surprised to be charged for them on our bill!
On their website, the offer to arrange airport shuttle service - no luck there - they merely sent us the link to the shuttle website and asked us to make our own arrangements.
One further note - we had paid $220 through Paypal as a deposit for our three night stay. When we were handed our final bill, we were only credited with $212 - the "hosts" said we had to pay their PayPal commission.
Of course the don't accept credit cards ...
One further complaint - wifi was sporadic.
This was our 17th b&b on our five week trip - MOST DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princetondartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerSydney508, Manager at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always looking for ways to make our guests more comfortable.
We are saddened and dissappointed that you had such a bad experience while staying with us.
We are, however, a little perplexed regarding your comments as this is the first bad review we have had in our 10 years of operation .
Our reviewers have consistently described our accommodation as most acceptable to their needs.

You arrived at night and it was raining heavily. Ern went out with a large umbrella to help you. He only had one free hand to carry your luggage and did so to the best of his ability up our 6 very average steps.

Normally we welcome guests at our front door and then show them through to the B&B. We then show them the location of their private entrance via the garden.
This was the "night garden tour" you referred to.

If only you had asked about the nearest convenience store we could have happily directed you to two, both close by, in either direction. We did mention the big shopping complex 10 minutes walk away. You obviously didn't want to communicate with us so we left you to your privacy.

To provide bus passes on arrival is indeed an absolute convenience.
There is the possibility of not being able to take the bus during peak time, nor having the right change or currency for your first trip. Most guests are delighted to receive them and offer to pay or have them added to their account.

The PayPal widget on our web site is new. We have since made enquiries as to its operation and have decided not to ask guests for the deposit commission.
In your case it was $8 and if you would like to give us your details we will gladly refund it.

Thank you for advising of the sporadic wifi. We have not encounted any problems with this before. I will check it out. We did have 'power problems' when you were here however.

Finally on Balgowlah, we think it is a fantastic base for seeing the best of Sydney. It's quiet and green and transport is close by as are shops and restaurants. We have raised four children here. We love the proximity to Manly, the beaches, the glorious water and the short trip to the city. After 42 years we still think we made the right decision!

You may be interested to see our latest review on our www.airbnb website;

"Jacaranda was perfect and exactly as described. Private, quiet street backing onto a Golf Course. It just felt like home. Alison & Ern were wonderful hosts. Two friends sharing a Yoga Workshop in Manly, this accommodation was perfect. Easy access to Bus Service to Manly or walk at your leisure. Plentiful shopping, variety of restaurants to suit any palate, ferry to City easy access from Manly and affordable. We took a scenic loop due to time limits but if you had more time Sydney City Shopping is a short ferry ride away".
Leanne H. April 2014".

We wish you well in your travels.

Alison & Ern Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

At the end of our journey through Australia, Sydney was the last stop. Following a recommendation we decided to stay in Balgowlah/Manly. We made definitely a good decision to choose this accomodation! Already the communication in advance of our stay was very pleasant and helpful (important hints for airport transfer, MyMulti-tickets, etc.). The Owner were really, really friendly, waited for us to welcome us and even helped to carry our luggage to the rooms. The property is decorated quite attractively and convinces with loving details (fresh flowers, garden vegetables, candy, etc.) and good facilities (fully
equipped kitchen, washing machine & dryer, hair dryer, information flyer, books, etc.). Moreover, the shared use of the BBQ in the nice garden is offered. Only a stove was missing to prepare meals on rainy evenings...

  • Liked — Freundlichkeit der Gastgeber
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank line289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, at Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you Aline & Lutz..we loved having you stay with us & sharing the delights of the Manly area.
Kind Regards

Alison & Ern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgowlah
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jacaranda Bed and Breakfast
Address: 13 Brighton St, Balgowlah, Manly, New South Wales 2093, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Balgowlah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Balgowlah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five minutes to Manly by car, Jacaranda offers self-contained accommodation in a quiet cul-de-sac onto Balgowlah golf course. Our Bed and Breakfast consists of one bedroom with a kingsize or two single beds, separate bathroom and kitchenette with microwave and fridge. Wi FI is available. You have your own private entrance onto a large garden setting. It is peaceful and private. Continental breakfast can be provided. Self catering is an option. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Bed And Breakfast Balgowlah, Australia - Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing