We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Great Atmosphere shabby Chic with A Mediterranean Feel!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glass House - CLOSED

The Glass House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are open for breakfast/tea/coffee/cake from 10 am Tuesday to Sunday - just call in, no need to book. Lunch begins from 1130am and is served until 2.15pm. Booking NOT essential at this time of year (advisable during summer months July, August).
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Great Atmosphere shabby Chic with A Mediterranean Feel!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had lunch here Saturday, I thought that Food standard was excellent I ordered Goats Cheese Tartlet with caramelised Onions and salad, very tasty, My friend had the Cheese and Tomato quiche which too was tasty, washed down with Chilean Red wine. The restaurant is set inside a very large green house, you feel like your outside it's very bright, there's a real Mediterranean feel to the place where the Vines and Grapes grown freely around you. You really feel you are somewhere else. I would recommend this place to spend a Laid Back lunch with Fantastic food. The Only criticism that I have I though that the staff where slow, I ordered two wines one for me and one for my friend, However only one came and I had to wait over 10 minutes for mine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    52
    23
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place for ladies who lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Visited today with my mum to use vouchers which my mother on law had given me for a birthday present. A great idea... A very large greenhouse, adorned with lots of mismatched tables, chairs, pots and chandeliers! We arrived just before 12 and we sat straight away but they were turning people away.. Not sure I would have waited for as long as some had to! We had a glass of wine each, I then had the chicken, pear and walnut salad and mum ordered the prawn sandwich with pea and watercress soup - however we never received the soup and had to remind the waitress before paying. I have to say it was possibly the best 'salad' I've had, with lots of attractive fruits on there and a lovely dressing! We then had a coffee each and slice of cake! Quite expensive at £38 for lunch but was a lovely treat!

Helpful?
Thank loubiehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Ifood with friendly service in nice suroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have visited here a few times and have always feel made welcome. Excellent food and excellent service what more do you want.The surroundings have natural beauty that is different.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jorspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An unexpected find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A lovely spot on a sunny day to enjoy a glass of fizz and fabulous fresh salad .. Worth a visit ... Very pretty surroundings . Relaxed service suits me but those in a hurry might get a little frustrated .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank diane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Second visit, simple menu with some interesting full of flavour food. Extremely tasty, good quality, local food.
Set in a large glasshouse providing a nice and relaxing atmosphere.
Would whole heartedly, recommend this place for lunch or just tea/coffee and cake.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glass House also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
 
Longridge, Lancashire
 
Ribchester, Lancashire
Ribchester, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing